Customer Reviews for

Canada

Average Rating 3
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Slow going but worth it

Bev Parsons and his wife Neeva are a mismatched pair. He is a smiling gregarious six-foot tall retired Air Force bombardier from the south. The daughter of Jewish immigrants, she is an intense and aloof diminutive school teacher. A hasty marriage due to an impending bir...
Bev Parsons and his wife Neeva are a mismatched pair. He is a smiling gregarious six-foot tall retired Air Force bombardier from the south. The daughter of Jewish immigrants, she is an intense and aloof diminutive school teacher. A hasty marriage due to an impending birth brings these two together, and an equally hasty decision to rob a bank tears the entire family apart leaving their fifteen year old twins Dell and Berner orphaned. Neeva, anticipating an impending arrest, had arranged for a co-worker to intercept the twins before they could be placed into the care of the state, but the two still spend a few days adrift. Berner decides to follow her own path. Dell is transported over the border and into Canada and the care of Arthur Remlinger. Remlinger is an expat American educated and ejected from Harvard whose outward demeanor fools few.

Told majestically from Dell’s perspective Canada is his story. He is an unremarkable fifteen year old who’s only wish is to start the coming school year by joining the chess club yet finds himself as far away from normal as possible. Dell survives to convey a life lived and suggests the means to get there.

Richard Ford has managed to bring the characters and the Canadian prairie to life. The story unfolds slowly with the introduction of the characters, but then the pages fly. I do have a few issues with the novel. It truly is a slow go for about 100 pages, and the ending did seem a bit rushed, but overall Ford paints pictures with words and the time spent was well worth the effort.

posted by libsue on July 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

While I wouldn't recommend it to a friend I am glad I read it.

While I wouldn't recommend it to a friend I am glad I read it. The writing is well done but it was very over-hyped. I hated the long story about the geese because I am an animal lover and if I hadn't pushed myself to page 100 I would never have finished it. There were...
While I wouldn't recommend it to a friend I am glad I read it. The writing is well done but it was very over-hyped. I hated the long story about the geese because I am an animal lover and if I hadn't pushed myself to page 100 I would never have finished it. There were occasional learning points but overall nothing I could recommend.

posted by Duffy52 on June 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    Slow going but worth it

    Bev Parsons and his wife Neeva are a mismatched pair. He is a smiling gregarious six-foot tall retired Air Force bombardier from the south. The daughter of Jewish immigrants, she is an intense and aloof diminutive school teacher. A hasty marriage due to an impending birth brings these two together, and an equally hasty decision to rob a bank tears the entire family apart leaving their fifteen year old twins Dell and Berner orphaned. Neeva, anticipating an impending arrest, had arranged for a co-worker to intercept the twins before they could be placed into the care of the state, but the two still spend a few days adrift. Berner decides to follow her own path. Dell is transported over the border and into Canada and the care of Arthur Remlinger. Remlinger is an expat American educated and ejected from Harvard whose outward demeanor fools few.

    Told majestically from Dell’s perspective Canada is his story. He is an unremarkable fifteen year old who’s only wish is to start the coming school year by joining the chess club yet finds himself as far away from normal as possible. Dell survives to convey a life lived and suggests the means to get there.

    Richard Ford has managed to bring the characters and the Canadian prairie to life. The story unfolds slowly with the introduction of the characters, but then the pages fly. I do have a few issues with the novel. It truly is a slow go for about 100 pages, and the ending did seem a bit rushed, but overall Ford paints pictures with words and the time spent was well worth the effort.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2012

    Excellent novel. Great characters. Dark humor. Ford's novels

    Excellent novel. Great characters. Dark humor. Ford's novels are always entertaining and enlightening. One of my favorite authors. I was waiting patiently for this book to be published, and I wasn't disappointed.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    While I wouldn't recommend it to a friend I am glad I read it.

    While I wouldn't recommend it to a friend I am glad I read it. The writing is well done but it was very over-hyped. I hated the long story about the geese because I am an animal lover and if I hadn't pushed myself to page 100 I would never have finished it. There were occasional learning points but overall nothing I could recommend.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Both an easy and a difficult read

    This story of about a life-changing/determining six months in the life of a 15 year old boy as told by his 65 year old self is both an easy and a difficult read. Easy first - the languid first-person account of external events that tear 15-year old Dell from all life's moorings - parents, twin sister, hope-for friends & future - is so well written. Writing a review involves remembering the reading experience, and my recollection seems very much like having listened attentively to the 65-year old Dell tell the story, relaxed and analytical, emotionally detached from the events of the past. The difficult aspect of reading this book is getting through the detailed examination of very small & subtle demonstrations of bad judgment that are the hallmarks of the self-centered. It makes for a very slow start - not to mention exasperation felt towards the characters. All in all, I'm glad to have read it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Pace too slow

    This was my first and last Richard Ford book. BORING! The pace was dog slow, plot was absent, with a couple random bizarre incidents and character traits tossed in. I finished it only because it was my book group's pick. The sole redeeming quality of this sad tale was some of Dell's reflections sprinkled throughout the book.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Canada

    Good story

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Just got bored with this book. Can't recommend it.

    Just got bored with this book. Can't recommend it.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Cody on earpiece to mae

    I need you to take this container to result 10 stat befre it blows up be very careful location is result 3

    2 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2012

    Canada is an intimate story of a young man's maturation. It may

    Canada is an intimate story of a young man's maturation. It may seem boring and slow because Ford is locked into the cadence of a teenager's sense of time. Like Dell, acclimate yourself to the daily rhythms of his existence and relish this thoughtful gem.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Can't recommend this book

    It was filled with promise, but halfway through the book it just didn't deliver. He is a wonderful writer, but CANADA isn't his best.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Boring

    So boring. I had to force myself to finish this book. Don't waste your time.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    Almost a 1 star but I gave it a generous 2. I only bought this

    Almost a 1 star but I gave it a generous 2. I only bought this book because it is set in Great Falls, MT where I had lived for 8 years...that is only why I finished reading it. SPOILER. Twins have sex with each other. Dad sells tainted meat to the railroad. Mom and Dad rob a bank and are sent to jail. Twins split up and the boy goes to Canada and meets some real BORING people. The story ends in Minneapolis. What a waste of time and money to purchase this book. WARNING!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Slow.... Slow...One of the worst books I've read this year.... p

    Slow.... Slow...One of the worst books I've read this year.... plot??
    what plot?? characters??? all left wide open - in fact half the
    characters in the story were... pointless.... dont waste your money.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    To Boring to Finish

    Wow, I made it to part two but I give up. This book has unlikable boring characters & repeats stuff over & over. Also did not appreciate the relationship between the siblings. That was unnecessary & added nothing to the story. Save yourself some time & money & read something else.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Outstanding!

    An insightful and provocative study of life and its struggles, Ford leads the reader to examine how the good and bad ... all of it ... weave together to make us who we are. While not a fast or easy read, it is an outstanding novel and study of the human condition.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2012

    I would have to agree with his critics. Why I wasted my money o

    I would have to agree with his critics. Why I wasted my money on this pointless diatribe is beyond me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Boring and no point to it

    It is a very slow read. It is called Canada and the main character does't get there till halfway through the book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Introspection, self examination, insight vs beating a horse to death

    A good story, but a long LONG book and not related to its length. The author should have left a little more for the reader to wrestle rather than seemingly presenting this child's every thought. Good book. Could have been great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Just ok

    Rather over-hyped. Pretty slow in the middle and all around depressing. I would pass on it.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Disappointing

    Slow going through most of the book

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4