Customer Reviews for

Captain

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Tom, Carol Lovada and I just came back from Alaska. I took "

    Tom,
    Carol Lovada and I just came back from Alaska. I took "Captian" to read and could not put it down. I missed all the scenery! I figure you owe me another cruise. If you think that to be excessive a Coors lite will do. Great book Tom.A solid 5 star.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    Nelson DeMille sums it up best, when he writes, "Captain is

    Nelson DeMille sums it up best, when he writes, "Captain is one of the best aviation thrillers you'll ever read"...,

    My standard for judging a well crafted and well told story is measuring how many pages it takes a writer to "hook me" to where I become fully engrossed and suddenly feel compelled to devour every page as quickly as possible to discover the climax I sense is being built.

    In Captain, Mr. Block actually accomplished this for me in the prologue!

    With my appetite whetted in the prologue, what was really pleasing to find, is that by the end of the first chapter Captain was able to demand that I make the time available to learn what unfolds with the turn of each page. Therefore it didn't take long to get to the point where I simply could not put the book down.

    This is accomplished by Mr. Block's skillful character development that effectively supports the thrilling story line. I found myself exposed to the full panoply of emotions and completely immersed in the unfolding saga.

    The characters the reader gets to know, obviously come from aviation, but integral to the building climax, prominent characters surface from psychiatry, corporate finance, public relations, corporate governance, governmental bureaucrats and F-15 fighter pilots, to name a few.

    Captain is in my opinion Mr. Block's best work. It is a thriller that could only be written by an experienced aviator, however it also shows that his expertise obviously goes far beyond being a Pilot.

    I have read, some time ago, others of Mr. Block's books and hopefully his next novel is already in the works. I can hardly wait!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2013

    Are you ready for one of the wildest rides of your life? This bo

    Are you ready for one of the wildest rides of your life? This book was incredible! When I began reading it, I thought I might be bored with the book. After all, what on earth do I know about airplanes. And, yes, some of this book is technical, and I did not understand all of those sections. But you know what? I did not matter! This book was filled with such nail-biting, edge-of-your-seat action that I almost could not put it down.




    The characters were quite intriguing. There was a lot more going for this book than just the main story. There were several sub-stories that made me consider the meaning of life and the way people react to stress and various other situations. The author seamlessly wove the other stories into the very fabric of the book, and nothing seemed out of place.




    I am happy to announce that there were no sex scenes. Yes, there was profanity, but mostly it did not bother me. The strength of the story kept me going, and I was able to overlook any language issues. 




    I truly enjoyed the style in which the book was written. The reader was able to go back and forth between what was happening on the air and what was happening on the ground. In so doing, the tension was doubled. The reader is privy to both sides of the story, and this made my pulse race as I continued reading and reached the conclusion. And how does it end? Read it yourself! I will tell you this. You will not know for sure until the end!




    So if you are ready to read a book that will transport you to the friendly skies and rob you of sleep and peace, this is the book for you! It is a wild ride, and I seriously doubt you will regret it.




    I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are 100 percent mine, and I was not financially compensated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Dear Tom, This was a real nail-biter and had me chewing my fing

    Dear Tom,

    This was a real nail-biter and had me chewing my fingers all the way up to my elbows!! Very professional, as you always were when I flew with you in the good old days with the airline. I look forward to future books, and highly recommend this one to all readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    Liked it a lot.

    Will look for some more books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2012

    Loved this book!

    I really enjoyed this book. I not only thought it was extremely well written, it was also packed with adventure, intrigue, and really kept my interest. It ws one of those books where you hate to put it down because you have to know what happens next. There was always something going on and the drama was never ending.

    I will be honest, I have never been on an airplane before. And this fact about me added to the intrigue of this book. It scared me but not in a bad way. It was thrilling, exhilarating even. I can imagine being one of the characters in the book. Wondering what I would have done. Would I have made the same choices as some of the characters in the book? That is really what makes a great story. When you can put yourself in the story. That is awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    A ROLLER COASTER RIDE ABOVE THE CLOUDS. From page one Thomas Blo

    A ROLLER COASTER RIDE ABOVE THE CLOUDS. From page one Thomas Block had
    be hanging on to my seat. This book will do to AIRLINE travel as Jaws
    did to summers at the BEACH. If you ever want to take a commerical
    airline again...beware this book is not for you! One of the best books I
    have read in a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2012

    I don't get to read a lot of books, and I usually can tell if it

    I don't get to read a lot of books, and I usually can tell if its a book I can get into if I don't have to re-read the first page over and over trying to find a reason to read more. This book captivated me for the journey from the very first page! Captain is engaging and takes you into real life situations in a cockpit.You will feel like you are in the Captain Jack's seat as you read this book. I could not put this book down, I was on the edge of my seat through most a lot of it. Anticipating every page and every chapter, I would highly recommend this very suspenseful novel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Being retired from 32 years of flying, both military and commerc

    Being retired from 32 years of flying, both military and commercially, I enjoy reading anything having to do with aviation, whether fiction or non-fiction. Through the years, I have read all of Tom Block’s books, and his latest book “Captain” is his best to date. Having the creative ability to combine all the technical aspects of normal and abnormal procedures in airline flying, with an acute insight for developing a diverse group of characters and their relationships make “Captain” a great read for anyone.

    You feel like you are part of the crew and when the routine changes, you want to help the situation any way you can. An abnormal situation can change the profile of any type of flight at any time. Crew (and passenger) decisions, either “by the book,” or otherwise will ultimately affect the outcome.

    “Captain” is an intriguing and compelling story that captures your interest immediately and is hard to put down, once you start reading.

    JD Councilman

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1