BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Can You Survive the Zombie Apocalypse?

Average Rating 4
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

adult version of the Choose Your Own Adventures

You the reader realize people are turning into zombies because you saw it on TV news. Zombies apparently have taken over much of Manhattan. You ride a train to Brooklyn you observe a zombie in your car dining on some poor victim. You must choose between intervening o...
You the reader realize people are turning into zombies because you saw it on TV news. Zombies apparently have taken over much of Manhattan. You ride a train to Brooklyn you observe a zombie in your car dining on some poor victim. You must choose between intervening or move your butt to another car. Your adventures in the Zombie Apocalypse has begun as the reader makes moral choices in which being a hero may have the second order effect of becoming a zombie (remember as my nephew once told me John Wayne dies at the Alamo). Staten Island is rumored to be a non zombie zone, but to get there means riding the ferry where zombies seem to patrol the Manhattan side. Do you remain behind to help humanity fight the zombies, help the zombies raise awareness that they have rights too or do you move your butt to the free zone?

This is an adult version of the Choose Your Own Adventures (Max Brallier includes profanities and vivid gore especially if you choose wrong). Fans of this genre will enjoy Can You Survive the Zombie Apocalypse? there are numerous possibilities so if you end up zombie food, you can always back track and start either over in entirety or just take the other fork. Though zombies have starred in this genre (see Anson Montgomery's Your Grandparents Are Zombies that targets young readers) this is lighthearted escapist fun for adults only.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Could have been better.

I was expecting a zany evil deadish choose your own adventure, but the book didn't really deliver. First time through, I ended up at "The End" instead of one of the many "An End" and was underwhelmed. I haven't felt the urge to go back through and see what the other e...
I was expecting a zany evil deadish choose your own adventure, but the book didn't really deliver. First time through, I ended up at "The End" instead of one of the many "An End" and was underwhelmed. I haven't felt the urge to go back through and see what the other endings were like. The zombies vs. comic com cosplayers segment was funny, but not worth the price of the book. Diehard zombie fans might enjoy this more than I did.

posted by Tammke on September 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    I loved this book. The characters were fun to get to know and I was sad when some of them died. Of course then I just went back & made different choices! The action was almost nonstop once it got going and that didn't take long. It was a book I didn't want to put down and those have been rare lately. It was a lot of fun to read and totally reminded me of the Choose Your Own Adventure books I read growing up. But this is NOT a book for kids. There is a lot of gore and swearing but what do you expect when you're dealing with the zombie apocalypse?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    MAX BRALLIER'S "CAN YOU SURVIVE THE ZOMBIE APOCALYPSE"

    MAX BRALLIER'S "CAN YOU SURVIVE THE ZOMBIE APOCALYPSE" (REVIEW)

    Another awesome Zombie book but in this one you actually get to map out your path. You begin reading and choose the direction in which you want to go in order to achieve survival. I was surprised that I got out the first time around but then had to go back and try all scenarios just to see where the options would lead. This is a definite must-read for any Zombie horror fan.

    Max Brallier has done an awesome job of coming up with 100 paths and 50 endings to choose from. It will keep you second guessing your choices the entire way. I was simply amazed! Zombie fans HAVE TO READ THIS BOOK!

    -Kitty Bullard / Great Minds Think Aloud Book Club

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    An absolute joy to read

    When I was a kid I loved the choose your own adventure books. So many years have passed and they seem have faded away into nothing. It is truly sad to see some of the younger generation has no idea what I am talking about when I mention a choose your own adventure book. Well, Max Brallier has changed that. In this book he creates an adult version of the choose your own adventure story, and when I say adult it really refers to the grisly depiction of dismemberment, and zombie carnage. That being said, I will have to say that it is very well written and an absolute joy to read. I found myself staying up late at night turning pages as fast as I could to find out what happened next based on my choices. I will fully admit that the first read through I did die rather quickly. And here I thought all those years of Zombie movies and books had prepared me for a possible Zombie apocalypse. Guess I was wrong on that one. This was so much fun to read and I am recommending this to everyone, who loves a fun read, misses the old choose your own adventure stories from our youth, and anyone who is a fan of Zombies. So basically, this should cover everyone,. So I guess I am saying everyone should read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    horrifyingly awesome

    i survived 3 times and died once... great book... too much fun...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    Fun!

    I remeber the choose your own adventure books from middle school. The boys all had them and I thought they were so cool (the books, that is-not the boys) but they didn't have any good ones for girls. I always felt jipped!! When I saw this one, I bought it right away on my nook. My 14 year old son had the nook app on his ipod and we're both reading it. It's fun comparing different choices. I don't know if I'll survice the zobie apocalypse but I enjoy this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    A must read, unless you DON'T like fun,funny and entertaining writing.

    What is this book? Well, let's start with what it is not. It is not your fathers choose your own adventure type book, it's much more fun. It is not a cookie cutter zombie book either, there's far too much fun under this cover. What the author does so well is give you choices that let the reader truly dictate the story, with what seem like simple decisions turning into quite different outcomes so pick wisely (or, like me, just read it every way possible). Hidden underneath the token gore of zombie novels is a story filled with humor, adult language (thank you!), and truly novel (no pun intended) plot lines. Do yourself a favor and pick up a copy, it will keep you entertained for quite a while, I promise.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Can Your Survive? Turn to page 69...

    I had so much fun with this book! There is never a night where I do not have some quippy remark about the upcoming zombie hordes. There are many people who snark about with me on this topic. But I tell you, this book has it all! Have you ever wondered how to survive in a restaurant during an attack? Want to make your own decisions during a panic? This book took me back to the teen days reading the Choose Your Own Adventure Series except add zombies to every page and do not drink while reading because spontaneous laughter may resume at any time. I would sit on the couch reading to others and having them pick the next part of the story, so wait it could have been like and Apocalyptic Zombie party and I missed out?!Wait turn to pg 46 and resume party on with appropriate attire and weapons right?
    Oh my gosh who could go wrong with great zombie plot turns like: "If you want to take shelter in the nearest building, an elementary school, turn to page 286." OR do you: " Take off up the street, hoping to put as much distance between you and these things as you can? Turn to page 253."
    This book makes for a great party conversation also.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Choose your own adventure book

    Not a bad little book. It certainly passed the time! It's been a long while since I've read a choose your own adventure book. The author made 2 funny endings, I expect you won't come across them unless your going back through to read all the outcomes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    I love this fuckin zombie book!!!

    Wish I could give it more stars Love zombies so much and I have only read this once and didn't even die

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2012

    This. Book. Was. Epic! If you're a zombie fan, I can find no aut

    This. Book. Was. Epic!
    If you're a zombie fan, I can find no author to date that allows you to do what this man does: kick ass and spread guts of the infected. Buy the book, and if you're skeptical about buying, go in to B&N and flip through the damn thing. It's definitely realistic and worth the buy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1