Customer Reviews for

Cape Refuge

Average Rating 4
( 157 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

this book is amazing

i hated reading before i read this book.the reason i read this book is because i have had a book report to do. I was sad because the book is like 385 pages which is a lot for some one who hates to read. this book is excellent some nights i was up to like 12:00 at night ...
i hated reading before i read this book.the reason i read this book is because i have had a book report to do. I was sad because the book is like 385 pages which is a lot for some one who hates to read. this book is excellent some nights i was up to like 12:00 at night reading. you can not put this book down. this book is so good that i asked my parents for the rest of the series.

posted by Anonymous on September 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't put it down.

This is a wonderful book. Very entertaining.

posted by b_k_r on March 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2008

    this book is amazing

    i hated reading before i read this book.the reason i read this book is because i have had a book report to do. I was sad because the book is like 385 pages which is a lot for some one who hates to read. this book is excellent some nights i was up to like 12:00 at night reading. you can not put this book down. this book is so good that i asked my parents for the rest of the series.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    Couldn't put it down.

    This is a wonderful book. Very entertaining.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Please don't read the book to us

    Telling the whole story in you review is not helpful Give a quick review if you like it or not and why But telling the story chapter by chapter is not helpful Geez Why read it * you've done it for us

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2005

    A Masterpiece!

    Having read books by Terri before I was almost positive this was going to be a good read. I was hooked after the first chapter! The story centers on two sisters Morgan and Blair, who are very different. Morgan, along with her husband Jonathon live in her childhood home which has become a bed-and-breakfast for the down and out. She helps her parents, Thelma and Wayne Owens run Hanover House. Blair, has never married and is the town librarian. With feelings of insecurity about a scar on her face she has let it hold her back in life. Meantime, Cape Refuge City Council is trying to shut down Hanover House but both sister¿s are at the meeting trying to delay proceedings until their parents arrive. As they wait Blair tries in vain to stall the proceedings. Before long sirens can be heard and soon young Police Chief Matthew Cade bursts into the council meeting with very bad news for the sisters ¿ their parents have been murdered! What follows is a story that will keep you on the edge of your seat. Jonathon has been arrested for the murders of his parents-in-law after a heated argument just that morning. While he sits helpless in a cell the sisters set out to solve the mystery and free Jonathon. I loved the part when Blair destroys the library as a way of releasing her pent-up frustrations. It¿s heart warning to see how the town pulls together to help the sisters. Of course there are a few who want to see Hanover House closed down and they will go to frightening lengths to accomplish their goals. Not deterred the sisters uncover hided secrets of their parents past along with a few long-awaited explanations. The author brilliantly weaves a story of secrets and lies along with a few twists and turns to keep you guessing. Throughout the story momentum builds and you soon find you can¿t read fast enough to keep up. Or at least that¿s how I felt. I love a story which draws me in and makes me feel as though I have a stake in their lives. The ending will have you gasping! You¿ll be glad there¿s a second and third book in the Cape Refuge series.

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2014

    This is my 3rd time reading Cape Refuge. The first time on my o

    This is my 3rd time reading Cape Refuge. The first time on my own, and the 2nd and 3rd time for book clubs. I Absolutely Love this series.This 3rd time I read it brought me back to the characters I didn't want to see end. I need to reread the rest.



    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2013

    When I began this book, I was quite intrigued. After all, it is

    When I began this book, I was quite intrigued. After all, it is a Christian mystery. That is a genre I have never read. I grew up reading Erle Stanley Gardner and Agatha Christie where everyone jumped into bed with each other and used foul language right and left. How refreshing this book was in light of that!




    First of all, the author is a fantastic writer who certainly knows how to develop believable characters and plots with intriguing twists and turns. I was drawn into the book from the very beginning--which is quite refreshing. 




    Furthermore, I absolutely loved that there were no bedroom scenes and no foul language! Yes! I could certainly handle reading more books like this. While the gospel was there, the reader did not feel as though he/she was being beat over the head with Christianity. 




    And finally, I pride myself in the fact that I partially solved the crime. I could follow the author's clues, and that really was exhilarating. Rarely could I ever solve an Agatha Christie or Perry Mason case, but I have a chance with Terri Blackstock. I certainly look forward to reading more of her books. It looks as though this is the first in the series, and it would be nice to read the sequel.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Good reading

    Enjoyed all her books I've read so far. They don't contain all the sexual language and graphic violence. Much more relaxing read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    Another great book by Terri Blackstock. Murder and corruption is

    Another great book by Terri Blackstock. Murder and corruption is the basis of this story as well as ministering to those in need. I love her well-developed and believable characters and the mystery with plenty of plot twists and turns. You are drawn into her books from the beginning, then throughout there are so many suspects and ways that the plot could go that you can’t put it down.

    I love that there is plenty of suspense without foul language or intimate sex scenes!

    This is a Christian story that has plenty of persons who have faith as well as those who question faith. It represents where each places this is their life. Highly recommend.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    awesome

    it was nice reading a book without cussing and sex. It was based on God and how even christians have really hard times. this is the first of the trilogy and i can't wait to read the last two. I am truly excited about reading again

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I love Terri Blackstock

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2010

    Great Mystery

    I'm a fan of mystery and the Christian aspect made it even better. I love the fact that I can read good fiction without the bad language. This is a great read that will keep you up at night to finish! I'm reading the second book in the series now. It is equally as good.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2004

    Good read!

    this was my first terri blackstock novel and i must say that i enjoyed it. i woud recommend this book to anyone who oves a good mystery. my only complaint was that i thought it was a bit drawn out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    This was so refreshing to read Murder Mystery that is clean and

    This was so refreshing to read Murder Mystery that is clean and inspirational. This was the first book that I have read by Terri Blackstock and was a great writing. Well written, fast pace, descriptive yet not overly done, inspirational book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Highly recommended, excellent read!!

    I really enjoyed this first in the series of Cape Refuge, spellbinding, suspenseful couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Recommend

    Good read, interesting people and a good story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Nice Read!

    I was really uplifted by this book, even though it had some emotionally draining parts. I've already bought the others in the series so will move right into them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    Excellant mystery

    This book holds your interest! It has family, God, kindness to others & the best part written about beautiful Savannah & the Georgia Islands.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Nice read

    A nice read with a good storyline and satisfying ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Finally - - -

    A book that I can read that is not filled with explicit sex that I skip over, that is well-written and praises God at the same time. Our media will ignore this wonderful writer, though - they can't allow a Christian to become a best-seller, sad to say.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another enjoyable book by Terri Blackstock

    I read her Restoration series, and this was the second series I have read. I didn't grip me as strongly as the previous series had, but I still found it well-written, entertaining and worth continuing on to the next book.
    I have recommend this series and author to others. It is nice to have a Christian-thriller genre out there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8