Customer Reviews for

The Canterbury Tales (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 3.5
( 491 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(198)

4 Star

(84)

3 Star

(79)

2 Star

(56)

1 Star

(74)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Delightful to Hear in the Recorded Books Edition

This version will appeal most to those who have read and studied The Canterbury Tales and enjoyed them. The Canterbury Tales are best heard aloud. With commentary by Professor Murphy and talented actors, the various tales come appealingly alive. Chaucer¿s Middle ...
This version will appeal most to those who have read and studied The Canterbury Tales and enjoyed them. The Canterbury Tales are best heard aloud. With commentary by Professor Murphy and talented actors, the various tales come appealingly alive. Chaucer¿s Middle English has its archaic words explained, and leaves the beauty of the meter and rhymes intact. The tales explore primarily relations between men and women, people and God, and consistently challenge hypocrisy. The tales also exemplify all the major story forms in use during the Middle Ages. The book¿s structure is unbelievable subtle and complex, providing the opportunity to peel the onion down to its core, one layer at a time. Modern anthologies look awfully weak by comparison. Although the material is old, the ideas are not. You will also be impressed by how much closer God was to the lives of these people than He is today. The renunciation at the end comes as a mighty jolt, as a result. My favorites are by the miller, wife of Bath, pardoner, and nun¿s priest. Where do you see the opportunity to give and share spiritual and worldly love? How can you give and receive more love? Donald Mitchell, co-author of The Irresistible Growth Enterprise and The 2,000 Percent Solution

posted by Anonymous on October 12, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

65 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

e-book review only; caution for ease of use

Hanning's edition is marvelous in standard paper formatting. My review is for the electronic edition formatted for the Nook, however, which is extraordinarily poorly done--hence the detracted stars. 5 stars for content; 1 star for formatting.

The electronic version ...
Hanning's edition is marvelous in standard paper formatting. My review is for the electronic edition formatted for the Nook, however, which is extraordinarily poorly done--hence the detracted stars. 5 stars for content; 1 star for formatting.

The electronic version has no line numbers, which is a problem. The translation is advertised as "facing page," but in fact it's just haphazardly lumped into the original Middle English with no warning and no formatting changes whatsoever. You'll be reading along in Middle English and suddenly find yourself reading the same thing all over again in Modern English, and there's nothing you can do about it. So basically only someone really familiar with the Canterbury Tales will be able to use this electronic format, and anyone else should stay away.

It's a shame, because I'd really like to have access to this one on my Nook.

posted by 2537270 on December 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    Good Presentation - So-So Translation

    I love having the original Middle English on one side with a Modern English Translation on the facing page. I decided to try reading the Middle English. It's easy to look over to the translation whenever I get stuck. However, even without being able to completely understand the Middle English, I can tell the translation isn't that great. Also, the text is only footnoted on the Modern English side, which (if you're trying to follow the Middle English text) makes it easy to miss. Still, it's a lot more fun to read this on your own when you don't have a high school English teacher forcing you to do it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2014

    Sheer's Kits

    Splash, Speck, Fog, Onyx, Cyanide & Twilight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2014

    Envy's Autobiography + Striking's note

    //Name-Envy//Age-25 moons//Gender-&male//Appearance-large with black pelt, ember eyes, fluffy//Kin-mother [Wolfblood] mother [Devil] father [Striking] adopted mother [Spring/Life] adopted sister [Serenade] adopted brothers [Abattoir, Berserk]//Mate-...//Personality-meet him//Brief History-he's part Devil so he can shadow travel and he turns demonic on the full moon. Abattoir also hates his guts.//Themesong-Frontlines by Nonpoint, Torn to Pieces by Pop Evil//Siggie-&epsilon//Other-ask. He likes to bother Broken though//<br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br>
    Striking's note<br>
    Striking is dead. D-E-A-D. Just because I post as him, does not make him a living figure. I talk oocly as him as most kniw me quite well as him. He has a long history and a rather sad ending but too bad. The moment someone is rude to me about him, I shall disappear without warning, not to return for a bit of time. Sorry, but I'm fed up with people constantly pegging me about him. I also rp Prismshield and once in a blue moon, Maylay. I'm also often very busy with school so be patient. I'm in eleventh grade, and in several college level courses. That and stress from other factors. Patience and kindness please. That's all I'm asking. Comprandez? Bon. Au revoir!<p>~&epsilon<br>~&sect

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2014

    妙 Enmity's Bio 妙

    Name: Enmity. Look it up and you will understand her persona purrrrfectly.
    <p>
    Age: *slaps across face* Neva ask a ladeh that!
    <p>
    Gender: So, it appears to be contest around here who can get the most gender-related words. >:D &female. Female. Femme. Girl. Dudette. Opposite-of-the-male gender. Woman. Fae. Queen. Princess. Duchess. She. She-cat. Doe. Cow. Lady. One-with-the-inside-se<_>x-organ. Et cetera. Et cetera.
    <p>
    Appearance: A stocky she-cat with an ashy dappled pelt. Her coloration consists of mottled grays with hints of rusty browns. Her eyes are leaf-green forest emeralds, each burning with a fiery blaze. Her scars include a slight indent on one of her forelegs, curtesy of Katty, and silver puncture wounds on her belly, also thanks to Katty.
    <p>
    Friends: She is new, but probably Toxic. And anyone else who would consider her a friend.
    <p>
    Enemies: Ashpelt and possibly Katty. Possibly.
    <p>
    Theme Song: Hmmmmm....
    <p>
    Likes: Hetalia, fishes, sleep, art, books, PJO, Harry Potter, blood, fishes, and more fishes. Did I mention....
    <p>
    &nbsp
    <p>
    Potatoes?
    <p>
    Symbol: &#22937
    <p>
    GOODBYE, STALKER!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2014

    � Tales of Iyy; Revenge & co. �

    Oh the tales of Abigail...What?!This isn't a random kid's TV show about puppies?Where was I?Oh,right, my bio. <p> //Name://Ivy,Iyy,Potato,or Ivilorien from the TwoTowersMUD <p>
    [[Gender]]: &female Shecat <p>
    {Appearance }:Shortish russet red tabby fur stained with orange hairs on paws,tailtip,and face;with dark emerald green eyes.Her tail is longish and she has a strong and sturdy frame/build.She periodically wears a worn leather green collar-NOT a kittypet <p>
    |Personality|:Tough,doesn't hesitate to kill or take prisoners.She likes the way crimson looks on her claws.Confident and rowdy in a tom-like fashion,though with all the vast intelligence of a shecat. <p> /History/-Abandaned as a kit,she chased kittypets and terrorized them as a rouge before hearing of BloodClan.Brought kit of one loner named Butter to kill on her arrival there. <p> /Family/-Mind draws a blank.___Nice,brain.Am British,Irish and Scottish though,a viking! <p>
    No mate,No kits and hates them anyways,No crush! <p>
    Theme-Star Wars soundtrack,Celtic and bar songs <p>
    Other-made her up today <p> //Blazekit, &female, a shekit that is a red tabby kitten of 5 moons,very curious,family forgotten//Butter-SunFlowerKit, &female . A shekit Iyy brought to kill that Ashpelt (dont rp him.) saved and named,a beautiful yellow and gold striped tabby with blue eyes and a soft pelt,shy and nervous and believes in StarClan,4 and a half moons.//Revengeclaw and Silverthroat's bios will be posted at "star wars revenge" result 1.Ive rped in this clan since at least 2013. Silverthroat's call is at "silver throat call" and "tret".-Em

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2014

    Aqhpelts full first person story part one

    Ashpelt opened his eyes to the world around him . A dense forest surounded his home his mother looked at him she had red eyes and ash colerd coat . "Welcome to shadowclan"she mewed licking him on the head . "Mother!" He mewed excitedly " I can see " he mewed to his brothers Bloodravenkit and Boldkit. His sister Finchpaw who was already a apprentice padded in the nursery carrying a rabbit for us to eat. "Whell hows my favorite little brother doing" she asked for ashkit hadnt opened his eyes until one week after he supposed to now he was three moons old and his fiery red eyes shone. Like her mother finchpaw had a ash colered pelt and red eyes . "Great" ashkit mewed digging into the rabbit the taste better most and rabbit was a real delicasy in shadowclan ashkit fell asleep after eating. Ashkits eyes flashed open as a voice came from outside the den a big black cat padded in "Im going to kidnap you "he hissed at ashkit just then his big sister jumped out slicing the cats face "no not " she hissed but the rogue was stronger and pinned her on the ground he took his paw unsheathing his claws and was about to cut her throat when i screamed"sister!!!no!!!!" The rogue grabed me and drug my sister into the woods nocking her out so she would stop struggleling. He knocked me out too the next thing i saw i woke up in a cave his sister was stiring. When the rogue padded in it was daylight he padded over to my sister " I see your up " he mewed a sick grin on his face finchpaw spat let me go she mewed no! He hissed whats the fun in that he unsheathed his claws and held them to her throat . He then started to claw her on the shoulders and face ignoring her pleading i tried move but was to hurt to move . Ashkit watched as the rogue tortured his sister he heard her screams and plea's yet he was incapable of helping the rogue cat left her finally bleeding everywhere he smiled at me i hissed . He picked me up " go lay down by your sister your next " he laughed setting me down by my sister in a pool of blood she looked at me escape she mewed its ...ya ya she spluttered blood the rogue took his claw and slit her throat he yowled with laughter ashkit hissed "what are laughing at ?" . The rogue left to hunt ashkit saw his chance and ran out into the woods . It then Ashpelt the warrior sparked in a fighting spirit a revengful spirit a feirce yet mercyfull cat one to be feared for the first time he was alone yet he knew his sister was right next to him. Authors notes part one of hopefully three is compleate i hope to instill humbleness into my readers also to spark hope in those who are lost dedicated to Finchpaw,Bloodraven,his mother,Katty,and all my friends ..................to be continued part two will be next

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2014

    ʈ Ember's Biography ʈ

    Name ~ Ember <br> Gender ~ T<_>&male<_>m <br> Age ~ Unknown <br> Persona ~ Meet me <br> Appearance ~ A firey red tom; his front paws have the toes dipped in dark grey, bit the back legs up to the hackles are dipped in dark grey. His eyes are a deep, and darker gold, speacks of hazel near the irises. No scars as of yet <br> Crush/Mate/Kits ~ Yes, and her name is AshFire/Not currently, but perhaps soon../None as of now. Maybe later on <br> History ~ In the making <br> Other ~ Only active at night, a few times a week <p> ~Ember &#648

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2014

    Bluepekts add on

    Crush: hmmmm okay a hint. She only comes out on dark stary nights.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2015

    Virus to Seven

    That's not me! I can prove it! Virus has purple eyes and his father is Toxin and mother is Blade.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2015

    Seven's Bio

    Name: Silvermoon
    BC name: Seven
    Age: Old, bruh.
    Gender: Femmmmme.
    Rank: Warrior
    -
    Looks: Shimmering silver pelt, pitch black paws and forelegs, with seven white horizontal stripes on her back. One ember eye, the other is clouded over and blinded with a pink scar running from her brow bone to her cheek [SunStar.]
    Persona: Eh, depends on you. She can be happy, playful and hilarious or downright hateful. Your choice.
    -
    Friends: Randi, Virus, Prism, Sunny, Armie, Thistle, Plat, Silv, River, Coyote, Pande, Fallen, Frost [Unknown whereabouts], Venom [Unknown whereabouts], HawkFrost [deceased], BeastKit [Unknown whereabouts], SilverShard [Unknown whereabouts], and AngelThorn [unknown whereabouts]
    Mate: Virus
    Kits: Toxic [Virus], Savvy [Virus], Serval [Virus], and Vitani [Virus]
    -

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2014

    Laololololololololo

    Lololololololololololo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2015

    Chasm' Bio

    Name :: Chasm
    <br>
    Age :: 33 Moons
    <br>
    Gender :: &male
    <br>
    Appearance :: A large black tom with steely gray eyes.
    <br>
    Mate :: Caroline [ Deceased ]
    <br>
    Kits :: DragonVoid, who was killed by Thistlefang [ Deceased ]
    <br>
    Crush :: Classified.
    <br>
    Other :: Ask
    <p>
    RPer :: NRM &#22767

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2015

    Nightwings bio

    Why do you care?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2015

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    Solid

    A good translation

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5