Customer Reviews for

The Candidates (Delcroix Academy Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    Fun, fabulous, devour-it read without an R rating!

    I read this book first to see if it would be appropriate for my almost 12 year-old daughter, and found myself totally enthralled! The writing is wonderful, and it's a great story with all the elements kids (and adults!) appreciate: a romance triangle, paranormal powers, a spooky boarding school, and the struggle between good and evil. But what sets this book apart are the wonderful REAL characters. The main character, Dancia, is such a perfect early teen girl - she suffers from insecurity, loves her grandmother, shuts herself off from others when she is overwhelmed, is swayed by charm and good looks, and has a strong moral compass that she is desperate to read correctly. I so appreciate that the subject matter remains fairly innocent, and was thrilled to give my daughter a green light for her to read it, too. It was a great introduction for my daughter to this exciting genre (she loved it!), and I can't wait for book two!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    Amazing!

    I am in love with this book! Once I got started reading it I couldn't put it down. I am anxiously antispating the next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended for paranormal lovers

    This was a great book to read over Christmas. It wasn't that long and it wasn't gloomy. It was an interesting mystery. First it took place at a boarding school for "special" kids. Blend into the woodwork Dancia is not sure why she's at the Delcroix Academy. But everyone seems to think she belongs there. And for the first time in her life, she's got friends. I loved the friends. Two very solid, very thoughtful and good friends. Hennie and Esther, unique names for some very unique but loyal friends. No real mean girls in this one except for Dancia's roommate, Catherine. Not Cathy or Cat. Catherine. Yeah she's uptight. But she's more of a control freak and lonely than anything else. That was my impression anyway. The school is unique. The selection of courses is vast and electives are varied-until you find what you're "special" at, you take all kinds of things. Dancia finds that she is not" special" in public speaking nor pottery. But she is good at attracting the attention of the resident bad boy, Jack who keeps telling her there is some kind of conspiracy going on at the school. The locked gates bother him. They, the kids at the school, are told it's to keep anyone undesirable out, but Jack thinks it's to keep them in and he shows Dancia some pretty good evidence that makes her question what she's been told. But she's also got the attention of the hottest guy on campus, the boy that came to her house to recruit her to come to Delcroix. He goes out of his way to pay attention to her and make her feel special. Now, as I read it, I had my doubts. Dancia is 15 and he's probably 17. What does a junior want with a 9th grader? I was suspect of his motives and what he wanted from her (not that!). But Dancia, being 15, doesn't question his attention to her. She thinks Cam's attraction to her is believable. When I told my husband about this part he nicknamed him Scam and I can't get past calling him that. Anyway, Dancia has to sort out who to believe and who can be trusted and the answer is surprising. And what Delcroix is really all about, besides producing senators, and famous painters and actors and ambassadors, is well, one of my favorite things- something paranormal. This was a quick read but left a lot to think about. I'm glad there is another book coming out soon so I can see what else goes on at Delcroix! Oh and Dancia finds out what she's "special" at. This book is appropriate for older MG and any YA reader who like paranormal reads with romance.Heather

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Amaaazzzing!

    This book keeps you on end and keeps you reading all night! This book was not what i expected but i was pleasantly surprised! Definietely one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    This book was so awesome.

    I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Of The Candidates @ Book & Movie Depository blog

    Reviewed by: Cassandra Hernandez

    The story feels lagging I think because much was spent on the mystery of Delcroix Academy instaad of the characters. So it's easy to say that The Candidates is a good ride that has to take its time to conclude so you see its thrilling suspense and supernatural elements. I just love books in paranormal genres so this doesn't let down at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    jellybean:)

    best book ever ! :) i couldnt stop reading it, it was amazing: D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Rummel for Teens Read Too

    Danica isn't normal, but she's never shared her secret with anyone. She's made herself become invisible because she doesn't want to hurt anyone else. She's forced out of her shell when recruiters from Delcroix Academy come to her home, where she lives with her grandmother. They offer her a scholarship to their prestigious school. Danica isn't sure she wants to attend, but she agrees to try for her grandmother's sake. Now, she's thrown into a world where everyone has a talent - everyone except for her and Jack, a boy she met who isn't sure he wants to be at the school, either. He doesn't like the gates that keep the school separated from the rest of the world - with them locked inside. They spend their time together, studying and hanging out. Little by little, Danica begins to relax. She lets herself develop a friendship with Jack and with two other girls. One of the recruiters, Cam, was a student, and he's shown an interest in Danica. She can't help but wonder if he just wants to be friends or something more. Then Jack comes to her with all these theories, and there's one regarding Cam. Is there something going on behind the scenes at Delcroix Academy? THE CANDIDATES is a very interesting start to this new series. I liked the tension, the discussion about the gate, and the friendship between Jack and Danica. I loved the secrecy surrounding the school and the supernatural powers of Danica. I also enjoyed the tension involving the love triangle between Jack and Cam with Danica, and can't wait to see where this series will go next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!

    WOW! This book has just amazed me. From the very beginning it was mysterious, keeping all the secrets, from me demanding me to read on to discover the truth. At first, when I started this book I was a little skeptical. I kept thinking that maybe I might get bored with it, but it soon proved me wrong.




    Dancia is scared. Scared for her life as well as others. Always living under the radar, never doing anything to draw attention to herself, she finds it impossible that she has gotten a full ride into the Delcroix Academy. There she finds friends, love and most importantly herself. I love Dancia. Her character was one I admired right away for her selflessness. She always thought of others before herself, and always thought of different ways to do things.




    The love interest in this book was maddening! I mean, two great completely cute boys and even I couldn't decide who to side with. Jack or Cam? Jack or Cam? The attraction she held with both of them was great. The drama, plot and the way the whole story paned out was perfect. The ending for me was just right. With all the went on, it was a good touch.




    Now for the secret. It was not at all what I was expecting although I was kind of right. The paranormal touch to it was one I seen before, so I wasn't as impressed. But the writing of the book, kept me well in the dark and always looking for more. I am definitely looking forward to read the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Congratulations

    Fourteen year old Dancia Lewis tries to live a quiet life with her grandmother. Dancia seems to be an average student in an average school. Why is she being paid a visit by recruiters from the very prestigious, Delcroix Academy? Could it have anything to do with the secret she is keeping? The secret she is afraid to share with her grandma, who has raised her since Dancia's parents died in a car crash when she was four. Recently, during a routine visit to the hospital, Dancia was forced to use her power without thinking, when a crazed man had threatened her grandma and other patients. These men couldn't know she had powers, could they? An amazing first novel. A smooth blending of teenage angst and the burgeoning of unexplained powers from within. Everyday situations handled with didactic ease. Unusual situations handled unusually well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2