Customer Reviews for

The Canterbury Tales, Volume 5...

Average Rating 3.5
( 450 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(166)

4 Star

(81)

3 Star

(76)

2 Star

(54)

1 Star

(73)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Delightful to Hear in the Recorded Books Edition

This version will appeal most to those who have read and studied The Canterbury Tales and enjoyed them. The Canterbury Tales are best heard aloud. With commentary by Professor Murphy and talented actors, the various tales come appealingly alive. Chaucer¿s Middle ...
This version will appeal most to those who have read and studied The Canterbury Tales and enjoyed them. The Canterbury Tales are best heard aloud. With commentary by Professor Murphy and talented actors, the various tales come appealingly alive. Chaucer¿s Middle English has its archaic words explained, and leaves the beauty of the meter and rhymes intact. The tales explore primarily relations between men and women, people and God, and consistently challenge hypocrisy. The tales also exemplify all the major story forms in use during the Middle Ages. The book¿s structure is unbelievable subtle and complex, providing the opportunity to peel the onion down to its core, one layer at a time. Modern anthologies look awfully weak by comparison. Although the material is old, the ideas are not. You will also be impressed by how much closer God was to the lives of these people than He is today. The renunciation at the end comes as a mighty jolt, as a result. My favorites are by the miller, wife of Bath, pardoner, and nun¿s priest. Where do you see the opportunity to give and share spiritual and worldly love? How can you give and receive more love? Donald Mitchell, co-author of The Irresistible Growth Enterprise and The 2,000 Percent Solution

posted by Anonymous on October 12, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

65 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

e-book review only; caution for ease of use

Hanning's edition is marvelous in standard paper formatting. My review is for the electronic edition formatted for the Nook, however, which is extraordinarily poorly done--hence the detracted stars. 5 stars for content; 1 star for formatting.

The electronic version ...
Hanning's edition is marvelous in standard paper formatting. My review is for the electronic edition formatted for the Nook, however, which is extraordinarily poorly done--hence the detracted stars. 5 stars for content; 1 star for formatting.

The electronic version has no line numbers, which is a problem. The translation is advertised as "facing page," but in fact it's just haphazardly lumped into the original Middle English with no warning and no formatting changes whatsoever. You'll be reading along in Middle English and suddenly find yourself reading the same thing all over again in Modern English, and there's nothing you can do about it. So basically only someone really familiar with the Canterbury Tales will be able to use this electronic format, and anyone else should stay away.

It's a shame, because I'd really like to have access to this one on my Nook.

posted by 2537270 on December 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 452 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    e-book review only; caution for ease of use

    Hanning's edition is marvelous in standard paper formatting. My review is for the electronic edition formatted for the Nook, however, which is extraordinarily poorly done--hence the detracted stars. 5 stars for content; 1 star for formatting.

    The electronic version has no line numbers, which is a problem. The translation is advertised as "facing page," but in fact it's just haphazardly lumped into the original Middle English with no warning and no formatting changes whatsoever. You'll be reading along in Middle English and suddenly find yourself reading the same thing all over again in Modern English, and there's nothing you can do about it. So basically only someone really familiar with the Canterbury Tales will be able to use this electronic format, and anyone else should stay away.

    It's a shame, because I'd really like to have access to this one on my Nook.

    65 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2010

    Ebook is unreadable--there is no such thing as a facing page ebook.

    The Barnes & Noble Classics Series edition of The Canterbury Tales has Chaucer's original text on one page and a modern translation on the facing page. This works wonderfully well in print books for obvious reasons. This does *not* work for ebooks.

    Reading this book on the nook you will read through a page or two of the original text, then on the next page turn you'll have the modernized translation, then back to the original again. It is not simply a matter of Chaucer's version being in one chapter, followed by a chapter in translation; in fact, Chaucer's version and the translation are interspersed together so that there is NO WAY of choosing to read one or the other without having to manually click forward watching to see when the language changes to Chaucer's language. Because of this, the book is simply unreadable.

    Go find a public domain version of Chaucer's text and take the effort to get a feel for his language.

    40 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Do not recommend

    This book did not switch to the nook format well. It jumps from 1400s style writing to current day at inappropriate moments, which probably made sense in the paper version, but not at all on the Nook. I could only get through the first 5 pages before giving up and going to a store to buy it in paper.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    not formatted for Nook

    I should have heeded the other review I read that said that the book does not work on the Nook. In paper form the book was supposed to have both the original on one page and the modern form on the right. They end up alternating on the nook. I figured I would just read the original, sort of like reading a real long Jabberwocky. At first there were clear breaks between the original and the modern, but after a few pages I found they ran together, making the book even more difficult to read. At that point I gave up. I'll read it on paper.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2008

    A classic tale for years to come!

    This was one of the best books I ever read. I love that not only is the book presented in the original middle English, but also in translated modern English that I can understand. I was really blown away by the text and how expressive and beautiful it was. It is quite an undertaking, but it will pay off.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2001

    Delightful to Hear in the Recorded Books Edition

    This version will appeal most to those who have read and studied The Canterbury Tales and enjoyed them. The Canterbury Tales are best heard aloud. With commentary by Professor Murphy and talented actors, the various tales come appealingly alive. Chaucer¿s Middle English has its archaic words explained, and leaves the beauty of the meter and rhymes intact. The tales explore primarily relations between men and women, people and God, and consistently challenge hypocrisy. The tales also exemplify all the major story forms in use during the Middle Ages. The book¿s structure is unbelievable subtle and complex, providing the opportunity to peel the onion down to its core, one layer at a time. Modern anthologies look awfully weak by comparison. Although the material is old, the ideas are not. You will also be impressed by how much closer God was to the lives of these people than He is today. The renunciation at the end comes as a mighty jolt, as a result. My favorites are by the miller, wife of Bath, pardoner, and nun¿s priest. Where do you see the opportunity to give and share spiritual and worldly love? How can you give and receive more love? Donald Mitchell, co-author of The Irresistible Growth Enterprise and The 2,000 Percent Solution

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    Good Presentation - So-So Translation

    I love having the original Middle English on one side with a Modern English Translation on the facing page. I decided to try reading the Middle English. It's easy to look over to the translation whenever I get stuck. However, even without being able to completely understand the Middle English, I can tell the translation isn't that great. Also, the text is only footnoted on the Modern English side, which (if you're trying to follow the Middle English text) makes it easy to miss. Still, it's a lot more fun to read this on your own when you don't have a high school English teacher forcing you to do it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fascinating

    As someone who's always been interested in England, mythology, and a lot of other things, this book is paradise!! The premise is simple: a group of pilgrims are on the way to the shrine of St. Thomas Beckett in Canterbuty (hence the name). At the Tabard Inn, the host suggests that they each tell two stories on the way there, and two on the way back. They readily agree. The group is comprised of people representing various social positions (knight, reeve, nun, friar, miller, etc) and so the stories are widely varied. And the best part is that the language is easy! It's not the difficult 14th century that we Generation X think it is. Yes, buy the book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Nook format makes this near impossible to read!

    I enjoy Chaucer. But the format of this Nook version made this impossible to enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    nook version not readable

    The free edition didn't scan well, which is a shame because the Canterbury Tales are wonderful stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Nook version hard to read

    Letters joined oodly

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2014

    Hauns bio

    NAME- -_- "+"AGE-21 moons "+" mate- Nightwing "+" kits- none "+" crush- Nightwing "+" appearence- large muscular tom cat. Light brown fur with black tiger like markings around his face and tip of tail. "+" personality- kind and loving but he fights like a b***** "+" song- big bang 2 or type 40 tardis by chameleon circuit "+" symbol- "+"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2014

    ~~~Summer's Bio Update~~~

    Crush~ Excelsior <p> Mate~ Excelsior

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2014

    Outcast

    Name~ Are you seriously that stupid...? Look up! ^^ good job! | Age~ I ain't old, that's all you need to know! | Looks~ Black fur + blue-green eyes + long claws | Gender~ I don't have a banana, so I'm a female o.o | Personality~ let's see...I can be very b!. T.chy at times but if your lucky you get on my awesome side! :D | Nicknames~ Outie, Out, Outs, Outs or OC | Mate+Kits+Crush~ haha..no -_- | Friends~ friends mind your own da.mn bus-uh-ness!! | Favorite color~ Black and Blue, the colors of your face if you mess with me or my clan | Signature~ -OuTCasT- | Enemies~ Too many to count | Theme Song~ "Thnx fr th mmrs"- Fall Out Boy (Thnx for the memories) |

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2014

    Genocide

    Full Name: Genociderift <br> Nicknames: Genocide, Gen, and Genny <br> Age: 2 human years <br> Description: She's a lithe, able-bodied, dusky gold she-cat. She has a slight overlayer of fine, obsidian-hued fur that gives the appearance of being cloaked in shadows. Her eyes are a light grey flecked with darker specks. Her right ear is missing, torn off in a battle, and the tip of her tail is missing as well. Her claws are hooked and razor-sharp; she meticulously sharpens them every day. <br> Rank: Warrior <br> Mate: None

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2014

    ~Summer & Tsunami's Bio~

    ~~Summer~~ <br> Full Name~ SummerDream <p> Gender~ &female <p> Age~ 16 Moons <p> Looks~ SummerDream has white fur, with orange and black 'blobs' on her eye, leg, muzzle, right ear, and left paw. Summer has light green eyes. <p> Personality~ Summer is very shy and quiet at first, but later she will be very outgoing. She is very sweet, and she tries to be as positive as possible. She is very loyal, and a bit stubborn. <p> History~ So as Summer grew up, she was raised as a rouge, living with her mother, StarDeath, and her sister, TsunamiHeart. Later, Summer and Tsunami decided to leave the rouge life and be a warrior in BloodClan. <p> Rank~ Warrior\Queen <p> Crush~ Excel <p> Mate~ Not yet... <p> Kits~ Shadowkit <p> Theme Song~ "Love The Way You Lie" by Ariana Grande <p> ~~Tsunami~~ <br> Full Name~ Tsunami <p> Gender~ &female <p> Age~ 17 Moons <p> Looks~ TsunamiHeart has blue-gray pelt, and aqua blue eyes. She has extra long fangs, and a scar beneath her eyes. <p> Personality~ TsunamiHeart will either hate you or like you, from the beginning. After that, you cannot change her mind. She is a very loyal cat, and will never give up. She can be very rude, and gets annoyed easily. She doesn't get too corny, or cheesy, so she is not easy to love. <p> History~ Look at Summer's, bu<_>tthea<_>d. <p> Crush~ NO. <p> Mate~ Me. <p> Kits~ Never. <p> Theme Song~ "Black Widow, by Iggy <p> ~~~BYE~~~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2014

    Enmity's Kits

    Abyss: A dark gray tom with brght green eyes.
    <br>
    RPer: OutCast
    <p>
    Padawan: A light gray she-kit with sea blue eyes and white forepaws.
    <br>
    RPer: NightPaw
    <p>
    Talos: A large solid black tom with dark copper eyes.
    <br>
    RPer: Haun
    <p>
    Demur: A pale gray tabby she-kit with icy blue eyes and a black tuft on her chest.
    <br>
    RPer: Summer
    <p>
    Sylph: A small copper tabby she-kit with bright amber eyes and white paws.
    <br>
    RPer: Enmity

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2014

    Swift

    Lovely. Locked out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2014

    Envy's Autobiography + Striking's note

    //Name-Envy//Age-25 moons//Gender-&male//Appearance-large with black pelt, ember eyes, fluffy//Kin-mother [Wolfblood] mother [Devil] father [Striking] adopted mother [Spring/Life] adopted sister [Serenade] adopted brothers [Abattoir, Berserk]//Mate-...//Personality-meet him//Brief History-he's part Devil so he can shadow travel and he turns demonic on the full moon. Abattoir also hates his guts.//Themesong-Frontlines by Nonpoint, Torn to Pieces by Pop Evil//Siggie-&epsilon//Other-ask. He likes to bother Broken though//<br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br>
    Striking's note<br>
    Striking is dead. D-E-A-D. Just because I post as him, does not make him a living figure. I talk oocly as him as most kniw me quite well as him. He has a long history and a rather sad ending but too bad. The moment someone is rude to me about him, I shall disappear without warning, not to return for a bit of time. Sorry, but I'm fed up with people constantly pegging me about him. I also rp Prismshield and once in a blue moon, Maylay. I'm also often very busy with school so be patient. I'm in eleventh grade, and in several college level courses. That and stress from other factors. Patience and kindness please. That's all I'm asking. Comprandez? Bon. Au revoir!<p>~&epsilon<br>~&sect

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2014

    Brokens Bio

    Name~ Broken
    <br>Age~ 27 moons
    <br>Mate~ Titanium
    <br>Appearance~ his pelt is black with one white paw and a circle of white around his right eye. His eyes are green and his right eyes pupil is a star shape. He has a long fluffy white tipped tail and a tuft of hair ontop his head. He is pretty small for a cat his age. Probably the size of an apprentise. But his height is made up for his strength
    <br>Personality~ hes very lazy and usually only does things when he has to. He can be easily annoyed by some people, but some people, no matte how ard they try, just dont get him angry ((*cough, cough, envy, cough*))
    <br>Ability~ he is a very skilled at jumping, he can jump very very high. He does use magic, and now that he as permission to use it he does use it more often then he use to. He doesnt use it when he is fighting though.
    <br>Siggi~ &#8251
    <br>i think im done. I probably forgot a whole bunch of sh<_>it so if you hve questions ask them. I dont garentee ill answer them though
    <br>
    <br>
    <br>
    <br>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 452 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23