Customer Reviews for

Candle in the Darkness

Average Rating 4.5
( 412 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(281)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Cant put down

I love historical fiction, and this book is one of the best. This is the second Lynn Austin book Ive read. I wasnt disapointed. Not only did I get a difrent prespective of a war Ive studied some, but I also got a Biblical prespective on the war and in life. It really ma...
I love historical fiction, and this book is one of the best. This is the second Lynn Austin book Ive read. I wasnt disapointed. Not only did I get a difrent prespective of a war Ive studied some, but I also got a Biblical prespective on the war and in life. It really made me think. The Biblical comparitives were new to me. Give this book a try, but I will warn you, you might have trouble putting it down.

posted by 10152032 on June 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

great writer

Lynn Austin is a talented writer bringing her characters to life and telling a compelling story one is hard pressed to put down. However, I could use a little less of the repetitive religious dogma. But I am actually surprised at the content considering it is Bethany P...
Lynn Austin is a talented writer bringing her characters to life and telling a compelling story one is hard pressed to put down. However, I could use a little less of the repetitive religious dogma. But I am actually surprised at the content considering it is Bethany Publishers. I would have thought her work wouldn't be approved by this ultra conservative religious publishing house.

posted by 10569811 on September 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2014

    Well written and interesting

    I will read this author again. Gripping story, believable characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    Better than most ebooks.

    Good story, well written but, it went on & on & on...until the extremely abrupt ending. Did she simply run out of breath?
    Oh well, it was definitely worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2014

    Good read!

    Good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Great book.

    Great series. Depth. I keep reading this author because all of her books are great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2014

    Recommend

    This was a very good story about a white southern young woman who understands the need for ending slavery prior to, during and after the Civil War. It makes you truly wonder how many abolitionist sympathizers there were during this bloody historical era. I was drawn into the storyline and really found it hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    very good

    I'm a relatively new nook owner and this is the best book I've read on my nook so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Loved it

    A little religious but not overbearing. Great historical storyline. 397 pages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Candle in the Darkness

    Very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Very good

    I enjoy historical stories and this one was one of the better ones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Great book

    Loved it, a tad long but so worth it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Story, New Author For Me

    This was the first book I had read by Lynn Austin, and I really liked what I read and wanted to read more in the series. I did feel, however, that the author could have shown that more southerners were or would have been sympathetic to the slavery issue, but I say that because I was raised in East Tennessee and my ancestors fought for the Union. Nevertheless, I felt the author correctly personified the selfish Southern belles we have all heard or read about, and I loved how she also personified the slaves who had a strong faith in our Lord as well as some who had to overcome their anger and bitterness for the cruel way or ways they were treated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    ck it out

    good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    Excellent read

    Love this entire series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Great book.

    Its a great book. Truly amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2013

    Would recommend

    This is a very good book. If you like Civil War History, as I do, you will enjoy this read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    GREAT STORY!

    Worthwhile reading...good storyline...well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    I really have enjoyed this book. I have read it multiple times

    I really have enjoyed this book. I have read it multiple times and I expect I will read it several times more. The main character is interesting and real. She grows over the course of the story into some one I might aspire to be. She discovers an inner strength through her faith in God. The relationships between Caroline and her slaves and between her family members really helps the story to grow and develop. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Enjoyable reading

    If you like historical, Christian fiction, this is a good choice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Very interesting and informative.

    I learned a lot about the Civil War from this book. I do not usually enjoy books with so much religion in it, but I really enjoyed this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Good read

    Enjoyable if you like historical novels

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4