Customer Reviews for

Can You Keep a Secret?

Average Rating 4.5
( 1298 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(714)

4 Star

(379)

3 Star

(139)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

One advice: Don't read the book outdoors.

Like my headline: Don't read the book outdoors(Although I enjoyed reading it outside). I am a student. I bring my book to park, library, and of course to school. I always laugh out loud. People will turn their heads and will give me a this-kid-is-really-crazy-so-we-must...
Like my headline: Don't read the book outdoors(Although I enjoyed reading it outside). I am a student. I bring my book to park, library, and of course to school. I always laugh out loud. People will turn their heads and will give me a this-kid-is-really-crazy-so-we-must-stay-away-from-him look. now you know why I said don't bring it outside! This book is not just a book written to make someone happy. This book is a perfect entertainment in a bind form. This is my very first book from Sophie Kinsella, Since then, I've started loving her books. Every time I see her books on Barnes and Noble, I totally go "I must have a copy". And now that I'm in book 3 of the shopaholic series, I have a faith in every Sophie Kinsella's book that it will never ever disappoint me.

posted by bczwr2 on May 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great start, slow middle, and fairly good ending

This book had a great start. It was funny and set the stage for a really good story. As my anticipation grew, I found myself a little disappointed with the development of the story. It slowed down, not quite as hilarious, almost whinny. Where I initially liked the m...
This book had a great start. It was funny and set the stage for a really good story. As my anticipation grew, I found myself a little disappointed with the development of the story. It slowed down, not quite as hilarious, almost whinny. Where I initially liked the main characters, I kind of didn't care as much about them halfway through. Instead of the main character growing up on her own, she needed Jack's push and shove. I liked flaws in characters, but this one was too weak and her turning point just didin't satisfy me. Jack's obsure background until near the end of the book didn't help in getting me to like him because I didn't know him (which was probably the point). Their romance didn't affect me; the ending was a good closure to highlight the author's message about honesty. Overall, it had laugh out loud moments and a good message, but the characters and their romance were just okay.

posted by risuena on July 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 379 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    If you like Bridget Jones, you will love this

    i didn't want to read this one at first. it seemed too girly and cutesy. but i ended up laughing outloud & really relating to her. the main character reminded me alot of bridget jones, so if you like her you will probably love it! but either way, i have to say it was really funny & not your typical girl novel.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    There were so many funny moments in this story and the storyline was very believable! This is one i could read again and again:)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Really fun

    This was a really fun read, I was interested in the story the whole time. It is a little bit Cinderella story but enjoyable!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    Lighthearted and fun read

    This was definitely a fun, fluffy story. Quite a bit of humor and main characters that were wonderfully flawed. Would highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This Book is Secretly Great!

    This is the sort of "fluff" fiction that falls into my guilty pleasures reading category...predictable, funny, lighthearted, and of course the girl always gets the guy she wants. I find Sophie Kinsella to be an excellent author of this genre--she makes me laugh out loud quite often, leaving my poor husband to wonder what I am snorting about. Good read for ladies in their 20s and 30s (not excluding older women, but they may not be able to relate).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED IT!

    Really smart and funny! I was laughing out loud while listening to this one in my car.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Great

    Entertaning!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Mature readers only!

    This book made me giggle, squeak ( higher then I thought possible), and have a stupid on my face throughout the whole day. Emma was completely amazing and she is my hero. Not once had i spilled my secrets and she spilled all of them in an instant! The humor was beyond belief and some of Emma's problems almost every girl can relate to. I loved how real Emma is and how much she can make you understand her humiliating position with (too good to be true) Jack Harper. I recommend this book to an older crowed because ( like Sophie Kinsella's other books) this book is for MATURE READERS ONLY! Other then that this book has LOTS of romance and Comedy. Trust me, its worth it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sure to please Shopoholic and Kinsella fans!

    I am an avid audiobook listener as my daily commute is almost 2 hours long, and I find myself very rarely disappointed by audiobooks of anything written by Sophie Kinsella. Can You Keep A Secret? is a quick and light read/listen, full of the charming and quirkly characters that are the trademark of the author's work. Admittedly, this book probably won't significantly change your outlook on life, but it is certainly an enjoyable way to spend 5 hours. Emily Gray does a fantastic job voicing the story on the audiobook and I found her voice to be easy and pleasant to listen to. Overall I would recommend Can You Keep A Secret? to any reader who enjoys light and funny 'chick lit'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    very funny

    I really liked it and it had me laughing out loud a lot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    So Entertaining

    Loved, loved, loved this book! The ultimate fantasy for the average working girl. Couldnt put it down, didnt want it to end. Still think her vulgar language is unneccesary though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    good

    nice light read for a holiday or by the pool. found the story entertaining and cute. characters were definitely likeable. i recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    overall great story

    A little slow in the begining, but i think it was because i knew what was going to happen, but i was waiting for it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    Sophie Kinsella

    What more can I say that if you enjoy this author, she doesn't dissapoint!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2010

    Can You Keep a Secret? Review

    I found this book quite charming. It certainly won't be a book I re-read often, or probably ever for that matter, but it was cute. I guess it's hard to make me literally laugh out loud reading a book, so I don't quite agree with everyone that I was rolling in laughter. But, a few parts did indeed make me chuckle. The beginning of the book was my favorite. The "big secret" I found to be quite lame, but that didn't have a big impact on the book as a whole. I found there to be a lot anticipation in parts of the book, which I enjoyed. I liked Emma, the "hero" if you will. She was very easy to relate to and I felt her emotions throughout the book. To put it simply, give it a shot! =]

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Hilarious

    Sophia Kinsella writes another incredibly funny novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Cute story

    I enjoyed it and will read more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    LOL

    I fell in love with Emma! You just have to love the way her mind works. Laugh out loud book that will have you reading every book you can find by Sophie Kinsella

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Really funny and a good read!

    Really enjoyed the book! Laughed out loud while reading it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    Love her books

    This wasn't my favorite Sophia book, but I enjoyed it none-the-less

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 379 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19