Customer Reviews for

Cancer Schmancer

Average Rating 5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    :)

    Wundaful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    BIGGEST FAN EVER

    I am Fran Dreshers hugestt fan i would read anything by her or about her she is very inspirational and awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Lilly

    This book was awsome!!!!! The greatest

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Great Read

    Awesome inside look into her life a she battles cancer! A great read! I had a hard time putting it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    greatest book ever!

    i loved this book! words cant even describe how much i loved it! love u fran drescher! im a big fan of the nanny to so this was great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    loved it

    good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    Highly Recommended!!

    Fran takes you through her life with cancer. From being mis-diganosed to beating cancer, she gives us details of how she feels, and how she deals with it. I loved this book from start to finish!! She also makes you laugh. Reading this book, I felt like I was with her, holding her hand while she dealth with the pain. She gives us details, and that is what makes this book stronger.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2008

    Definitely a Page-Turner

    I was pleasantly surprised by this book. My attention was grabbed by the time I finished the first paragraph in the prologue. I laughed, cried, and became angry with Drescher through the course of the book. I recommend purchasing this book. Its a purchase that you won't regret.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    Just loved it !

    The book is easy to read. Very funny and personal . It gives you sometimes chills. You feel like she is talking directly to you. I just love the book !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2005

    for everyone

    Very human and realistic, she shares advice and helps us understand cancer with an optimistic view... and laughter of course! I recommend it to woman all age. This book is not only about cancer, it touches different aspects from a woman's life, I am 21 and definetly learned a lot from her experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2004

    Important Message

    Ms. Drescher's book contains an important message about taking charge of your health. Though it may not be a classic that will be studied in English Lit. for years to come, it is a very open account of a struggle to survive and heal, both physically and emotionally. Ms. Drescher is a highly talented woman who has entertained millions of people. She has the guts to let us in on her life's struggles and I can't imagine any woman not seeing many parallels between her own and Ms. Drescher's problems. As a member of the medical profession, I am well aware that mistakes are made. I was also the victim of a mistake and you would think that the people caring for me might be trying just a little harder, knowing I was one of them. But there are a lot of great health care professionals who really are helping people. We can't regard them as Gods and we can't just put everything in their hands. We have to take charge of our health care by being informed and making informed decisions. We have to advocate for ourselves and when we can't, we must have someone near us who can. That is the main message of this book. Because it is very readable and entertaining, (but I wouldn't call it hilarious, because that isn' the point), many women will be able to get the important message it contains.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2004

    A READER

    I enjoyed Cancer Schmancer! Fran gives a prespective to all women old and young, that we are truly the only ones that know our bodies. She shows us to stand up to doctor's and tell them what you want them to do. Educate ourselves about women health topics. She is very open about everything and I amire that about her! It's an outstanding book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2004

    BEST BOOK

    Cancer Schmncer is the best book I've every read-and I've read many! lol I recomend this book to everyone regardless of if they had/have cancer or not. I think it would be smart for everyone to read this book. It's a long book, but it took me only three days to read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2002

    Truly this is a book that should be read and recommended to all females.

    Reading it makes a person that has been told of even the possibility of Cancer to take CHARGE of their health and also NOT to feel as if they are alone. After emailing a very dear friend of what I had been going through,the very next day was an email with the instructions to 'Read this Book.' Walking in a bookstore the evening before my friend had seen the jacket of Fran's book 'Cancer Schmancer' in Canada. I was told I must immediately buy the book as it reminded my friend of what I had written about the day before in my email. As I read the First Chapter, I truly thought it was about me - I'd had been going through all the craziness that she had - I had felt the doctors actually had me losing my mind, what little I had mind I had left! In just one afternoon Fran's Book changed my life, attitude and feelings. I DO NOT OFTEN RECOMMEND BOOKS but this is a Book that should be Read and/or Given to anyone having being informed that they have Cancer, might have Cancer, or even fear having Cancer. There is not enough words to express MY gratitude to Fran.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2002

    WHAT A VOICE!

    I loved her first book Enter Whining and I love this one. I can hear her voice telling me the whole story. I would love to sit with her and tell her what an inspiration she really is. Best of luck to her and her future!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2002

    A MUST READ!

    I laughed. I cried. I related. What a wonderful writer. I finished the book in three days and felt like Fran was sitting in my living room telling me her story. I related to every chapter. I am so very proud of her for sharing such a personal story with the world. As someone who is fighting the same battles as her, I truly appreciated her honesty and passion for helping others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2002

    Who would have thought???

    Who would have thought that a book about cancer would have you laughing out loud!! Not having ever watched 'The Nanny' (sorry Fran!), I wasn't prepared for Fran's sense of humor. I also felt her sorrow and anger that this was happening to her. We always think that celebs would be getting better medicine that the rest of us - money can buy anything, right?? - but this book proved me wrong. I don't know if that makes me feel better or worse!! I am recommending this book to my sisters and daughters! Good Luck Fran.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2002

    from the heart, well written book

    I LOVED THIS BOOK! I LAUGHED, I CRIED! I HAD OVARIAN CANCER AND I RELATED TO EVERYTHING THAT SHE FELT. ALL OF THE UNKNOWN AND FEARS! I DON'T READ VERY OFTEN UNLESS IT REALLY INTEREST ME.I WAS SO DRAWN IN, I READ THE BOOK IN ONE DAY!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2002

    life saver

    This book is a must read. It inspired me to take charge of my health and keep my chin up during hard times. I want to support Fran on her journey to help others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2002

    A storyteller as unique as her voice

    I feel that 'Cancer Schmancer' will be as great as her first book, 'Enter Whining'. She is an inspiring woman, comic, and healer. Laugher makes our souls at peace. She surely has her angels guiding her in the right direction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2