Customer Reviews for

The Candy Shop War

Average Rating 4.5
( 145 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(110)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Very Good Book, but problematic in some areas

I loved this book. It was exciting, funny, and amazingly written. Brandon Mull is an excellent writer. I would LOVE to give this book 5 stars, but I'm holding back because of one offensive issue: Mull's senseless handling of race.
He carelessly says, "Some Asian kid ba...
I loved this book. It was exciting, funny, and amazingly written. Brandon Mull is an excellent writer. I would LOVE to give this book 5 stars, but I'm holding back because of one offensive issue: Mull's senseless handling of race.
He carelessly says, "Some Asian kid balling his eyes out and holding his mom.." at the beginning, and throws out tons of "The coach, a big black guy". The thing that annoyed me was the "melting-pot" candies that could change a person's race. Mull senselessly describes Asians having "squinty eyes" and a Latino boy being this and that, and one of his characters says "Cool! I was hoping for black!"
It just amplified racial stereotyping in that moment of the story, and I was fairly disappointed in Mull for adding that in.

posted by Libra007 on August 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Eh

Okay

posted by 8846893 on August 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 145 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2007

    Magic, mystery and suspense in the Candy Shop

    i just finished this book and it was incredible! granted the title and cover is a little cheesey, but once you start, you won't put it down. all the sweets (and more magic) of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. a fun read. i can't wait for more from Mull!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    hansel and gretal meet willie wonka

    Mrs. White makes the evil witch in Hansel and Gretal seem tame. It's a great reminder why we are not supposed to take candy from strangers even when the stranger seems like the sweet grandmother next door.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2007

    Great Fantasy for young readers

    This book has all the necessary qualities of a great kids fantasy: memorable characters, a great plot, imagination, and suspense. I'd recommend it to anyone interested in a fun book for middle school kids, and kids at heart like me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2014

    da candy shop war i think

    Its a book n stuff

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2014

    to: Meghan Emily Ramsy

    OH MY GOSH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Do you have a brother named Aidan?
    Was he in Biola Youth Theater's play 'Peter Pan'?!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2014

    My favoret

    Hi i'm Marion my favoret candy's are...............hhmm.
    Well i rilly like peekperformens gum, moon rocks, iernhide and shock bits.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2014

    FORUM creator

    Hi im ryan the creator of this forum. My favorite candy is ethier flame outs or moon ricks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    Very Confused...SOMEONE PLEASE READ THIS!!!!!!!!!

    I am 13yrs old.I have not read the book yet, but I have read all the ratings and saw some comments about racial issues. Are there enough to be concerned about, or should I overlook it and read the book? Anyone: please respond! - Meghan Emily Ramsey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    If you dont like the book please don't be rude.

    It is very rude to people who like the book and also it would be nice if the cussing could maby stop. Please?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    {====|::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::>

    I love Brandon Mull's books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2014

    Awesome

    This book was AWESOME!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    I am rating my sword

    {====|::::::::::::::::::::::::::::> awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    Wonderful

    REEEEEEEEAAAAAAD DIS BOOK RIGHT NOW AWSOME

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A must have!

    Spectacular! I have 2 children and they have both used this book for school book reports! It's a very cleaver book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Good


































































































    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    !!!!

    Super good. Buy now

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Awsome

    Awsome. Thats all. Pure awsome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Stop cyber buling and nook sex by:

    Goin 2 1st result 4 pumkins to see how 2 help stop this crime please

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    To Mensan Tristen G; Age 9.

    I really agree with you. I think we have something in common.
    I really like adventure / fantasy books. Do you?

    Amanda Harris Age 11 Cloquet, Minnesota

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    The Time Jumpers Part 2

    Next part is at The Hunger Games book one, comments at Tenyson result one, first part at the lightning thief. Enjoy part 2!-------- I unsheathe my katana I alway carry with me. "Wraith, how fast are they coming?" I ask. "At this rate... they'll be here in four minutes," says Wraith. I charge my katana with as much electricity as I dare. "Wraith, see if you can get at least a small shield generator working," I say. "I'll try," is his reply. I hear a flapping noise, and I see my yellow(I'm told it's yellow, I happen to be colorblind) canary, Bolt, flapping onto my shoulder. "You ready?" I ask my canary. Talking to your pet might seem weird, but not for me. He's telepathic. "Yup," he thinks back to me. I dash to Blaze's room and rap on her door. "An attack, sprinters and gargangtuans," I say. "Pass it on." Blaze opens the door, and she doesn't seem bothered by the fact that I'm seeing her wearing red footie pajamas, hair all spiky like a guy's, and holding a a teddy bear. Did I mention Blaze is thirteen years old? "But first... please change," I say. "Sure," she says, eyes half closed and voice mumbly. I don't wait for her, there's no time. I speed to Alik, then Fallon, Ditto. When I reach Barclay, I lightly knock and say, "Barclay, an attack, get ready." He opens the door and hamds me a piece of paper. Way ahead of you, it says. He's already dressed in blue jeans and a leather jacket, and his black-blue hair partially cover his stunning blue eyes. I give way tp a small blush. Is it wrong for me to like him a little, even though he's two years older than me? I don't think so. Barclay goes downstairs wordlessly. I gathr up the rest of the team, and when Diamond and I get downstairs, Blaze and Alik already are in a fight. "I've never seen auras so fiery before," says Diamond. She does aura readings and aura magic stuff. I still can't fathom the extent of her power. "HEY!" I say. "Argument's over, now let's get out there and asassinate some aliens." We troop outside and look around. The tearing sounds come frst, then the jumper portals appear. Orange and yellow jets of color speed out, but I catch two and easily take them down. Aerocutters come, and I'm surprised. Wraith usually can see these guys. Alik takes off with his wings to face the aerocutters alone, since basically no one else can fly. Blaze is doing a pretty good job of holding a sprinter barbecue off to the right. Ditto – or should I say, all 63 Dittos – are having the dogpile party of their lives. Dan has his KA-BAR knife and is slashing at some aerocutters that swoop low. Pip is shooting her arrows at the aerocutters too. I keep following my one tip for battle: stay calm and keep electrocuting. I'm doing pretty good with the 'stay calm' part – until the gargangtuans arrive. ------------ thanks for reading part two! Next part at The Hunger Games book 1! Remember, you can make character apps and also comment at Tennyson result one! Thanks! ~Doodlebug

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 145 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8