Customer Reviews for

Cancer Vixen: A True Story

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2008

    Super

    What's not to like about this book - so unique! The story is compelling - written with humor and reality. I hope she'll continue writing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2007

    Not just a read for women

    Most of us guys have long suspected that the cute pink ribbons for breast cancer just were not an adequate symbol for the brave women we've known who've had or have breast cancer and the struggle and choices they must make in order to fight it. This book may or may not help women with breast cancer. I don't know, but I'm certain that it will help the man in her life better understand what she is going through and enable him to help her in a way he couldn't without the insights he'll gain from reading this book and sharing Marisa's experiences.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2006

    Cancer Vixen: A True Story

    I am a pharmacist licenced in New York, New Jersey. For the first time I found a reference and enlightenment in the Book called Cancer Vixen that I can recommend to my suffering customers. It is filled with information that every woman should have about breast cancer, but it is done in intellectual as well as high spirited, loving and humorous approach. Marisa Acocella Marchetto¿s choice of words are literally so carefully accurate. She describes medical terms that a young lady can understand and learn how to deal with. I highly recommend this book to every young girl who has been diagnosed. Marisa will guide you step by step from the world of fear and anxiety and will alleviate their pain. I wish I could give her book to everyone who comes into my pharmacy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2006

    Cancer Vixen: A True Story

    Cancer Vixen echoes the spirit a courageous warrior, a revolutionary real life ¿super heroine¿ that is to admired and learned from by all. With unique flair, Marchetto walks you through her challenges in such descriptive detail. Every thought, hope, fear and ounce of her fabulous strength, wit and charm, is conveyed in her expressive captions and delightful illustrations. Together in this fun medium, with each bright colorful page, the reader really feels like they are walking in Marchetto¿s 4-inch stilettos with the same pizzazz! ¿Not easy to accomplish, but Marchetto triumphs with astonishing poise and humor, and gives us the unquestionable confidence, that we can too! ..no matter what challenge in life faces us. Naturally most people react negatively to situations that first appear to be ¿negative¿. But a warrior like Marisa Acocella Marchetto doesn't 'react', she ACTS, and uses REAL LIFE ¿super natural¿ powers to transform negatives into positives. We can all learn from the Marchetto by looking at life through her Chanel sunglasses. A paradigm shift...Truly an inspiration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2006

    New Protocol for Breast Cancer!

    Crash course in cancer care. Everyone can learn about the trials and tribulations of how cancer effects your life and how the cure effects your life even more. In a funny, witty and profound way this book by Marisa Acocella Marchetto lets the reader live the experience of going thru the cure for breast cancer. While a shot to improve your white blood cells costs $3,500 the mere cost of this book will improve your entire outlook on life and how precious it is to us all. I have given this book to several of my patients who loved it. This book should be part of all cancer protocols to help patients get thru the cure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2006

    Cancer Vixen Shows Hope

    It is virtually impossible to make light of a cancer situation in one's life. Cancer Vixen displays many great and funny situations during the life of a Vogue New York woman struggling with her bout against cancer. And this is done in a stylish comic form, which adds a spectacular read, and making tragedy an interesting and colorful exciting book about a struggle with breast cancer. Anyone who gives hope during their roughest point in life and shows the rest of the world how it was handled, makes this the 'ROCKY' story of this year. Stay tuned... the movie is coming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2006

    Love & Humor conquers Cancer Via Cancer Vixen

    Every woman in this world goes through the fear of having breast cancer, either with mammograms, feeling lumps, bumps etc and being hysterical. And God forbid you actually are diagnosed after an aspiration then your world falls apart. Marisa Acocella Marchetto described her feelings in such an upbeat way with her cartoons depicting cancer. We laugh at her talented creative approach to facing fear. The anxiety hits us all when we are diagnosed, unbelievably we laugh at the approach she has fighting such a terrible life threatening. And more importantly we thank her for putting it in perspective. Life is worth the fight and she showed us her way with her cartoon description with love and determination still retaining her love for her shoes, lipstick and new husband. Brava Marisa.... You are a teacher to the young terrified patients of breast cancer. This book should be given out to all cancer patients by their doctors as a reference.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2006

    Conquering Chemo with Love and Lip Gloss - a must read for all women!

    Marisa Acocella Marchetto will floor you, not just with her artwork, but with her humor, her triumph, and a remarkable love story. This book is not just a must-read for women battling cancer - it's a must-read for anyone who has ever lost, feared, loved, hoped, and shopped...which means it's for every woman, period! Marchetto's tale of how great love saved her life, in more ways than one, will inspire you, make you laugh, and make you want to but a new pair of shoes. Bravo!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1