Customer Reviews for

Capital Crimes

Average Rating 3.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 13 of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    Two short stories

    I preferred the first story (Faye Kellerman's) to the second (Jonathan Kellerman's). Short stories don't have a lot of time for character or dramatic plot development. Both use their standard protagonists; the other characters were thin. I assume if there had been enough of a storyline, they would have written books rather than novellas, and that says it all.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2008

    Great plot, pathetic resolution

    The basic plot of this story of a lesbian politician's murder was well set-up. The ending was far-fetchedcame from nowhere. Was not believable. Unresolved questions which seemed inherent to the story stay unresolved: Detective Barnes affair with the murdered woman who was 'gay', her alcohol abuse 'never substantiated', and Barnes' affairs with two other women inherent to the story, oh, and yes, who did the murdered woman get an STD from? I turned what was, sadly, the last page, expecting some more answers, and certainly, more complete explations, but, alas, they were not there. A cop-out, pardon the expression.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2007

    Ho-Hum

    What a dull and uninspired pair of novellas. This is a case of the sum being less than the parts. In my opinion, the Kellermans do much better on their own than as a team, especially Faye Kellerman.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2007

    it was okay

    I really liked the lead characters, but I guess I just expected a little more suspense and a better mystery. I like the Kellermans' books, but this one just didn't work for me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2013

    Two great stories. Very entertaining, read this in two sittings,

    Two great stories. Very entertaining, read this in two sittings, couldn't put it down. Sometimes I enjoy the departure from Delaware/Sturgis and connect with new characters, this one did not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Um, Okay

    These are rather simple stories that make for some decent reading, but one can find many others more compelling. Two of the previous reviews say, in the exact same words, something that is flat wrong:
    "Take your pick. LAPD Detective Peter Decker steps in to try to solve the crime before one more corpse is found."
    Decker played a very small part in the first story, and I don't remember any mention of him in the second story. Makes you wonder if these early reviewers actually read the book or are just shilling for the publisher.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2007

    Thought it was very good.

    2 books in 1. I thought both stories were great, and they (Johnathon and Faye Kellerman) tied there reccuring characters from their respective series into small characters in these stories. This book will have you reading both the Alex Delaware (Jonathon) and Peter Decker and Rina Lazarous (Faye Kellerman) series when you are finished.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A DOUBLE DOSE OF THRILLERS

    Capital Crimes by the Kellermans, a crackerjack husband and wife writing team, is capital thriller reading. In fact, a double dose of it because the book holds a pair of novellas that bring back familiar protagonists to do what they do best - solve mysteries. The first novella, My Sister's Keeper: Berkeley, finds state representative Davida Grayson stone cold dead in her office. And, her demise was not a pretty one. Now, just because Davida held elective office does not necessarily mean that she was popular. We read: 'She recalled (her) Mother's first words after the election results were tallied and Davida's supporters broke into raised-fist cheers in the social hall of the old Finnish church. Be careful, dear. Don't get cocky and think because you can get elected here that you're really popular. Mother was being her typical negative self, but there was some truth to her admonitions. Davida knew she'd made many enemies, many of whom she had never met. ' There were those among her own faction who didn't care for her at all, others opposed her backing of stem-cell research, and more hated her because she was gay. Take your pick. LAPD Detective Peter Decker steps in to try to solve the crime before one more corpse is found. Music City Breakdown: Nashville takes us to another part of our country - the place some call our musical capital. A one time A-List musician is found murdered and it's up to Nashville Police Department's Murder Squad partners Baker Southerby and Lamar Van Gundy to discover not only whodunit but why. Once they begin probing into the late great's past they uncover quite a few surprises. Of course, famous musicians aren't the only ones who may have something to hide. Enjoy! - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2007

    AN OUTSTANDING VOICE PERFORMANCE

    Actor/director/composer John Rubinstein excels on a number of artistic levels. Lucky for us that he has found time to narrate audio books as his varied professional experiences result in outstanding reading performances sparked by a stage ready voice and a thorough understanding of the characters he inhabits. Even his well considered pauses resonate with meaning. When Rubinstein is matched with the Kellermans, a crackerjack husband and wife writing team, the results are five star entertainment. Capital Crimes, composed of two novellas, brings back two familiar protagonists to do what they do best - solve mysteries. The first novella, My Sister's Keeper: Berkeley, finds state representative Davida Grayson stone cold dead in her office. And, her demise was not a pretty one. Now, just because Davida held elective office does not necessarily mean that she was popular. We hear: 'She recalled (her) Mother's first words after the election results were tallied and Davida's supporters broke into raised-fist cheers in the social hall of the old Finnish church. Be careful, dear. Don't get cocky and think because you can get elected here that you're really popular. Mother was being her typical negative self, but there was some truth to her admonitions. Davida knew she'd made many enemies, many of whom she had never met. ' There were those among her own faction who didn't care for her at all, others opposed her backing of stem-cell research, and more hated her because she was gay. Take your pick. LAPD Detective Peter Decker steps in to try to solve the crime before one more corpse is found. Music City Breakdown: Nashville takes us to another part of our country - the place some call our musical capital. A one time A-List musician is found murdered and it's up to Nashville Police Department's Murder Squad partners Baker Southerby and Lamar Van Gundy to discover not only whodunit but why. Once they begin probing into the late great's past they uncover quite a few surprises. Of course, famous musicians aren't the only ones who may have something to hide. Recommended. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    For fans of the Kellermans

    ¿My Sister's Keeper¿. California state representative and lesbian rights activist Davida Grayson ignores all the threats to dispatch her to hell from rival politicians and the fundamental right as she loudly supports stem cell research. However, someone carries out the threat and kills her in her Berkeley office. Berkley homicide detectives Will Barnes and Amanda Isis investigating the shooting death seeking a motive by focusing more on her love life rather than her vocal political enemies. --- ¿Music City Breakdown¿. Nashville homicide detectives Baker Southerby and Lamar Van Gundy investigate the murder of rock superstar Jack Jeffries, stabbed to death. They quickly uncover the fact that the victim was a patient of police psychiatrist Dr. Alex Delaware so they consult with him to learn more about Jeffries in order to find a motive. --- Fans of Faye Kellerman¿s LAPD detective Peter Decker and Jonathan Kellerman¿s Alex Delaware series will enjoy this pair of novellas though their respective recurring heroes play minor roles with neither of the lead homicide detective teams quite as solid. Still both tales are fun as readers will enjoy this dose of DOUBLE HOMICIDE from the Kellerman duo. --- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 13 of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1