Customer Reviews for

Candle in the Window

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good read

This book was one that didnt pull me in just from the cover or synopsis but once i started reading it i liked it. The male character was a little rough but i loved the story line. I definately recommend this book! Good read

posted by Anonymous on October 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Really expecting more

After reading all the outstanding reviews on here, I thought I'd give this one a try. Never finished it. The author really loves to press the point on the openness of relationships in the middle ages but it became tiresome. It was a cross between living in a frat hou...
After reading all the outstanding reviews on here, I thought I'd give this one a try. Never finished it. The author really loves to press the point on the openness of relationships in the middle ages but it became tiresome. It was a cross between living in a frat house and a trailer park. As a history/English major, I know the harsh realities of the times...but she really enjoyed EVERYONE in the castle discussing EVERYONE'S private lives. And her hero was supposed to be so noble and would then say things to his friends and family that were embarassing, private, or frankly none of their concern. Oh, he also molested strangers in front of all the servants...really expected some action with an audience. Very strange. The heroine was the most confident disabled woman of her times...and then would act like an idiot and her brothers would say that she felt she had no worth. Any other time, she was stubborn, willful and demanding but suddenly she was a timid, abused girl. Psychologically, it didn't work for me. Halfway through,I got tired of the angst and the 'mystery' and donated it to the library. Will never see what the hype was about.

posted by Anonymous on October 9, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Very Good

    Kept me wondering what would occur next while displaying insecurities very well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Good read

    This book was one that didnt pull me in just from the cover or synopsis but once i started reading it i liked it. The male character was a little rough but i loved the story line. I definately recommend this book! Good read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2007

    Really expecting more

    After reading all the outstanding reviews on here, I thought I'd give this one a try. Never finished it. The author really loves to press the point on the openness of relationships in the middle ages but it became tiresome. It was a cross between living in a frat house and a trailer park. As a history/English major, I know the harsh realities of the times...but she really enjoyed EVERYONE in the castle discussing EVERYONE'S private lives. And her hero was supposed to be so noble and would then say things to his friends and family that were embarassing, private, or frankly none of their concern. Oh, he also molested strangers in front of all the servants...really expected some action with an audience. Very strange. The heroine was the most confident disabled woman of her times...and then would act like an idiot and her brothers would say that she felt she had no worth. Any other time, she was stubborn, willful and demanding but suddenly she was a timid, abused girl. Psychologically, it didn't work for me. Halfway through,I got tired of the angst and the 'mystery' and donated it to the library. Will never see what the hype was about.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Overall Rating: 4.05 // Action: 3.0 / Emotion: 3.5 / Romance: 3.

    Overall Rating: 4.05 // Action: 3.0 / Emotion: 3.5 / Romance: 3.5 / Sensuous: 1.5 / Suspense: 3.5 // Historical Flavor: 4.5 // Laughter: 1 / Grins: 2 // Tears: 2 / Teary: 1

    Candle In The Window:  4.05:
    Although this was not the most exciting and emotionally touching medieval romance, *Candle In The Window*, was a very enjoyable read that never let the reader's interest waver.

    Hero: 4.0:
    Sir William of Miraval:  Even though Dodd failed to give William a multitude of layers to his personality, loved that this big, loud, handsome, very alpha champion of tournaments displayed his sense of honor, his authority and a soft side.  His simplistic, 'I'm just a good old country boy' ways were appealing.

    Heroine: 3.0:
    Lady Saura of Roget: At first Dodd really inspired a fascination with Saura because she was not hampered by her blindness.  Saura's mother taught Saura to be self-sufficient and to dispense authority and kindness equally.  It was difficult to understand and sympathize with Saura when she switched gears in the second half of the book and no longer felt herself worthy to marry William and would not open her heart to him.

    Story Line: 4.0:
    Very intriguing story line.  When a warrior is blinded during a skirmish, his father enlists the aid of a noblewoman who efficiently served as chatelaine for her stepfather in spite of being born blind.  An attraction builds between the hero and heroine and in the background, a friend looks on with envy and decides to destroy his friend and take his woman.

    Action: 3.0:
    Being in the mood for an exciting, action-packed 'knight in shining armor' kind of story, was a bit disappointed that action and adventure scenes were not featured abundantly.

    Emotion: 3.5:
    Dodd failed to inspire a deep-seeded emotional connection between the reader and William and Saura.  However, the connection was strong enough to keep one reading to see how Dodd was going to get Saura past her insecurities.

    Romance: 3.5:
    The attraction between William and Saura was immediate and enduring.  William was a one-woman man and after kissing Saura, he wanted no other.  Saura was immediately attracted to William because she had never been able to dream of having a relationship with a man before and that kiss wetted her appetite.

    Suspense: 3.5:
    Dodd kept the reader on pins and needles as she introduced the villain hiding in the shadows watching William and Saura.  Not only did one wonder which of William's friends had betrayed him, but also wondered how Dodd was going to break down the barrier around Saura's heart.

    Sensuality: 1.5:
    This book was written in 1991 when purple prose was the rule when writing lovemaking scenes, and Dodd followed that pattern so there was no sizzle or spice to be found in this story.

    Secondary Characters: 2.5:
    Dodd was incredible when she wrote secondary characters that came to life and inspired great interest.  But, she dropped the ball when it came to really fleshing out their personalities and truly interweaving them into the fabric of the story.

    Historical Flavor: 4.5:
    Dodd imbued the entire story with a strong historical flavor.  Dodd obviously researched the times.  Her characters discussed the state of the nation because of the warring royals.  The manner of dress and everyday activities were well described and took the reader back in time.

    See Wolf Bear Does Books for a more in-depth, detailed review of *Candle In The Window*.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Wow

    I loved this book I couldn't put it down. Great Read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    Very enjoyable read

    I like that the characters have flaws but manage to overcome them, it adds another element to the love story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2008

    A very good read

    This book is the first I've read from Ms. Dodd and I found it a very good read. The characters are well built and the story line is excellent.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2007

    Not Bad but not one of the Best

    The book was 'okay' but did drag on. I did skip about 2 - 3 chapters to just find out the end. Not enough romance. Disappointing for Christina Dodd, I like so many of her other books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2006

    Wonderful uplifting story

    I loved this book. This is such has such a happy ever after at the end that you feel great. This is a great read that you can not put down until the end. What a good book to read on that stormy night infront of the fire.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2004

    ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL

    THIS BOOK WAS AMAZING!!! WHEN I FIRST FOUND OUT THAT SUARA WAS BLIND WAS NOT SURE HOW IT WOULD ALL PAN OUT BUT I READ THE BOOK AND CHRISTEN DODD HAS DONE A GREAT JOB. PERSONALLY I LOVE HER BOKS BUT IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR ONE OF HER BOOKS TO START with THEN THIS IS IT. IT SHOWS YOU THAT CHRISTEN CAN WORK WITH ANYTHING AND MAKE IT SOUND AND LOOK GOOD !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    BORING!!

    Not badly written, just boring! (Is "boringly" a word?) If so, this is just about the most boringly written book I've read lately - and, I read all the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2003

    Wonderful ....

    I could not put this book down. I read it in one day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2000

    Wonderful

    This is about one of the best books I have ever read. I go back to the book now and then and read sections. It was a wonderful book. Parts made me laugh. Other parts were so sweet they made me cry. It made me feel as if I was one of the them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2