Customer Reviews for

Canning and Preserving for Beginners: The Essential Canning Recipes and Canning Supplies Guide

Average Rating 4.5
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Hipsters and foodies will love this beginner's guide to canning,

    Hipsters and foodies will love this beginner's guide to canning, which makes a great case for how easy and inexpensive making your own pickles, jams, soups, and stews can be (after an initial investment in equipment). The book walks you through everything you need to know, from the grocery store to the kitchen, including what kind of jars to buy, the best times to buy certain produce, and what to look for if you buy your pressure canner secondhand. A great mix of simple and more difficult recipes, sweets and savories, and some low sugar/low sodium recipes as well.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2013

    This great guide provides not only instructions from start to fi

    This great guide provides not only instructions from start to finish on how to can all kinds of foods and the equipment needed to do so, but excellent recipes for canning almost everything you can think to eat! Additionally, the glossary at the end of the book helps to clarify any terms used in the guide that the reader does not understand. I would highly recommend this comprehensive guide both to anyone who would like to learn how to can their foods, or to 'canners' looking for new and delicious recipes to add to their canning repertoire!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Really does take the mystery out of home canning. This book revi

    Really does take the mystery out of home canning.
    This book reviews the history of home canning and reasons canning has made such a comeback. With enough detail for the layperson it delves into the two methods of canning and when to use each. The charts, lists, and descriptions, along with easy-to-follow recipes, provide the beginner a great foundation to begin their home canning adventure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    I found this book to be very helpful as a beginning canner.  The

    I found this book to be very helpful as a beginning canner.  The majority of the directions were very easy to follow and the recipes were simple and were presented with different variations making me excited to begin another batch.  My only complaint is that some of the terms were unfamiliar but, overall, think this is a great start!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    A good introduction to canning.  The explanations are clear and

    A good introduction to canning.  The explanations are clear and easy to follow, and there is advice about how to reduce the chance of spoilage. There are a lot of recipes, from basic stuff to interesting flavor combos.  I really like the low-salt and low-sugar section at the end.  It gave me some good ideas about how to reduce my kids’ sugar intake by making more stuff at home (especially jam and canned fruit.)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    great recipe app

    i havent had a chance to use it yet..but i do like it..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    This book is very helpful. I was scared to can it looked very ti

    This book is very helpful. I was scared to can it looked very time consuming. After reading through the book I felt a little more confident about the canning process. The recipes are easy to follow. The steps on how to can are helpful. They even give you websites if you need more information. Everything you need in one book. One thing that I really liked was that there were low sodium and low sugar recipes. I can't wait to try the mango salsa and to make apple butter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    ¿Canning and Preservation for Beginners¿ is a great read for nov

    “Canning and Preservation for Beginners” is a great read for novice canners, hobbyist, home-makers and food preservation enthusiasts alike. This book offers tremendous detail on the traditional methods of canning, easy recipes and safety tips for your freshly canned goods. Canning is an excellent way to extend the life of your food and provide healthier fruit and vegetable options than those provided at your local grocery store. With this book you can begin a healthier lifestyle and a more enjoyable time in your kitchen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    I love my fresh picked peaches and tomatoes so now I can have th

    I love my fresh picked peaches and tomatoes so now I can have them all year long. I found that the Water Bath way of preserving worked best for me because it was easy and the equipment was relatively cheap. The directions were so easy to follow that now I am going to try my hand at some of their jam recipes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Easy, thorough and systematic elucidation about the canning proc

    Easy, thorough and systematic elucidation about the canning process. It’s a must own book to keep as a tool of the canning process for almost everything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    It seems like every time you turn around there's a new variety o

    It seems like every time you turn around there's a new variety of salsa or relish with a new twist on an old classic. This clearly written guide shows you how you can make and preserve your own salsa, relish, pickles, jams, or jellies, to name but a few, and enjoy them year-round. Everything you need to know about types of canning, foods that work best with each type, and equipment needed, as well as step-by-step recipes, is covered. To the novice, canning can seem daunting, but this guide makes it much more approachable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    An essential guide to regaining one of the lost arts of food pre

    An essential guide to regaining one of the lost arts of food preservation in a time of dependence on the food industry. It offers a novice the direction and knowledge, as well as instilling the confidence to utilize these time tested techniques to achieve an independence and liberation from fear of scarcity and food shortages; concise and easy to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    This is a great book for beginners because the recipes are easy

    This is a great book for beginners because the recipes are easy to follow and they give you a shopping list of what you will need to get started and be prepared. I wanted to cut the sodium and sugar out of my diet so this helped me to accomplish that with great tasting jams, relishes and pickles. Now I can take advantage of all the great farmers markets in my area and enjoy all year long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2013

    Eating locally grown, low or no sugar added food has been a chal

    Eating locally grown, low or no sugar added food has been a challenge.  After reading this book I have found the solution.  With simple language and easy to follow directions and recipes this book has de-mystified the procedure and taken the intimidation out of canning.  Now I can take advantage of fresh foods AND reduce my food and meal prep time budgets.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    This is the book to get if you want to try canning food at home.

    This is the book to get if you want to try canning food at home. Using inexpensive equipment, hot water bath canning can get you
     started saving money, and insuring the quality of the preserved food your family eats. Exploring further techniques, pressurized canning
     will let you preserve all types of food, even a complete meal, to be heated up when needed.
     This is an easy guide for anyone who wants to start canning and preserving food. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Easy to Follow and Quick to Read ¿Canning and Preserving for

    Easy to Follow and Quick to Read




    ‘Canning and Preserving for Beginners’ is concise and efficiently laid out. I read all the instructions in this book in a couple hours. The recipes are step by step and there are many exciting pictures to get the imagination going.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    With rising food costs and high unemployment, this book addresse

    With rising food costs and high unemployment, this book addresses the surging popularity of home canning as an economical alternative. It is geared toward the inexperienced beginner and includes classic recipes and easy-to-follow steps for each of the canning methods covered. Starting with simple foods, applying your own variations and gradually moving toward more complex methods, this book is a clear and concise guide and a must-read for anyone interested in canning and preserving. There are charts for the pH levels of commonly canned foods, an altitude chart and pressure canning checklist, as well as useful tips on produce selection and how to find the best quality foods for canning and storage. It also includes a section on creating the perfect pickles, jellies and preserves with a chapter that addresses the low-sugar, low-sodium needs of those whose diets are restricted. It is an inspiring read, particularly for the beginner new to the process of home canning.

    .


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Don¿t laugh at the canning trend, even if makes you think of you

    Don’t laugh at the canning trend, even if makes you think of your aproned mom making preserves that ended up lost in the cabinet. There’s more to these jarred delicacies than memories. They’re a reminder of the summer’s bounty, easy and fun to make too. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book! Not only did it make me nostalgic fo

    I really enjoyed this book! Not only did it make me nostalgic for the days I spent with my grandma in the kitchen but it taught me that canning really isn’t as intimidating as I always imagined. The book is very detailed and chock full of helpful hints, advice, variations on recipes and in-depth description of each process. The author is very economically minded and clearly understands that times are hard and many people worry how they are going to feed their family complete, nutritious meals without breaking the bank. It is more than possible. Pretty much anything can be canned. This book is perfect for newbies like myself and takes away the fear of “the impossible task of canning.” I’m excited to try out the applesauce recipe and some of the meal starter recipes. Half the work already done when I get home? Yes please!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    I just started canning, and I think I¿ve found my go-to book. Ca

    I just started canning, and I think I’ve found my go-to book. Canning and Preserving for Beginners is exactly what is stated on the cover. I haven’t tried any of the recipes yet, but just looking through, I’m sure I’ll have no trouble following their simple recipes. I really can’t wait to perfect my apple butter using the recipe in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2