Customer Reviews for

Candy Cane Murder

Average Rating 4
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Thanks for ruining it for the rest of us!!

    I fail to understand WHY some reviewers feel the need to retell the entire story in their "review," thus riuning the book for the rest of us. I guess it makes some people feel more intelligent than they really are by typing a lot of words.
    Please people...keep your reviews limited to did you or did you not like the book and why. There is absolutely NO reason to type out the whole story. That is the author's job, not yours.
    Thank you.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I liked it...Joanne Fluke is a fave

    I liked this book...my favorite was Joanne Fluke, as always. Laura looks promising too. I might like to try a book or two...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2014

    Really

    Really good book, awesome details

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    As usual, Hannah has an interesting way of living and dealing.

    As usual, Hannah has an interesting way of living and dealing. One should read the entire series in the order of wriing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    Love this series and the recipes in each book are wonderful.

    Excellent !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    paulo coelho Paulo coelho

    Brasilian author

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    super novellas

    Candy Cane Murder by Joanne Fluke
    Love this book because it not only is about the Christmas holiday but there are 3 stories in total, with recipes.
    The murder/mystery parts are just the added topping to make these a good gift for anyone this year.

    Hannah is helping Santa pass out gifts to the children and is dressed up in an elf costume.
    Santa is very hoarse but makes it through the presents. He doesn't make it through the night.
    Her sister and family come to aid her in gathering information as to who killed Santa.
    Love logic they use. Love the ability to swap out ingredients to make your own cookies.


    danger of candy canes by laura laveen
    Los Angeles around Christmas: A man dies when he is stringing up Christmas candy cane.
    Jane's cat Prozac hates holidays and destroys everything to do with it.
    She starts investigating about the roof-he forgot to pay his insurance premiums.

    LA girlfriends is a mentoring program that Jane looks into while asking neighbors about the
    man who fell off his roof. It is a program where a woman is hooked up with a girl without a
    mother and they do fun things together. They head to Santa Monica pier-I visited there once
    several years ago, quite fascinating. Things get worse as the hour goes by.
    Back to the investigation: the neighbors name others as being an enemy so she's got a lot
    more people to talk to. She's very crafty when it comes to getting information that is useful.

    candy canes of Christmas past by leslie myers
    Lucy and Bill in their house in Maine with Toby their child
    Mrs. Telly, whose oven they used to make Christmas cookies, Lucy gave her a glass candy cane and they talked of things that happened in the past. Lucy hopes to find out what happened to her mother, could've been TB.
    Bill is fixing up the house to save money from having a contractor do it.
    The tradition to read a story every Christmas makes her cry as her mom sent her to book.
    Spritz pressed cookies, handmade crochet afghans, open houses are just some of the things that occur in the New England area around the holidays.
    Lucy gets the older people to help her solve the mystery by listening to stories they have of days gone by.
    After Bill almost burns the house down they are consiering going back to New York as they can't make a go of it there.
    The neighbors come to the rescue and even his parents help in a way they had no idea was much needed.
    She solves the mystery from a book her husband gave her

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great for mystery lovers

    I have enjoyed the entire series. The characters are interesting and become like friends to the reader. The extra bonus is of course the great recipes in each story. I have made several and they are wonderful.This series is great for those who like a mystery as a relaxing get away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Murder by Candy Cane

    This book contains 3 authors; 3 candy cane mysteries. The Joanne Fluke book was the only story that was worth reading. I'm a fan of Hannah, owner of The Cookie Jar, coffee shop and bakery. She is known as Lake Eden, MN's cooking lady who has murder on her menu. In this book she finds Santa dead by a trail of candy canes. The candy canes were in his pocket and it was thought that he had a hole in pocket which is how he was discovered. With more investigating it was soon discovered that the killer actually left a trail of candy canes so the body could be discovered. New tasty recipes for me to try like Candy Cane Bar cookies and Devil's Food Cookies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2009

    Great Staff

    I shop at the Bellingham store and find the employees of this store to not only be knowledgeable but pleasant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    It's A Tasty Read!

    This book is an excellent mixture of comedic conversation, original characters, light romantic confusion and a great murder with a real twist. Set in an usual setting that you feel you would like to run in and enjoy. A great book to read at Christmas......or anytime. If you haven't started reading this series I recommend you start at the beginning with "Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2009

    Good, then bad

    Having never read anything by Fluke, I picked this up for the recipes and some standing in line reading for the holiday season. I was surprised that this was a novel with three stories (I didn't look at it very closely), but thought it might work. I loved the first story by Fluke and really enjoyed th last story by Meier, by the story by Levine left much to be desired. However, I am now a Fluke fan and have purchased Sugar Cookie Murder to read next winter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    Mystery

    This was an easy read and helped pass the time, while snowbound.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2009

    any of Joanne Fluke's books

    I am a big fan of Ms. Fluke's writing. I very much need a light -hearted, but exciting mystery/romance book that isn't too gory or too mushy. Also, I can safely leave her books lying around and not be afraid that the kids will start reading something they shouldn't.<BR/> I would ( and HAVE ) recommended her books to my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Great cozy anthology

    ¿Candy Cane Murder¿ by Joanne Fluke. Wayne, the owner of one of the most profitable store in town, is playing Santa for the children at the orphanage. He has laryngitis so he goes home after his performance. Hannah found him in the snow, the victim of a murderer. Naturally, Hannah, owner of The Cookie Shop, can¿t resist sleuthing and there are many suspects because the victim was a target who had a lot of enemies.--------------- ¿The Danger of Candy Canes¿ by Laura Levine ¿ Freelance writer Jaine Austin is asked by her friend and client Seymour Fielder of Fielder on the Roof Roofers, to help him prove his innocence in the death of Garth Jenkins. He did a reroofing job at their home but when Garth went up there to put up Christmas decorations, he stepped on a loose tile and fell to his death. Jaine knows Seymour wouldn¿t leave any tiles loose around so she agrees to investigate and finds the dead man had enemies ranging from his neighbors who he played tricks on to get what he wanted to his law partner who he was blackmailing. Jaine learns sleuthing is dangerous to her health.------------------ ¿Candy Canes of Christmas Past¿ by Leslie Meir. Lucy Stone of Tinker¿s Cove, Maine looks back to the first Christmas season in her new home, a fixer-upper on the verge of being condemned. She meets the town librarian who invites Lucy and her son Toby over to bake cookies. The librarian Miss Tilley confides in her that she always wondered if her abusive father killed her mother by throwing her down the stairs. Lucy promises she will find out the truth that¿s how Lucy began solving mysteries.---------------- All three of these holidays novellas are fun, enjoyable to read and each has a mystery that takes some hard thinking to solve. This work would make a great holiday present for a sweet tooth amateur sleuth.----------- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3