Customer Reviews for

Canterbury Tales: Oxford World Classics

Average Rating 3.5
( 512 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(214)

4 Star

(86)

3 Star

(79)

2 Star

(58)

1 Star

(75)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A classic tale for years to come!

This was one of the best books I ever read. I love that not only is the book presented in the original middle English, but also in translated modern English that I can understand. I was really blown away by the text and how expressive and beautiful it was. It is quite a...
This was one of the best books I ever read. I love that not only is the book presented in the original middle English, but also in translated modern English that I can understand. I was really blown away by the text and how expressive and beautiful it was. It is quite an undertaking, but it will pay off.

posted by Anonymous on March 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

65 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

e-book review only; caution for ease of use

Hanning's edition is marvelous in standard paper formatting. My review is for the electronic edition formatted for the Nook, however, which is extraordinarily poorly done--hence the detracted stars. 5 stars for content; 1 star for formatting.

The electronic version ...
Hanning's edition is marvelous in standard paper formatting. My review is for the electronic edition formatted for the Nook, however, which is extraordinarily poorly done--hence the detracted stars. 5 stars for content; 1 star for formatting.

The electronic version has no line numbers, which is a problem. The translation is advertised as "facing page," but in fact it's just haphazardly lumped into the original Middle English with no warning and no formatting changes whatsoever. You'll be reading along in Middle English and suddenly find yourself reading the same thing all over again in Modern English, and there's nothing you can do about it. So basically only someone really familiar with the Canterbury Tales will be able to use this electronic format, and anyone else should stay away.

It's a shame, because I'd really like to have access to this one on my Nook.

posted by 2537270 on December 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 514 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 26
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    e-book review only; caution for ease of use

    Hanning's edition is marvelous in standard paper formatting. My review is for the electronic edition formatted for the Nook, however, which is extraordinarily poorly done--hence the detracted stars. 5 stars for content; 1 star for formatting.

    The electronic version has no line numbers, which is a problem. The translation is advertised as "facing page," but in fact it's just haphazardly lumped into the original Middle English with no warning and no formatting changes whatsoever. You'll be reading along in Middle English and suddenly find yourself reading the same thing all over again in Modern English, and there's nothing you can do about it. So basically only someone really familiar with the Canterbury Tales will be able to use this electronic format, and anyone else should stay away.

    It's a shame, because I'd really like to have access to this one on my Nook.

    65 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2010

    Ebook is unreadable--there is no such thing as a facing page ebook.

    The Barnes & Noble Classics Series edition of The Canterbury Tales has Chaucer's original text on one page and a modern translation on the facing page. This works wonderfully well in print books for obvious reasons. This does *not* work for ebooks.

    Reading this book on the nook you will read through a page or two of the original text, then on the next page turn you'll have the modernized translation, then back to the original again. It is not simply a matter of Chaucer's version being in one chapter, followed by a chapter in translation; in fact, Chaucer's version and the translation are interspersed together so that there is NO WAY of choosing to read one or the other without having to manually click forward watching to see when the language changes to Chaucer's language. Because of this, the book is simply unreadable.

    Go find a public domain version of Chaucer's text and take the effort to get a feel for his language.

    40 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Do not recommend

    This book did not switch to the nook format well. It jumps from 1400s style writing to current day at inappropriate moments, which probably made sense in the paper version, but not at all on the Nook. I could only get through the first 5 pages before giving up and going to a store to buy it in paper.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    not formatted for Nook

    I should have heeded the other review I read that said that the book does not work on the Nook. In paper form the book was supposed to have both the original on one page and the modern form on the right. They end up alternating on the nook. I figured I would just read the original, sort of like reading a real long Jabberwocky. At first there were clear breaks between the original and the modern, but after a few pages I found they ran together, making the book even more difficult to read. At that point I gave up. I'll read it on paper.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2008

    A classic tale for years to come!

    This was one of the best books I ever read. I love that not only is the book presented in the original middle English, but also in translated modern English that I can understand. I was really blown away by the text and how expressive and beautiful it was. It is quite an undertaking, but it will pay off.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    Good Presentation - So-So Translation

    I love having the original Middle English on one side with a Modern English Translation on the facing page. I decided to try reading the Middle English. It's easy to look over to the translation whenever I get stuck. However, even without being able to completely understand the Middle English, I can tell the translation isn't that great. Also, the text is only footnoted on the Modern English side, which (if you're trying to follow the Middle English text) makes it easy to miss. Still, it's a lot more fun to read this on your own when you don't have a high school English teacher forcing you to do it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fascinating

    As someone who's always been interested in England, mythology, and a lot of other things, this book is paradise!! The premise is simple: a group of pilgrims are on the way to the shrine of St. Thomas Beckett in Canterbuty (hence the name). At the Tabard Inn, the host suggests that they each tell two stories on the way there, and two on the way back. They readily agree. The group is comprised of people representing various social positions (knight, reeve, nun, friar, miller, etc) and so the stories are widely varied. And the best part is that the language is easy! It's not the difficult 14th century that we Generation X think it is. Yes, buy the book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Nook format makes this near impossible to read!

    I enjoy Chaucer. But the format of this Nook version made this impossible to enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    nook version not readable

    The free edition didn't scan well, which is a shame because the Canterbury Tales are wonderful stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Nook version hard to read

    Letters joined oodly

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2015

    Paladyn's Bio of No Siggy

    Name//Hmm...it was either White Michael Jackson or Black Michael Jackson. Oh well.<p>Age//22 moons.<p>Gender//Tom.<p>Rank//Warrior. Or whatever.<p>Looks//A dusty brown pelt with a shortish tail, flecked with tan. Dull yellow eyes.<p>Status// Nothing. I've got nothing.<p>Lame bio. Reeealy lame bio.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2015

    &tau&epsilon&eta&alpha<_>c&iota&sigma&upsilon<_>s' & S<_>&epsilon&epsilon&tau<_>h&epsilon<_>r's &beta&iota&sigma

    |Name| <br> Tenacious <p> |Nicknames| <br> Tenny, Ten.. <p> |Ender| <br> &male <p> |Age| <br> Unknown <p> |Clan| <br> BloodClan <p>|Rank| <br> Warrior <p> |Personality| <br> Meet me. <p> |Appearance| <br> I am a Maine Coon. So my fur is long and fluffy. I'm slightly larger than a normal Tomcat. My fur is steely blue-grey colour. I have dark grey tipped toes, and ears. My belly and chest are also dark grey. My eyes are an electrifying yellow. <p> |Kin| <br> Nope. <p> |Crush| <br> Nope. <p> |Mate| <br> Nope. <p> |Kits| <br> Seether. <p> |History| <br> Fu<_>ck off. <p> ................... <p> .................... <p> .................... <p> |Name| <br> Seether <p> |Nicknames| <br> Nope. <p> |Gender| <br> &male <p> |Age| <br> Fairly young. <p> |Clan| <br> BloodClan. <p> |Rank| <br> Warrior <p> |Personality| <br> Meet me. <p> |Appearance| <br> I'm a Maine Coon/Russian Blue mix. My fur is long, and fluffy just like a Maine Coon's. I have dark grey fur, swirled with blue-grey. The blue-grey colour comes from the Russian Blue. My eyes are amber. <p> |Kin| <br> My father is Tenacious, mother unknown. <p> |Crush| <br> Nuh. <p> |Mate| <br> Nada. <p> |Kits| <br> Zilch. <p> |History| <br> Fuc<_>k off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2015

    V&iota&tau&alpha&eta&iota<_>'s & &tau<_>h&sigma<_>r&eta<_>'s &beta&iota&sigma

    |Name| <br> Vitani <p> |Nicknames| <br> Vita, Vit, Vitanim, etc. Forgot. <p> |Gender| <br> Shecat... &female <p> |Age| <br> Pretty young. <p> |Clan| <br> T.T <p> |Rank| <br> Warrior. <p> |Personality| <br> Uhm. Meet me. We shall see... <p> |Appearance| <br> ((Seven, I'm going to add a few things. I hope that's okay..)) My build is slender, so I'm more-so made for speed. I have white fur, with grey tabby stripes only on my back. I have ember eyes.<p> |Kin| <br> Seven is mother, Virus is father. My siblings include Thorn, Devastation, Miscellaneous, Savvy, Toxic, annnd, am I missing one? v-v <p> |Crush| <br> Nope. <p> |Mate| <br> &hearts &#9825 Yashihyo &#9285 &hearts <p> |Kits| <be> Hopefully someday! <p> |History| <br> Ask away! <p> .................... <p> .................... <p> ................... <p> |Name| <br> Thorn <p> |Nicknames| <br> Nurhp. <p> |Gender| <br>Tom &male <p> |Age| <br> Not gonna put it because he'll age over time. <p> |Clan| <br> BloodClan, doofus. <p> |Rank| <br> Kit right now. But he'll grow over time, so don't think he's always gonna be a kit.. <p> |Personality| <br> A more calm and relaxed nature. Eh. Forgot xD He's got a personality like Thistlefang's. <p> |Appearance| <br> Whelp, I wrote it down. My mom threw away the paper T-T Sorry Seven, I forget. I do remember he has violet eyes though. xD <p> |Crush| <br> Dah fu<_>ck? <p> |Mate| <br> o.o <p> |Kits| <br> HOW IS THAT EVEN POSSIBLE?!?! <P> |History| <br> Not really any yet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2015

    H&alpha<_>l&sigma<_>'s &beta&iota&sigma

    |Name| <br> Halo... Before you wonder: NO. NO I AM NOT NAMED AFTER AN ANGEL'S HALO. I'm named after that totally fu<_>cking awesome game. <p> |Nicknames| <br> Nurhp. <p> |Gender| <br> You took one look at my name and assumed shecat, didn't you? Nope. I'ma Tom! &male <p> |Age| <br> Unknown. Not necassarily young, though. <p> |Clan| <br> BloodClan. v-v Where else? <p> |Rank| <br> /)-e <p> |Personality| <br> Hm. Well, I'd tell you to just meet me, but that probably wouldn't end too well. I don't exactly have many emotions. The ones I do have, I bottle them up for safe-keeping. There's few cats I will use my emotions with, and they all know who they are. <p> |Appearance| <br> My build is stocky, and muscular. My fur is short, but not sleek. My fur is black, from nose to tail ((Basically means 'from head to toe' in cat language)) My tail is longer than a normal cat's. My eyes are an eerie ice blue, so icey that they are almost a glowing white. Just looking me in the eyes is enough to send shivers down your spine.<p> |Kin| <br> Mother is SunnyTooth, Father is Reivunfeza. My siblings include LifeRise, now deceased, and Grey. Several half-siblings, refer to Sunnytooth's bio and look at her kits. I'm also an uncle, but eh. <p> |Crush| <br> Very complicated... <p> |Mate| <br> I assume not... <p> |Kits| <br> Nope. <p> |History| <br> His mother, SunnyTooth, gave birth to him in an anti-evil Clan. ((Can't remember the name.)) At the time his parents were fighting, so his mother kept him at that certain Clan. A young Medicine Cat named Bluestream took care of them. She named the three kits. One after her sister, Lifekit, who at the time had changed her name to Spring. She named the other two Halokit, and Sharpkit. ((Sharpkit changed his name to Grey later on.)) Sunny never returned, so Bluestream went in search of her. She stays at BloodClan with her, seeing that the mother was unstable. The fact of Bluestream being good-natured and not evil, he leaves BloodClan. She leaves Halokit and his siblings with SunnyTooth at this point. This is when Halo and his siblings find out that Sunny is their real mother. Lifekit and Sharpkit were fine with this, but Halokit had begun to resent Bluestream, SunnyTooth, d his siblings. At apprentice age, he killed his sister, Liferise. At that time, OutCast scared him away from BloodClan. Later on, his brother Grey finds him. He makes Grey stay behind, and by himself returns to BloodClan, claiming he had killed Grey. Silverfang lets Halo join again, once he finally asks. He became best friends with a shecat named Hurricane. The shecat had begun to bring him out of his snappy moods, and into brighter, more playful moods. After awhile, he had began to fall for her. But then Steel Blue comes along. It was completely different. He fells head over paws for her within a matter of moments. Every time he got near her, his heart skipped beats. Every time he talked to her, he felt at home. He had never felt so accepted. When they finally became mates, everything was like Heaven. It was perfect. Later on Xena ((Steel Blue renamed herself)) left BloodClan, and Halo, no warning in advance. All she did was tell his rper that it was over. e.o Even after all these moons, Halo still can't get over her, as hard as he tries. He would give everything to be hers again, but I don't know if it'll ever happen. So now, he just sits around camp, hatin' on everyone. Welcome to his depressing life! :D Sorry, outta characters. ((All true btw o.o))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2015

    Dashi's Bio

    <p> Dashi: Male tom cat, about 14 moons old </p>
    <p> Loves cupcakes(mainly vanilla), Sugar, Demi, SuperFlyingTackleHugs, sparkly things, being hyper, swimming and fun </p>
    <p> Is creative, joyful, humorous, hyper and happy-go-lucky. If you ever catch him dark and depressed, back away SLOWLY. He will murder you </p>
    <p> He considers everyone to be his friend, but mostly Nyx, Demi and Darkstar </p>
    <p> His hustory is one of the reasons he becomes dark and depressed. Don't ask. He will murder you </p>
    <p> He is a white long furred tom with light brown cheeks, underbelly, paws, tail tip and a spot over his left eye. His eyes are electric blue, and hold millions of emotions. He is flecked wth blac and grey, so he basically is a chocolate vanilla oreo milkshake xD </p>
    <p> Other: ask!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2015

    Jade's short bio

    Name: Jade age: two moons looks: black and white fur and brown eyes and she is very small personality: timid and shy mate/crush/kits: WHAT THE HECK?! IM JUST TWO MOONS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2015

    Darkstars bio

    NAME: Darkstar~~~~~~~~~~GENDER: She-cat~~~~~~~~~~AGE: 22 moons~~~~~~~~~~APPERANCE: Dark red pelt with midnight black paws. Deepblue eyes with a small scar going down her right eye but not blindng her.~~~~~~~~~~FAMILY: Mother__Midnight(deceased), Father__Darkstorm(deceased), Sister__Goldenstar(doesnt know where she is)~~~~~~~~~~HISTORY: Dont ask~~~~~~~~~~CRUSH//MATE//KIT: not going to tell// none// none but wants one~~~~~~~~~~PERSONALITY: Protective, looses temper easily, loyal, kind to her clan~~~~~~~~~~OTHER: Was a warrior for two clans, very fierce, just ask!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2015

    Q&upsilon&alpha<_>s&iota<_>'s & V&epsilon&real&delta<_>g&real&iota<_>s' &beta&iota&sigma

    |Name| <br> Quasimoto. Yes, I DID get named after The Hunchback of Notre Dame. I promise though, I'm not ugly xD <p> |Nicknames| <br> Quasi, Q....Feel free to add more. <p> |Gender| <br> Tom. &male <p> |Age| <br> Middle-ish-aged. :D I mean, I have rped him for almost a year now, peeps! At least I age my cat. *Grumbles* <p> |Clan| <br> You are so dumb. Beyond repair. <p> |Rank| <br> I'm disappointed. I really am. <p> |Personality| <br> Meet me... 'CAUSE I HAVE CANDY! <P> |Appearance| <br> Before I start to describe myself, I'd like to apologize to Platinum. I mixed up my description with another cat rp of mine. If you scroll down at 'Emma' you will find my REAL looks. Now, I'm a slightly smaller ((hear me: SLIGHTLY)) than average Tom. My build is slim, but muscular. My fur is sand-coloured. I have medium brown dipped paws, brown-tipped tail, brown-tipped ears, brown dipped muzzle, and I have a brown stripe that starts at my forehead, and ends on my ru<_>mp. I have dark green eyes. ((I added a few things but oh well.)) <p> |Kin| <br> Unknowwwwwn. <p> |Crush| <br> T-T No. <p> |Mate| <br> Yassss. The one and only PlattyCakes! &hearts c: <p> |Kits| <br> Vermi<_>lion, Verdigris, Hoenn, Kanto, Johto, annnd....I forgot the last one /)-(\ I'm so sorry Plat! <p> |History| <br> Was born, lived, has yet to die. :D <p> .................... <p> .................... <p> .................... <p> |Name| <br> Verdigris <p> |Nicknames| <br> Ver, Verdi....eh. Add more if ya want. <p> |Gender| <br> e.e &male <p> |Age| <br> Young enough. <p> |Clan| <br> Now you're just trying to piss me off. <p> |Rank| <br> I am a unicorn, I am a unicorn. Da, da, da, da, da, da! No, I dunno yet. <p> |Personality| <br> Kind of odd...I'm not really evil at all. In fact, I can't stand the misfourtune of others, and I love to help out any wy that I can...I'm also a Vegetarian Cat. Probably the first of its kind. I cannot eat any kind of prey, or else I get violently ill. Eh. Just meet me. <p> |Appearance| <br> Platinum.... *Cries* I FORGOT. HOW COULD I FORGET? <p> |Kin| <br> Platinum is mother, Quasi is father. Siblings are- eh. Just loo at Platinum's bio. Her kits are my siblings. Erm, other family too. Don't want to list all of it.. Silverfang is uncle though. And Shatter is aunt through "marriage".. <p> |Crush| <br> Nope. <p> |Mate| <br> Nope. <p> |Kits| <br> Nawh. <p> |History| <br> Sooo long and complicated.. just kidding. Just ask! xD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2015

    Demons awesomness bio full of awesomness crayzie things

    Nameh:cinderella dressed in yellow when up stare to kiss a fellow made a mistake kissed a snake how many docotors did it take <p>gender-meanie me a boy<p>motto:#hatethesinnernotthesin #zanely #pinkfluffyunicirnsdancingonraimnows <p>all u need is hope.somethije else and PIXIE DUST<P> peronality:crazy.random.meet me heh <p>crush:darkstar<p>themey songehy:i hate u u hate me lets get together and kil barney with a great big hammer and hit him in the head now were glad that barneys dead (my version) <p> family:all dead<p> besty awesomness friends from rainbowland:darkstar,redd,randi<p> can:somewhere over the rainbow where the blue bird fly!!!XD likes:erything <p>dislikes:coleslaw <p>use ur imination cause i look like this im black with a black tail and tip of it is white and i got dark blue eyes and im in a ninja suite <p>siggy:NINJAFOXEHCAT < P>ENJOY THE MOVIE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2015

    Fangs bio

    Name fang look whieish tanish like a wolf fang. Blue eyes muscular and unknown moons. And crush is seven redd and swift. Personality wierd funny other ask blaa bios boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 514 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 26