Customer Reviews for

Cane River

Average Rating 4.5
( 225 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(142)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Educational

    I learned so much about Creoles and blacks that lived during the Civil War and pre-Civil War era in Louisiana. The story was a roller coaster of emotion. You're up, then flip the page and you're back down. The only thing that was difficult to follow were all of the names of everyone. I did a lot of flipping back and forth trying to remember who was who. Totally enjoyed this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    The author developed a theory I had never thought about - Bleaching the line" ,twas great.

    I really enjoyed this book. I recommended iy to my Brdge Buddies. The story is set on " bleaching the line" a theory that is new to me. The characters seemed authentic and I would give the novel 4stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Highly Recommend - 3 generations of strong women of slavery

    I am not one to read books that break my heart - especially if the book is similar to real history. However, this was my book club's choice and I am very happy I read Cane River. At first, it is difficult to remember all of the names. But, after a while, I got the hang of them ALL! The inner strength and intelligence the three generations of women had in the face of their adversities was impressive.

    My book club gave this book 4 out of 5 stars. The only reason for not having a full 5 stars was the same issue I had at the beginning of the book. We had a two hour discussion on the book which led into historical issues and current issues in the south. Amazing!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    EXCELLENT

    I could not put this book down. What a beautiful story. I felt like I was living in this time period. I laughed and I cried. It stayed with me for a very long time, I highly recommended it to all who love to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    A compelling read for fans of US historical fiction!

    I read this one immediately after a trip to New Orleans that included a visit to a Cajun plantation. What a great coincidence! This book, the fictionalized biographies of three generations of strong, biracial women, the author's ancestors, challenged my preconceived notions about the antebellum south, its social hierarchy, and indeed, the nature of both slavery and slave holders.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    If you like the Help and Perfect Peace, you'll like this one, too!

    Very engaging, just enough fiction to keep it interesting and endearing to the characters; just enough facts to make it believeable!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Excellent read

    Found it very inspiring in light of Black History Month, of the struggle of being Black in America. Despite the fact that slavery has ended, many of the underlying prejudices still exist for African-Americans. You can be the fairest or the darkest, and still not be accepted as a valueable human being to many in this country! A Black man holds the highest position in this country, and is still not given the respect that he deserves for holding that title, simply because of the color of his skin.
    Even though Emily looked white, was educated, and owned land, she still wasn't quite good enough to many. She almost fooled the young white store clerk, until the older white woman came in. How quickly his attitude changed once it was brought to his attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Great Read!

    Enjoyed tremendously... highly recommend this historical fiction page turner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommend ... A good read.

    Could hardly put this one down ... If you like family sagas of the south, you'll enjoy this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Consider What It Would Have Been Like

    To me the most amazing part of this book, is the acceptance on the part of Elisabeth and Philomene, what is to them, "the way of the world" and that trying to fight it is not worthy of the energy used to do so. Instead, they learn very quickly how to utilize what they have at their disposal to advance themselves and there offspring, to reach the next level. A true testament to the human spirit, and the will of a mother when it comes to her family. This is a fine tribute to African American women and what they have endured over the many decades of challenges. Where they started and how far they've come, ( and still have to go ), has made me realize that some of the unsung heroes of our American History truly needs to be updated. They were not just those who were fighting in the macabre wars, or who stood principled as politicians to help get important civil rights legislation past, but rather the quiet fighters like Philomene, who sacrificed so much, and received so little in return. The women showcased in Tademy's novel are the "real" heroes who endured what most of us would find to be the unendurable, and kept their heads and spirits high in spite of it. Tademy must have been exhausted from her tireless research into her family history. I was envious of her in that there must be some sense of additional purpose that one feels in discovering so much about so many generations of your ancestory, even if it's not all flowers and humming birds. This is an important book to read, and one that is worthy of revisiting. My one criticism is that it loses momentum in the final fifty pages. The end seems rushed to some degree, and a tad anti-climactic. I realize that this is the result of the book being based on truth and real people, but where it technically is a novel, I think it could have had an ending that was a bit more satisfying. A final note that has less to do with the book, is that I couldn't help thinking about the venom that was spat over blacks and whites marrying, and what America has gone through prior to those marriages becoming legal. So many believed that mixing the races was a bad thing, or that it was against God. Yet, this book showcases to us how in fact the "white man" is mostly responsible for the mixing of the races in the first place. I wondered if the very mentality of the slave owners who forced themselves on their slave women, was similar to those who cried foul about mixed marriages a century later.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    Good book for your book club.

    Very touching story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2009

    wonderful and engaging novel

    I have read this book twice and enjoyed it both times. It is an absolutely fascinating read. I am sure I will read it several more times over my life time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2008

    good read

    enlighting account of those years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2008

    Definitely recommended

    Do not be thrown off by the length of this book b/c every page is worth the read. I love that the book was based on actual events and 'fictionalized' where facts contradicted each other or were sparse. There are many names referenced which can be a little confusing, however, the family trees are a great help in keeping the lineage straight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2008

    Great Summer Read.

    Great Read. The author takes readers through decades of her female bloodline. It starts during Antebellum years in Louisianna. Its really like several mini stories in chronilogical order of her female ancestors. Heartwenching.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2006

    Moving

    Cane River was a book that takes some understanding that makes you feel the passion that these women had when having nothing but wanting so much even when it seemed as if it would never happen but with willpower and determination these women did the best to make those lives in their family the best possible and I feel that it takes a strong person mentally and physically to do this and it was done in this novel in so many different ways not always obvious but it was done. I would recommend this book to any one has the time to read and understand as well as connect with this novel it¿s a very beautiful novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2005

    A definite page turner

    A book has to do alot for me to not want to put it down and I had a hard time putting this one down. It was great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2005

    Good, but fizzled

    I really enjoyed this book in the beginning, but once I got to the 3rd part, I was indifferent. I stopped caring about the characters and things just became boring to me. I thoroughly enjoyed Parts 1 and 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2004

    a forgotten Nationality that has survived the times

    'Cane River' not only tells about the struggle of Americas' Creole Nationality but also quite factually , demonstrates that thru the test of time our families have survived..It shows how strong a people we are and that our Family structure is a solid bond that has enabled our People to survive through Centuries of Abuse and Cultural genocide and continue to be able to maintain our Cultural identity..It only strenghtens our resoulve to not give up our Creole Cultural identity..It's a struggle that no one should go thru but its' something we Creoles continue to experience... to this day...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2004

    Moving Story

    Cain River is a novel about a strong generation of women who must deal with the fact that though their family becomes lighter, their problems of race does of disappear. How long will the 'one-drop' rule remain in place in America?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3