Customer Reviews for

Candy Girl: A Year in the Life of an Unlikely Stripper

Average Rating 4
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Uh...

To the ones like "Disturbing"....You thought it would be a funny li'l look into the life of a stripper. A little jaunt? A little foray? Are you kidding?! Do you honestly think being a stripper would be a laugh out loud thrill ride? You were disturbed by the tale? Well g...
To the ones like "Disturbing"....You thought it would be a funny li'l look into the life of a stripper. A little jaunt? A little foray? Are you kidding?! Do you honestly think being a stripper would be a laugh out loud thrill ride? You were disturbed by the tale? Well golly gee pope on a sammich. Darndest thing. I would imagine that stripping, like many other careers, has its ups and downs, and it's too bad that it provided too much real life and not enough diversion for you. Good lord.

posted by NE-MPLS on January 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

The author found herself turning 25 and in need of excitement beyond what her ad agency job could provide. So begins her one year sojourn into the legal sex industry, starting at a strip club. Writing in the vernacular of trade, details the gritty realities of the ind...
The author found herself turning 25 and in need of excitement beyond what her ad agency job could provide. So begins her one year sojourn into the legal sex industry, starting at a strip club. Writing in the vernacular of trade, details the gritty realities of the industry and quickly dispels myths of 'glamour' in the business. She also finds humor in obscure places, like the handwritten sign in a peep show back room, and finds poetry in stickers placed by strippers on their lockers. All the while, she receives emotional support from a sympathetic fiancee whom she later marries. The book is a quick read and interesting in a vouyeristic way, and if you've ever been to a strip club, this book reveals the ruthless hustle going on under the veneer of glamour. Given the author's education, however, I was disappointed that she resorted to stripper's vernacular throughout her work. Her work is neither an overview of the sex industry nor a study on what motivates the owners, workers, and customers in the business. Instead it is a 212 page ramble of how she bounced more or less randomly from one club to another over a year, while also working at a day job. In short, enjoy this book for a quick read on one girl's experience as a stripper, then pass it on.

posted by Anonymous on February 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    Hurrah for Diablo Cody!

    I enjoyed reading this book as it gave a look inside the world of strip clubs, etc. I like to read about other people's lives and the paths they take. Diablo Cody is very likeable and I am happy for the success she has achieved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2009

    Horrible...but seriously what did I expect

    A co-worker gave me this book and it was awful. I guess I have a hard-time really understanding Why someone would choose to be a stripper on a whim walking home from work one day, kind of unrealistic to me I guess. The author refers to herself numerous times as "nerdy", "dorky", and "normal", yet she chooses to take her clothes off for strangers in addition to other various acts performed on complete strangers and has supportive boyfriend throughout! Any girl with nipple rings and a college education and a day job who strips just for something to do, not really all that normal.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2009

    entertaining read

    I had never read anything like this before. It was a good book which was pretty entertaining and funny. It did get a little long in the middle but overall a good easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A different look on the life of a stripper...

    I liked this book alot. It was sick at times but funny as hell! Would read it again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this book

    The author is funny, the topic is fascinating and it's an easy read. The best thing about this book is that it's an honest, laid-back look at a mysterious subject: stripping. She demystified stripping so much that I started stripping and gave myself the stage name Cody!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2009

    Insightful but not entirely sincere

    This book was interesting and does get into the inside scoop of the life (as far as I can tell) but it suffers from the author's style and lack of candor. The explanations provided for her choices seem unlikely or simply go unexplained. Also, her style of writing attempts to be too entertaining with the use of an excited tone and verbose vocabulary. In the end I got what I wanted out of the book, but parts of it did not contribute and it was necessary to read around some of the aurthor's writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    Born and Raised in the Twin Cities

    I enjoyed the comments about the Twin Cities, the surrounding areas, and the people because she pretty much hit the nail on the head about the descriptions.<BR/>The thing that mostly bothered me was that the boyfriend was all for her stripping! I know a lot of Minnesotans are considered to be passive (and maybe a little passive-aggressive) but seriously, a guy who adores a girl and allows her to strip doesn't go together. And if he did allow her to strip then he is a push-over, a whimp of a man who was/is too afraid of losing another person in his life to say "no".

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2008

    a must read

    this book is very intersting and keeps your attention from start to finish. it's also very funny.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2008

    disturbing

    I thought this would be a funny look into the world of strip clubs by experiment. Instead I was disturbed and disgusted by the entire thing. I don't think I laughed once and can't beleive I finished the book. But I guess I was waiting for her to have an eyeopening experience or something.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2008

    Very Disappointed

    I read the reviews and the preview of this book and was excited. Never having been a stripper I expected a funny, intersting book that would keep my attention. This book was far from it. Very boring, slow reading, nothing very intersting. As if reading a diary of a normal person who happens to wear thongs to work. Save your money and buy a used copy if you have to have it or else pick a different book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2008

    strip o share

    this story is a good book i love the fact that candy girl actually becomes a stripper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book was terrible! I lost interest in it and couldn't bring myself to read the last few chapters. It seems like she always wanted to be a writer and had nothing to write about so she did this and kind of tried to make it like 'Jenna Jameson's How To Make Love Like a Pornstar' (which is absolutely a page turner by the way) by puttin in little pages of stripper (which is another thing that 'strippers' dont do... they never refer to themselves as that they are always 'dancers') rules which she acted like a complete expert on!! It almost seemed like she hopped on the 'sex Sells' train to write a best seller and it was really sad the way she seemed to put herself above everyone in that environment, cant wait to sell this book :o(

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2007

    Glad She Burned out!

    The best thing that I can say for this book is that I learned alot about the business of strip clubs. I couldn't wait for it to be over. Won't read any more Diablo Cody books.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5