Customer Reviews for

Caps for Sale: A Tale of a Peddler, Some Monkeys and Their Monkey Business

Average Rating 3.5
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Even better than it was 30 yrs ago!!

In preschool 30 yrs ago, we would read the book and then act it out! One of the best memories of Mrs Corona's CLass!! My 3 kids all love the song and the play feature on the Nook read and play. It is awesome to be able to share my memories with my kids!!

posted by Sokormom on June 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

NOOKBook is a joke. Can not even use.

This book is not even readable on a nook. The images and text are not even formated to fit on the scree. It's like the each page was converted to an image file that is the orig. size of the book even for text. Resizing the text does nothing. Called and B&N did get a ref...
This book is not even readable on a nook. The images and text are not even formated to fit on the scree. It's like the each page was converted to an image file that is the orig. size of the book even for text. Resizing the text does nothing. Called and B&N did get a refund. Sad I had to put 1 star to warn nook users because I love the book.

Support confirmed the book was not usable and could do nothing for other than refunding.

posted by michaelsbadger on April 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    NOOKBook is a joke. Can not even use.

    This book is not even readable on a nook. The images and text are not even formated to fit on the scree. It's like the each page was converted to an image file that is the orig. size of the book even for text. Resizing the text does nothing. Called and B&N did get a refund. Sad I had to put 1 star to warn nook users because I love the book.

    Support confirmed the book was not usable and could do nothing for other than refunding.

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    Even better than it was 30 yrs ago!!

    In preschool 30 yrs ago, we would read the book and then act it out! One of the best memories of Mrs Corona's CLass!! My 3 kids all love the song and the play feature on the Nook read and play. It is awesome to be able to share my memories with my kids!!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    Barnes and Noble needs to step it up!!

    This title is only compatible with the Nook Color. Despite B&N using images of this book to demonstrate the features of their Nook for Kids iPad app, it does not work with iPad. I was very excited to see that there were interactive kids books available to use on the iPad but with no sure way to know which are compatible and which are not, it makes the app practically worthless. I loved this book as a kid and hoped to share it with my daughter on the iPad. This book is 5 stars but the B&N version is a bait and switch!

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Caps for sale

    I LOVE THIS BOOK! Always have. Great gor younger kids.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    loved by 3 generations of our family

    Fun story for kids to join in the telling and even "acting out" the parts. Illustrations are distinctive and appealing.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    LOVE IT!

    My 2 1/2 old Grandson loves this book! We reread it all the time. The funny monkeys, the learning of colors, & sequencing are all learning ideas. He also likes the full story version. Remember that most board books are not the total story.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Caps

    Caps for sale i love it

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Do not lisin to that kid

    This book is good for aduls and children

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    A family favorite!

    My husband and I rediscovered this book about a month ago and it instantly became one of our son's favorites. He acts it out and dances to the songs (great touch!) We highly recommend this as an addition to your kiddoes Nook library shelf.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    This is very helpful.

    I think that this book is very educational for younger kids like my brother. He keeps asking me if i could get him the book to read and do the activities. This book again is very helpful and educational for kids five or below.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Fhjd

    I can read this book in five minutes and four dollors really

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Love It!

    Got this for my one grandson when he was born about 7 years ago......He has loved it all these years. He went from me reading it to him reading it to himself. Just purchased another one for my new grand daughter and I'm sure she will enjoy it too over the years. I know Grandma definetly loves it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    DO NOT GET THIS BOOK

    It doesn't even let you download it. It just took my money and didn't even let me dowload. So it does not really work.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    My Baby Loves It

    Of course Caps For Sale is an awesome book, and personally I have a few complaints about the adaptation of this story for Nook, but I'm giving it 5 stars because my 16-month old turns on the Nook all by herself, selects this book, and plays with it over and over and over again!

    The type is quite small, but if the book is being read to you by the machine, this obviously doesn't matter much. At first I didn't love that a few of the original illustrations had been crudely animated, but now I appreciate that this maintains the integrity of the original. There are a few interactive things my daughter won't do yet, but I'm very excited for when she's able to (find the different-colored hats, draw a sun, etc.) The person reading the story also sings some songs throughout, none of which I loved at first, but they're growing on me, maybe because I hear them a million times a day! Frankly, I think the music could be better, but like I said, my daughter really loves this book, so I'm happy with it too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    Fantastic

    The story was well weirten for little kids to read when they are tired.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    favorite!!!!!!!

    so cute i still remember it!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    My sons favorite

    I have been reading this book to my sons for years and they never tire of it. I think the funny voices and gestures I do with it help a lot; -)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    Funny

    This book is truley funny.A great book for kids.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2010

    CAPS FOR SALE

    Caps for Sale is a b ook that my now 40 year old son absolutely loved. He was introduced to it in a library story hour. I, of course, had to buy the book for him. I read it to him countless times. When he outgrew the story, I put it away for the future. Years later, I read the book to my 2 grandsons. I did have to purchase a new book for the boys, because the original book was falling apart. The 2 boys loved the book as much as my son did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2010

    A classic every child should have

    Its a cute book and one I use to reread as a kid.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5