Customer Reviews for

Candide (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 254 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(100)

4 Star

(84)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

An excellent Read

This book is definately one of the best things I've read in a while. The humor is great, and the characters all seem to fit in a way that makes the story an interesting one.

posted by Sifari on July 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Brilliant Story, Horrible Translation

Candide was a beautiful story, filled with humor, love, and lots of humor. I think the story is still stimulating even after hundreds of years!

I recently read this for my Classics Book Club and we all took turns reading various passages from our varying translation...
Candide was a beautiful story, filled with humor, love, and lots of humor. I think the story is still stimulating even after hundreds of years!

I recently read this for my Classics Book Club and we all took turns reading various passages from our varying translations of the book, which is something we tend to do each month. My only complaint about the story is this: the Morley translation (of the B&N Classics version) was AWFUL!

All of the beautiful, poetic passages that the others in my group read aloud were translated as drivel in my copy (the only one with the B&N version of this book in our group). It seemed as if Mr. Morley literally translated the French to English (such as "the horse brown" instead of "the brown horse") and thus, lost much of the wonderful wordsmithing of Voltaire. I almost cried when it was my turn to read the opening passage because I knew the B&N version was horrible!

Aside from the horrible translation, I would recommend this story to anyone. I wouldn't however, recommend THIS translation of the story. Sorry B&N...

posted by 1687376 on June 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    An excellent Read

    This book is definately one of the best things I've read in a while. The humor is great, and the characters all seem to fit in a way that makes the story an interesting one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Beautifully disparaging

    Candid is utterly tragic, and yet magnificent humor is so cleverly entwined. I found myself laughing throughout the novel. It is profound and beautifully disparaging, and I will read this over again and again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    Highly recomended

    Loved it! It even had illustrations that showed nicely on my nook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    I always feel silly reviewing classics because what hasn't been

    I always feel silly reviewing classics because what hasn't been said about them, right? But perhaps my take on it is personal. Lately I have been severely depressed. This is nothing new; I've battled depression and anxiety for ten years now. I know that it will never go away completely. But lately it's been so bad, I find myself questioning if my life even matters at all. For the past few months, I've harbored very dark thoughts and have gone through some rough patches. But reading this book has instilled me with renewed hope.

    While it does critique blind optimism, the ending is rather optimistic in the fact that it conveys a positive message. I like how it ends with realism rather than forced optimism. The main idea I got from the conclusion is that life will happen and that even though bad things will occur to us, we need to keep moving forward no matter what. We have to try to be realistic, which is very hard, but in the end I think it's better for us. Personally, I find a realistic approach to be more fulfilling than blind hope. It helps me to move on and challenge myself.

    Voltaire is a wonderful writer and I can't wait to read his other works. I highly recommend the novel to Philosophy fans and lovers of classical literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    Very Witty

    Voltaire's Candide offers a very witty and comical satire on society. The novel is very funny and is worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Love this book!

    If you haven't read this book, pick it up. It's a great story and a timeless classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Beautifully written!

    Voltaire is unrelenting in his critique and attack of deterministic optimism and Leibnz cosmology. Each character and each event that transpires only exists to lambast this philosophy. Even better, the final pages leave one wrestling with yourself whether optimism or pessimism is the best philosophy to live life, or questioning the power of pragmatic philosophy. Voltaire perfectly captures problems of theodicy as well as the existence of life itself--both the beauty of existence and the idleness of life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Darkly Humorous

    "Candide" is a very, ah, shall we say amusing novella? It is filled with philosophical wit and a surprising amount of death. Almost all of the characters die in an attack, an auto-de-fa, or from an argument. It is a good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    Timeless wisdom and humor!

    Candide may be my all-time favorite book. I re-read it after nearly 30 years, and again, it made me laugh out loud and stretched my intellect. It offers timeless wisdom for how to live in a world which is often violent, brutal, mysterious, and unpredictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    Definately worth reading

    Most times, when thinking of reading classics, people would probably think of dictionary-thick novels written by oldies. But Candide is a great read. Voltaire's humorous, satirical, and sarcastic tone makes the overall classic fun to read. And it's full of philosophies; definately intellectual-stimulating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2008

    Sensational!

    just an outstanding pice of literature, this is one of the best classical tragedies out there! a fast read, and also a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2008

    Goes by fast

    Very good back, and before I knew it, I had finished it! Full of sattire, great for those who appreciate a witty book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2006

    Outstanding!!

    This book was very amazing. I loved every page of it. It has some very thought provoking themes included in it that really make you question life and its purpose. I recommend it to anyone who enjoys philosophy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2005

    Best Book Ever

    Candide is a satire about one man's journey through the world. It is well-written and very humorous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2004

    Excellent read

    Truly an entertaining read. Voltaires Candide had me laughing and at the same time in deep thought throughout the storyline. I am amazed at how easily Voltaire can coalesce Fatuity and gulliblity with a facetious outlook. this book will be read many times in my lifetime, believe you me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2004

    Satire at its Best

    Voltaire is a wonderful 16th century author, who makes good use of mocking society. In the book Candide, Voltaire highlights many quirks of the 1700's society. Topics range from war to women. Voltaire also makes good use of his natural talent for writing by using a variety of literary techniques. The third person omincent narration helps to provide an in depth development of several characters, especially Candide. The use of sensory detail is sure to captivate any reader, though many younger children may not comprehend the complex topics and plot. The story line itself is croweded with many odd twists and spectacular turns. Tracing the story of a mentaly and physically abused man, Candide is loaded with suprises. And while it focuses in on Candide, many other characters are fully developed and only a few are entirely static. Although much of the story is fantastic and unbelievable, the point of Voltaire shines though at all the necessary times. He was truly a writer ahead of his time, who realized that society was a distaster. I would consider this one of the best books ever written, especially fron the 16th century.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2004

    Exemplary of the Modern Satire

    Voltaire's work in 'Candide' is beautiful and nearly poetic in the way it demonstrates, and ridicules, the absurdity of an ignorantly optimistic life style. It also mocks the fickleness of youth by way of Candide and his search through out the world for his beloved Cunegonde.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2002

    Quite the Candid Book

    Candide, or Optimism, by Voltaire is the book to read. If you are interested in satire, you will love this book, and the author as well. Candide illustrates the peculiarities of the world in the 1700's, like war, greed, the treatment of women, untruths, and many more are depicted under many circumstances. The book may be somewhat graphic and complex for children under the age of thirteen. If you really wish to delve into this book, you may want to buy an accompanying notes book to understand everything that Voltaire is writing. Through reading Candide, you come to understand that Voltaire is telling what he thinks of all the things he dislikes and hates, including people. One of the more interesting things is the noncomformists, especially when it comes to religion. Voltaire states in the novel that he is afraid of priests of a foriegn religion. One of the more interesting things is all the things the protagonist, Candide, goes through. From flogging, beating burning earthquakes, mental breakdowns, Candide goes through them all, and then is paid squat for it. Of course, I'm not going to tell you the ending. You'll just have to read the book yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2002

    One of the best boks ever written

    A book on two levels. On one level, a thrilling story of a fascinating life, travel and adventure. On the other, a vehicle for deeper thought, social comment and raw philosophy. Easy to digest for modern readers and will satisfy any die hard literary connoisseur. A truly remarkable book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2002

    The Work of a Genius

    A work of power, wit, and weight, Candide is easily the finest work of the Age of Reason. At once a charming story and a penetrating social criticism, Candide is the perfect vehicle for Voltaire's philosophy. Undaunted by obscurities and ambiguous references, Candide is a prophetic work of clarity and insight that was far ahead of its time. This is a truly impressive story about human suffering and the struggle to make one's life tolerable. Look into Zoroastrian thought and metaphysical naturalist philosophy for more on these ideas. Despite his work's close relationships with such systems of thought, Voltaire seems not to completely abandon this idea of 'this best of all possible worlds'. A book that drips with marvelous insight and ideas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6