Customer Reviews for

The Candy Shop War

Average Rating 4.5
( 141 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(107)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Very Good Book, but problematic in some areas

I loved this book. It was exciting, funny, and amazingly written. Brandon Mull is an excellent writer. I would LOVE to give this book 5 stars, but I'm holding back because of one offensive issue: Mull's senseless handling of race.
He carelessly says, "Some Asian kid ba...
I loved this book. It was exciting, funny, and amazingly written. Brandon Mull is an excellent writer. I would LOVE to give this book 5 stars, but I'm holding back because of one offensive issue: Mull's senseless handling of race.
He carelessly says, "Some Asian kid balling his eyes out and holding his mom.." at the beginning, and throws out tons of "The coach, a big black guy". The thing that annoyed me was the "melting-pot" candies that could change a person's race. Mull senselessly describes Asians having "squinty eyes" and a Latino boy being this and that, and one of his characters says "Cool! I was hoping for black!"
It just amplified racial stereotyping in that moment of the story, and I was fairly disappointed in Mull for adding that in.

posted by Libra007 on August 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Eh

Okay

posted by 8846893 on August 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 141 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted August 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very Good Book, but problematic in some areas

    I loved this book. It was exciting, funny, and amazingly written. Brandon Mull is an excellent writer. I would LOVE to give this book 5 stars, but I'm holding back because of one offensive issue: Mull's senseless handling of race.
    He carelessly says, "Some Asian kid balling his eyes out and holding his mom.." at the beginning, and throws out tons of "The coach, a big black guy". The thing that annoyed me was the "melting-pot" candies that could change a person's race. Mull senselessly describes Asians having "squinty eyes" and a Latino boy being this and that, and one of his characters says "Cool! I was hoping for black!"
    It just amplified racial stereotyping in that moment of the story, and I was fairly disappointed in Mull for adding that in.

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    How can you go wrong?

    This book has magic. And It has candy. In fact it has MAGIC CANDY.
    Um...do I need to keep going?
    Because when I was a kid, I would've been all over that!!!!

    I can also add that I adored this book and devoured it in one sitting.
    My only warning? It makes you need to eat candy.
    Not want.
    NEED!
    And...well...it's a little disappointing that your candy doesn't make you fly or invincible.
    *grumbles about the need for magic Twizzlers*

    I read a LOT of MG, and this is one of my favorites. And when I was a kid, I would have loved it even more. Highly recommended to anyone looking for a fun read. :)

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2008

    Best book I ever read

    This book has OUTSTANDING imagination! Brandon Mull's charcters are enjoyable, loving and most of all... magical! Buy it! It's worth it

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    An Absorbing and Unique Story

    I read the novel with my eight-year-old son, and we both enjoyed the story a great deal. A fun, well-written novel with non-stop action.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2008

    Loved It!

    I know this book is written for a younger audience, but I'm 23 and loved it! The characters made you want to keep turning every page to find out what happens to them! Would definitely recommend it!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    WE NEED BOOK2!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Click YES IF YOU THINK BN NEEDS TO ADD BOOK 2 THE ARCADE CATASTROPHE TO NOOK STORE!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    :D

    I farted :D twice :D :D

    6 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    BEST BOOKz

    I love this book it is awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:})

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Griffin

    This is the best book ever U should read it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Choco-lady

    I love this book!!! I read the fablehaven books and this one was just as good...maybe even better!! Go brandon mull!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Best book ever!!!!!!!!¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿!!!!!!!!!:>

    I loved this book so much that my mom had to hide it froom me so that I could spend some time with my family and friends

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2008

    The war of candies is now here!!!

    This book is amazing and has a magical, sweet, twist to it. The Blue Falcons have been inl lthere stickyest situation yet. The sweet, but not so sweet, Miss. White has opened a new candy shop, and the shop itself looks pretty regular but inside it's a whole other world. There is magical candies that grants you different superhuman powers. Miss. White is some what nice, that is untill you get on her bad side. Nate is the new kid that just comes to town, and meets the Blue Falcons. Summer is the bravest one out of the four in the Bue Falcons, and is the only girl. Pigeon is the smartest out of the group and comes to school trying out a new look. Trevor the last member in the Blue Falcons, and ends up getting caught by Miss. White. The Blue Falcons is a trespassing, treasure hunting, and job bidding crew. The book is fantastic and is a wonderful candy lovers book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2008

    the great magical candyshop.

    i am reading the book,it makes me want to read other books by him.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Eh

    Okay

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Awsome

    I havent even finished it and its the best book ever.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Finally a decent candy book

    I red this book from the library and decide it is a must have and ever since i have got my nook i have been waitingbfor the right time to get it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Highly Recommended - What to see a second book

    I hotp Brandon Mull will make this a series some day and continue the journey for the kids.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Person that wrtoe good book

    Sorry i pressed post but i am in the 6th grade

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Great

    Love it but like one kid said, it does tend to have some racial discrimantion, and yes i understand that kids even in my grade (7) talk like this but it was a little to much if it wasnt fot that it would have 5 stars

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2008

    THE BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!

    This fiction book is a thrilling suspense that will keep you reading to see what happens next. Brandon Mulls sweet and magical book is full of unexpected twists and turns. In this book four friends meet a crazy candy shop lady who says she can make magical candy, and this is true, she can make candy that can give you magical powers. For example, she makes candy that can make you experience zero gravity, wipe out your memory, and even change you into a monster. So if you like magic and mysteries that you canâ¿¿t predict, then this is the book for you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 141 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8