Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Can't You Hear Me Callin' - Bluegrass: 80 Years of American Music

Average Rating 4
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    You’re bound to discover something new about the genre that you didn’t know before

    This 4-CD box set with 109 songs captures the American bluegrass music tradition. This is quite an undertaking. Consider their objective to cover 80 years of music. Old-timey seeds planted by Gid Tanner and Charlie Poole in the 1920s are included. Bill Monroe, Ralph Stanley, and Flatt & Scruggs are well-represented with about 20% of the tracks. But so are the Carter Family, Roy Acuff, Carl Story, Arthur Smith, Osborne Brothers, Jim & Jesse, Jimmy Martin, The Byrds, Herb Pedersen, Ricky Skaggs, Blue Ridge Ramblers, Coon Creek Girls, Bailes Brothers, Molly O’Day, Wilma Lee & Stoney Cooper, Mac Wiseman, Carl Butler, Louvin Brothers, Joe Maphis, Don Reno, Grandpa Jones, The O’Kanes, Mark O’Connor, Dixie Chicks, and Alison Krauss. What, they’re not all bluegrass! I guess it’s all in how you define the genre. Songs from nearly two dozen record labels is included. A 58-page booklet comes with the CDs, and it has some excellent liner notes by Billy Altman and Ralph Stanley. This music was chosen by Shoreline Community College instructor Tom Moran for his on-line “History of Bluegrass” distance learning class. The anthology compiled by Gregg Geller is broad and expansive, and it’s a major milestone in the promotion of bluegrass music for a large label with the reputation of Columbia/Legacy to support such an endeavor. My hat’s off to them. Of course, every person’s 100 tracks documenting the “history of bluegrass” would be different. And the main question to ask about “Can’t You Hear Me Callin’” is does it adequately cover the main bases? With more than fifty different groups and solo artists sampled, I’d say that it does pretty well, but it certainly would’ve been exponentially enhanced with even 2-3 more CDs in the set. Special rare tracks include some by The Coon Creek Girls (“Pretty Polly”), Wilma Lee & Stoney Cooper (“On The Banks Of The River,” “Sunny Side Of The Mountain,” “Stoney, Are You Mad At Your Gal”), Carl Story & the Rambling Mountaineers, Don Reno. Three previously unreleased songs include Carl Story’s “Don't You Hear Jerusalem Mourn,” Roy Hall & His Blue Ridge Entertainers’1938 version of “Orange Blossom Special,” and Sara & Maybelle Carter’s “No More Goodbyes” from 1966. This is a fascinating and erudite collection that every bluegrass music lover could study for months. You’re bound to discover something new about the genre that you didn’t know before. (Joe Ross, staff writer, Bluegrass Now)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1