BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Can You Keep a Secret?

Average Rating 4.5
( 1296 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(713)

4 Star

(378)

3 Star

(139)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

One advice: Don't read the book outdoors.

Like my headline: Don't read the book outdoors(Although I enjoyed reading it outside). I am a student. I bring my book to park, library, and of course to school. I always laugh out loud. People will turn their heads and will give me a this-kid-is-really-crazy-so-we-must...
Like my headline: Don't read the book outdoors(Although I enjoyed reading it outside). I am a student. I bring my book to park, library, and of course to school. I always laugh out loud. People will turn their heads and will give me a this-kid-is-really-crazy-so-we-must-stay-away-from-him look. now you know why I said don't bring it outside! This book is not just a book written to make someone happy. This book is a perfect entertainment in a bind form. This is my very first book from Sophie Kinsella, Since then, I've started loving her books. Every time I see her books on Barnes and Noble, I totally go "I must have a copy". And now that I'm in book 3 of the shopaholic series, I have a faith in every Sophie Kinsella's book that it will never ever disappoint me.

posted by bczwr2 on May 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great start, slow middle, and fairly good ending

This book had a great start. It was funny and set the stage for a really good story. As my anticipation grew, I found myself a little disappointed with the development of the story. It slowed down, not quite as hilarious, almost whinny. Where I initially liked the m...
This book had a great start. It was funny and set the stage for a really good story. As my anticipation grew, I found myself a little disappointed with the development of the story. It slowed down, not quite as hilarious, almost whinny. Where I initially liked the main characters, I kind of didn't care as much about them halfway through. Instead of the main character growing up on her own, she needed Jack's push and shove. I liked flaws in characters, but this one was too weak and her turning point just didin't satisfy me. Jack's obsure background until near the end of the book didn't help in getting me to like him because I didn't know him (which was probably the point). Their romance didn't affect me; the ending was a good closure to highlight the author's message about honesty. Overall, it had laugh out loud moments and a good message, but the characters and their romance were just okay.

posted by risuena on July 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 713 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 36
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One advice: Don't read the book outdoors.

    Like my headline: Don't read the book outdoors(Although I enjoyed reading it outside). I am a student. I bring my book to park, library, and of course to school. I always laugh out loud. People will turn their heads and will give me a this-kid-is-really-crazy-so-we-must-stay-away-from-him look. now you know why I said don't bring it outside! This book is not just a book written to make someone happy. This book is a perfect entertainment in a bind form. This is my very first book from Sophie Kinsella, Since then, I've started loving her books. Every time I see her books on Barnes and Noble, I totally go "I must have a copy". And now that I'm in book 3 of the shopaholic series, I have a faith in every Sophie Kinsella's book that it will never ever disappoint me.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it

    I am a voracious reader who enjoys chicklit novels. This is one of the best books I have read. a must read if you like to laugh.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great

    Loved it. Not the first book I read by this talented author.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    A total blast in 276 pages

    This book in so many words was haha real joy to read. About a pip of a brit girl with no real idea what to do with her life in a job she never really enjoyed. Her life and love and fears, and all full of thoughts of the things we have ever thought about biyfriends and colleagues. Her humiliations and various ludicrous secrets no one was to ever find out. In the period of one day a girls life is changed forever. The authore has a different writing style which may take a minute to get used to. Happy times, girl-gut wrenching drama of a funny sort and even a little romance. These things could happen to any girl or guy, even the romance........;).
    Dont just critique the book read it for th joy of reading and really lose yourself to the story it's a fun time. Even as an added bonus theres a moral, sit down grab a blanket and some coffee or java any drink of choice and dont be afraid to laugh out loud or even yell at the book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Ms. City Girl Book Review

    I absolutely love this book. I thought it was so hilarious that I found myself laughing out loud during more than occasion. I really enjoyed the character, down to earth and free spirited.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    This is one of the funniest books i have read in forever!

    This book is very well written. Laugh out loud funny!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    Loved it!

    Couldn't put it down! Read it in one night!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    My favorite book

    I love the wit and romance. Laugh out loud funny! Just like the chemical romance in Austen's Pride and Prejuidice, Emma and Jack are the modern day Darcy couple.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Be prepared to laugh out loud

    I absolutely loved this book. If you don't mind laughing out loud in public, this book is for you. I honestly could not stop myself from laughing out loud from beginning to end and this book has become one of my favorites. You can easily identify with the main character, Emma, and while reading you become completely immersed into her world with all the twists and turns it takes. Read. This. Book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Yes!

    This is my absolute favorite book of hers. It's hilarious, like laugh out loud funny! Whenever i'm sad or bored, I just pick up this book and begin to read and it instantly lightens me up. I have read it like three times. A lovely romantic comedy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Loved this book!

    This is the first Sophia Kinsella book I've read. I'm hooked! I laughed throughout the entire book. LOVED this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    Filled with Laughs

    I LOVE this book. I laughed out loud from beginning to end. If you're looking for a light, enjoyable read, this is the book for you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    Buy it now!!!!!!!!!!

    Loved it. So romantic! I mean, can i have a shot at this guy?! Amazing..... i think im in love! FANTASTIC!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Fun fun read

    If you enjoyed BRidget Jones. Youll love this laugh out loud heroine. Did not want to put it down. Pure entertainment..plan on reading authors other books. Light, airy and oh so funny!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Decent read

    I am not generally a fan of foreign based books but this one was pretty good. No laugh out loud funny moments, but definitely some smiles. Would recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Wonderful read!

    This book is about the underdog fighting 2 become the person she always knew she was inside and making the world see it too. Highly recommended!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    Fun book

    It was an easy read with a great main character! Touching story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    Most hilarious book i've ever read

    Absolutely fantastic, highly recommended-I'm STILL snickering

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    LOVED IT ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !

    This was the first book I've read by Sophie Kinsella, and I will definitely be looking for more. If you want a book that will entertain you into the early morning hours, this is it ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    Hilarious

    Definitely a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 713 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 36