Customer Reviews for

Captain Jack's Woman (Bastion Club Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    BOORING

    Yet another booring book by ms. Lautens. Whats up......Most of the books in THE BASTION CLUB series we down write booring. Stories very weak and booring. No real love felt between who were to be lovers, booring people. Save your $7.99 and find a good book for less, and there are alot of them a whole lot better than these. Last book I will by of ms. laurens......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2013

    5 stars for the entire series

    5 stars for the entire series I thoroughly enjoyed the entire series especially as read in book sequence without interruption. This is the beauty of coming late to a series - no waiting months for the next book. Highly satisfying and totally entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Perhaps I'm missing greatness here, but I just couldn't finish it.

    I couldn't finish it. I got to page 80 on my e-reader and couldn't get any further. The story just was not engaging for me. Maybe because so much of it was narration, which I don't mind as a tool to move the story along, but as the main style of story telling it loses me. So, I found myself on page 80 skimming along, not really caring if these two characters ever actually figure each others true identities out, ever fell in love, or got caught smuggling. I didn't care what happened to them. A part of my problem is that I have read and loved historical romances by Kathleen E. Woodwiss, Julie Garwood, and even more recently Lisa Kleypas and Elizabeth Hoyt. I've seen this style of tale (i.e. mistaken identities, historical espionage, girl disguised as boy, hero pretending to be someone else, heorine in an out-law role) done so well by Woodwiss and Garwood that it's hard to settle for anything else than a fully engaging story with dynamic characters.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2009

    I really liked this book!

    I have just recently became a Stephanie Laurens fan and I've read all of the Cynsters series (all that are out anyway) and heard that she is going to bring the first 6 couples of each series together around the end of the year. So I thought I should read the Bastion Club series to get caught up. I loved the story line and cast of this first book. If this is how they all are I will enjoy the ride!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2005

    A Dazzling Tale

    Although I haven't yet read any other books by Stephanie Laurens, this one surpassed my expectations. With an amiable cast of characters, interesting and well developed plot and enough romantic interludes to melt the ice in the most frosty of freezers, Captain Jack's Woman left little to be desired. Its only annoying, yet laughable, quality was that every time our heroine, Kit, tried to have a serious discussion with Jack, they generally ended up in flagrante delicto, often leaving me to wonder if she'd ever manage to utter a complete sentence without Jack's lusty interference. Nevertheless, I doubt that you'd find me complaining much (or writing reviews of romance novels) if I were fortuitous enough to be in her position(s).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2003

    Excellent...on the '.Definite Must Read.' list...

    Stephanie Laurens is an unbeatable author... While her Cynster Series was, by far, the best I've read , this book is worth reading also..'Kit'(Kathryn) & Jack are perfect foils...With adventure, Romance, a touch of comedy, their story is entertaining, and well-paced and holds your interest. (Which to me is VERY important.. I cannot tell you how many books I have partially read, found lacking but maybe worth a second try, and marked to come back to...and never did..) This book holds your attention, right from the beginning, and I definitely recommend it...In fact I recommend any book with Stephanie Laurens listed on the cover !! ^2-thumbs up^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2003

    So where's the sequel?

    I am a NEW avid fan of Ms. Laurens. After the first set (The Cynster Series) I learned to always order her works in sets. I am very impatient and want to keep reading. Capt. Jack's Woman was so much a page turner I read it in one sitting and was sorry it ended. This would be a good series. I am a retired law enforcement officer and like action in all my reading whether it is fiction or non-fiction. If you haven't read it...you are missing some good reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2002

    FANTASTIC STORY

    Captain Jack is a hero to die for. Gorgeous, strong and sensual! This book has a great story line, a roller coster ride into mystery, passion, secrets and adventure! It's a must have for any book collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3