Customer Reviews for

Candide

Average Rating 3.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

quixotic if not aloof

Candide' well deserves the title of social satire. The first five chapters allude to the quixoticness of the elite during Voltaire's time. Candides position as a philosopher is amusing in several instances...consider the scene where Candide hides from the war...here's a...
Candide' well deserves the title of social satire. The first five chapters allude to the quixoticness of the elite during Voltaire's time. Candides position as a philosopher is amusing in several instances...consider the scene where Candide hides from the war...here's a philosopher pondering reality as he steps over cadavers and carcasses, then to make things worse, he ignores the secular beliefs of the people, eventually insulting sanctity itself... 'Candide' deserves to be read over and over again. Ultimatly it's relevance towards our society, even our political structure maintains a sharp, knife-like truth.

posted by Anonymous on June 21, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Okay

I don't think I know enough of the political and historical background of the times to really understand parts ofthis story. But it was still interesting.

posted by 8823450 on July 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Okay

    I don't think I know enough of the political and historical background of the times to really understand parts ofthis story. But it was still interesting.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    An excellent Read

    This book is definately one of the best things I've read in a while. The humor is great, and the characters all seem to fit in a way that makes the story an interesting one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2007

    quixotic if not aloof

    Candide' well deserves the title of social satire. The first five chapters allude to the quixoticness of the elite during Voltaire's time. Candides position as a philosopher is amusing in several instances...consider the scene where Candide hides from the war...here's a philosopher pondering reality as he steps over cadavers and carcasses, then to make things worse, he ignores the secular beliefs of the people, eventually insulting sanctity itself... 'Candide' deserves to be read over and over again. Ultimatly it's relevance towards our society, even our political structure maintains a sharp, knife-like truth.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Strange little story

    Strange little story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Excellent stuff

    A great read for anyone interested in history and philosophy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    ???

    Why would i need this for a history class? It's not a literature class.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    Timeless wisdom and humor!

    Candide may be my all-time favorite book. I re-read it after nearly 30 years, and again, it made me laugh out loud and stretched my intellect. It offers timeless wisdom for how to live in a world which is often violent, brutal, mysterious, and unpredictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    Definately worth reading

    Most times, when thinking of reading classics, people would probably think of dictionary-thick novels written by oldies. But Candide is a great read. Voltaire's humorous, satirical, and sarcastic tone makes the overall classic fun to read. And it's full of philosophies; definately intellectual-stimulating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2008

    Goes by fast

    Very good back, and before I knew it, I had finished it! Full of sattire, great for those who appreciate a witty book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2005

    Best Book Ever

    Candide is a satire about one man's journey through the world. It is well-written and very humorous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2002

    In Life Hard Work Always Pays Off

    There are many different paths one may take to get through life; in ¿Candide¿, by Voltaire, a man is given choices on which paths to take, and he realizes the best and easiest paths are not on in the same. This story is the definition of a challenging life. The main character, Candide, undergoes mental changes throughout the novel as he overcomes hardships. Most of the adventures and accomplishments that Candide experiences are very unlikely. Candide and his companions travel all over Europe, the Middle East, and South America in search of his mistress and long lost love Cungonde. This is a picturesque novel and it fits the format accordingly. This story is episodic; meaning that every chapter is a different and exciting adventure. Candide himself is a lowborn character. Throughout the story he deals with kings and sultans, yet he is just a plain guy. He continually struggles to make life better for himself. His involvement with the theme is that he is always walking the thin line between good and evil. He always has the choice to go the right and challenging way, or the evil and easy way. As he starts out, he goes the easy way and hits many jackpots, yet the consequence of going the easy way is that he looses whatever he gains. As the novel develops, so does he. He realizes that in order to get where he wants to go in life, he must work hard, effectively, and productively.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3