Customer Reviews for

Can't Wait to Get to Heaven

Average Rating 4
( 127 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Ms. Flagg has a wonderful gift for storytelling, and I just can'

Ms. Flagg has a wonderful gift for storytelling, and I just can't recommend her books enough. If you love small town reading, and funny characters, definitely give this a shot. I can't see how anyone couldn't not fall in love with this bunch. Who knew that so many lives...
Ms. Flagg has a wonderful gift for storytelling, and I just can't recommend her books enough. If you love small town reading, and funny characters, definitely give this a shot. I can't see how anyone couldn't not fall in love with this bunch. Who knew that so many lives would be affected the day Mrs. Elner Shimfissle fell out of her fig tree and was stung to 'death' by over seventeen wasps? And I just loved meeting up with some of my favorite characters from her previous books 'Welcome to the World, Baby Girl!', and 'Standing in the Rainbow'.  Norma's aunt, was up in the fig tree to get some figs to make a preserve when she disturbed a wasp's nest and got stung and fell off the ladder. This is not the first time she has done that. She has fallen off the ladder other times and drove her niece, Norma, crazy and worried with fear. This time, Elner was knocked out cold. This is just the beginning of an adventure for the townsfolks of Elmwood Springs, Missouri. Elner is taken to Kansas City to the hospital there. Norma and her husband, Macky, followed behind. Ruby and Tots, the local hairdresser takes care of things at Elner's house and the stories just keep on flowing. Bittersweet and heart-warming, it made me, the reader, wish that people would think of me the same way they did Elner. And not only that, it's a reminder to take life a little bit on the easy and slow side because you never know when the last day will come. It may be too late to do all the things you wish you could do or have said.  Flagg is a brilliant story teller with a unique and wonderful way with words. It has been a long time since I have laughed out loud while reading a book and a few moments later found myself with tears in my eyes over an unexpected sad turn of events. This is another "must read" from the gifted Flagg.     

posted by XXXOOOBookwormOOOXXX on October 10, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I was very disappointed in this book. I was looking forward to reading it because I loved Fried Green Tomatoes. The entire time I was reading it, I was trying to find something redeeming (good writing, humor, insight, something I didn't know). Everything that happens ...
I was very disappointed in this book. I was looking forward to reading it because I loved Fried Green Tomatoes. The entire time I was reading it, I was trying to find something redeeming (good writing, humor, insight, something I didn't know). Everything that happens is so predictable and trite. Here's a bit of wisdom from the book: 'She took the advice Elner had given her and was living everyday as if it might be her last.' Or how about 'when your dead, people go through all your things, so if you have anything you don't want found, you better get rid of it before you go!' Shame on you Fannie. You cashed in on the reputation of FGT. I feel like I wasted the $14.00 this book cost.

posted by Anonymous on July 5, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 128 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Ms. Flagg has a wonderful gift for storytelling, and I just can'

    Ms. Flagg has a wonderful gift for storytelling, and I just can't recommend her books enough. If you love small town reading, and funny characters, definitely give this a shot. I can't see how anyone couldn't not fall in love with this bunch. Who knew that so many lives would be affected the day Mrs. Elner Shimfissle fell out of her fig tree and was stung to 'death' by over seventeen wasps? And I just loved meeting up with some of my favorite characters from her previous books 'Welcome to the World, Baby Girl!', and 'Standing in the Rainbow'.  Norma's aunt, was up in the fig tree to get some figs to make a preserve when she disturbed a wasp's nest and got stung and fell off the ladder. This is not the first time she has done that. She has fallen off the ladder other times and drove her niece, Norma, crazy and worried with fear. This time, Elner was knocked out cold. This is just the beginning of an adventure for the townsfolks of Elmwood Springs, Missouri. Elner is taken to Kansas City to the hospital there. Norma and her husband, Macky, followed behind. Ruby and Tots, the local hairdresser takes care of things at Elner's house and the stories just keep on flowing. Bittersweet and heart-warming, it made me, the reader, wish that people would think of me the same way they did Elner. And not only that, it's a reminder to take life a little bit on the easy and slow side because you never know when the last day will come. It may be too late to do all the things you wish you could do or have said.  Flagg is a brilliant story teller with a unique and wonderful way with words. It has been a long time since I have laughed out loud while reading a book and a few moments later found myself with tears in my eyes over an unexpected sad turn of events. This is another "must read" from the gifted Flagg.     

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2008

    A reviewer

    I was very disappointed in this book. I was looking forward to reading it because I loved Fried Green Tomatoes. The entire time I was reading it, I was trying to find something redeeming (good writing, humor, insight, something I didn't know). Everything that happens is so predictable and trite. Here's a bit of wisdom from the book: 'She took the advice Elner had given her and was living everyday as if it might be her last.' Or how about 'when your dead, people go through all your things, so if you have anything you don't want found, you better get rid of it before you go!' Shame on you Fannie. You cashed in on the reputation of FGT. I feel like I wasted the $14.00 this book cost.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Okay, but not as good as other Fannie Flagg novels.

    Not as good as previous books by Fannie Flagg novels I read.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Just to let you know that for SURE there is a Heaven!

    I read this to my Dad in the hospital and the cute and quirky little heaven sightings really cheered him up and actually kind of rested his worried soul. What more could you ask for????

    It also is a great gift for NURSES. People who almost die and live to talk about what they saw would love this book. There is a peaceful feeling I can't explain after reading this cute story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2014

    Great fun as well as illuminating

    Anyone who doesn't love Fannie Flagg's books has never read one. Being from Green Bay, WI this book had particular appeal. Added to that is that I learned so much about females in aviation both as stunt performers as well as military pilots. It is laugh-out-loud as well as emotionally moving.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    Love

    This book helped me through a loss in such a big way!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2013

    I'm surprised by the poor reviews. I thought this was one of he

    I'm surprised by the poor reviews. I thought this was one of her best! Really enjoyed the characters and the after-life concept.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2013

    I loved this book!  There are so many dark novels with dark char

    I loved this book!  There are so many dark novels with dark characters engaged in depraved activities lately, that a novel such at this one is like a breath of fresh air.  I've passed this one around to many friends who have also enjoyed it.  You will too, if you enjoy the occasional heartwarming story about good -hearted people. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    A must read!

    Great author!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    The Best

    This was my first Fanny Flagg book, I loved it most fun just to kick back and read. IS IT IMPOSSIBLE WHO KNOWS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    Great Book/Fast Reader

    I just started reading books by Fannie Flagg this year and am glad to say I found her.
    Her writing is very expressive; the characters just jump out at you. Great page turner;
    you don't want to put it down. Recommend reading this book for great enjoyment and
    laughter to boot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    Love this book!!!!

    This is such a wonderful story.It's laugh out loud funny at times and makes you cry at other times.The characters are so real.,and have the best personalities you feel like you know them.I read this book and passed it on to all the women in my family.I hope,hope,hope that this becomes a movie someday.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    A Must Read!

    Typical Fanny Flagg with yet another page turner that made my heart smile....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    The perfect "feel good" book!

    After seeing one bad news broadcast after the next, like Tot Whooten, it isn't hard to fall into a negative way of thinking that the world will soon come to an end. This book changes all that. The main character, Elner Shimfissle is an honest, believeable and innocent character but not one to be taken lightly. In times of trouble, she shows the needed fortitude that has helped her live 96 years but doesn't let trouble cloud her positive outlook on life. All of the characters in this book will remind us of people we all know but it isn't sappy, it isn't preachy and there is no sex in it because it doesn't need it. It is a book that stands out on the light hearted style of writing and keeps you wanting to read more. The epilogue winds up the book leaving you wanting to live in a town such as this, it even ends with recipes for dishes talked about in the book. This is one I want to keep on my shelf and read again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    wonderful!

    I just love the way Ms Flagg writes. An overall enjoyable read. highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Feel-good Southern Fiction

    Can't Wait to Get to Heaven is feel good Southern American fiction. It's about an elderly woman who falls off her ladder while picking figs and has an afterlife adventure while all her friends and family adjust to her sudden and unexpected death, and even more unexpected recovery. It's funny, sweet, and entertaining. A good read for people who want to reminisce about their own loved ones who've passed away, as well as people who just enjoy some good fluffy reading, with good moral and family values.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fannie Flagg has another hit!

    "Can't Wait to Get to Heaven" was the only Fannie Flagg book I had not read, and now I can happily say I've read all of them. It was so good to meet up with old friends from "Welcome to the World, Baby Girl" and "Standing in the Rainbow," but you don't have to read them before enjoying this book.
    This was not about plot, but about how well Fannie writes about characters and especially those from the South. As a lifetime Northerner, I feel like I know these Southern folk a lot better after meeting them in her books. These seem to be the people of her childhood, and I treasure knowing them as well as I know the good folks with whom I grew up.
    Delightful to read...couldn't put it down. And I sent a copy to a friend of mine who shares my joy in these characters and has sent me some of Fannie Flagg's books.
    I don't question the theology of her view of heaven, just enjoy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2009

    A must for your summer reading

    Fannie Flagg has come through once again. Her small town southern characters keep me coming back for more. It makes me long for a slower paced, small town life. I enjoyed this book so much that I gave it to my husband and then my sister to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Note

    Story included in condensed version of 4 novels<BR/>"Selection Editions" by Readers Digest

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Side-splitting, can't put down book!

    The description of this book is so accurate. If you have ever had a Mrs. Elner Shimfissle in your family or circle of friends you can relate to this book and enjoy all the bizarre and amusing conversations she has in this book. Definitely a book to take to the beach or read on a weekend. You won't be able to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 128 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7