Customer Reviews for

The Candymakers

Average Rating 4.5
( 787 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(642)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

132 out of 144 people found this review helpful.

"Deliciously tasty!"

This is a really great book! As a 10 year old girl, I don't usually read books with most of the main characters being boys. But, I must admit this was a grand adventure. I felt like I was "in" the book. It is so good, I wished it would last forever. Enjoy!!

posted by love2readkg on December 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Read It

Just read The Candymakers it is one of my favorite books ever! I am at the last few chapters and I can not wait for a new book by Wendy Mass. I have read almost every Wendy Mass book and by far in my opinion this is the best.

posted by Anonymous on December 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    A good read...

    I liked it alot but I think its for young pre-teens. (like 5th and 6th graders). It has surprising twists and the details are very well written. I think this a good change for Wendy Mass from the usual. I like it! Keep it up Wendy. :)

    48 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    read this.

    I am a very very very picky 12 year old when it comes to clothing, food, and ...books but i have to say the book was very well written. it made my socks slip right off. It's a book for KIDS. kids can easily read this book. Wendy Mass is a genius.


    23 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sally Kruger aka "Readingjunky" for Teens Read Too

    Fans of CHARLIE AND THE CHOCOLATE FACTORY will want to check out Wendy Mass's THE CANDYMAKERS, and if nothing else, the colorful cover is sure to attract interested readers. Life is Sweet Candy Company is hosting a candy-making contest. Four contestants will be trying to create the winning candy recipe for Region Three. They are to report to the candy company two days before the contest, for a whirlwind tour and a chance to get acquainted with the equipment they will be using for the contest. The four contestants include Daisy, Philip, Miles, and Logan. Each one has a very personal reason for wanting to be involved in the contest; reasons that don't necessarily include wanting to win. Their motivations include revenge, a secret spy mission, and the desire to make candy-making parents proud. Each contestant presents their story to the reader. They may all be at the same location and subject to the same contest rules, but each has a unique twist to their personal story, filling THE CANDYMAKERS with plenty of surprises. Author Wendy Mass once again proves she is a master storyteller.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Brookie

    This is a great book so far! I got a sample and i LOVE it. I cant really stand long books. This a book i can sit down and read forever!!!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Kept me on the edge of my seat

    I am a very picky eleven year old when it comes to books, and i was not sure about this book, but as i kept reading, i learned to love this book. The Candy Makers kept me on the edge of my seat because of the action, suspence and the awesome setting... a candy factory ( it is now my official dream house) ;) i recomend this book to any one over nine just because some parts may be hard to understand. Not only would i recomend this book, but i would recomend most of wend masses books! Enjoy reading!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Book

    Very very VERY long!
    Is good though

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Good!!!

    Didnt get to read the rest of the book, but, so far it was a funny and good book. :)

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Rad

    I Love this book! Ive read it like 5 times! I love Wendy Mass! :D

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Candy

    READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Good book!

    This is a great book! Once I start reading It, I can't stop.
    Very well written.
    Makes me want to eat my nook!

    I like how the author added the mystery factor
    to the book and a touch of some action.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Great book

    It is a pretty good booknlike how it is in parts it is 453 pgs

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Anonomous

    This book ROCKS! But it is a little on the weird side.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Good kinda weird

    I liked this book, but it was kinda odd if you dont loke odd books! Itbwas still really god though! I would defintiely recomend reading it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Yum

    If your ready for a tasy treat thrn read this book. I loved it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Anonymous

    A must read!!!:)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    SPOILER ALERT

    DAISY IS A SECRRT AGENT EAT IT

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Grear athour and great book

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    The candy makers

    Really good book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    Alright

    Alright, y'all I am fourteen and still read Wendy's books all the time. They are truly great for all ages and even though this amy not be her best one, it certainly is worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4