Customer Reviews for

Captain No Beard: An Imaginary Tale of a Pirate's Life

Average Rating 5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    A true five star pirate adventure story!

    Being an author, folks are always asking me to suggest a book I like for their children and grandchildren. Frankly I find most kids today so jaded by their electronic world they yawn at many a books. I have gotten this reaction even to some of the classics we loved as kids. It seems you need a pyrotechnic crew to get a positive response. Given this fact I am careful when making suggestions. Here comes the exception. A fun, charmingly illustrated, romp into a mystical pirate world. It is sure to ignite a child’s imagination. Its one of those books that makes it fun to be a child...or a parent. And you sure better like it …because your child will be having you read it over and over gain. I bought this book for my nephew and now his parents tell me tonight is the eighth night he wanted it read. Fact is, he is now insisting they change the name of the family dog to Rabbit (the floppy frog Captain No Beard). In short, it’s a truly fun adventure as you watch Captain No Beard renovate (magically) the family bed into a pirate craft and head off on a fearless voyage.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    After reading the book, we spent the entire day "swabbing t

    After reading the book, we spent the entire day "swabbing the decks" and looking for treasure much to my son's delight. Even my daughter got into the act as "First Mate." A charming voyage into the imagination that kept my children engaged and interested in something other than tv or video games.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2012

    This is a terrific book for a young child. My three year old nep

    This is a terrific book for a young child. My three year old nephew loved it and I, in turn, loved reading it to him. It was a joyous experience for the both of us. I highly recommend this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    "Captain No Beard: An Imaginary Tale of a Pirate's Life&quo

    "Captain No Beard: An Imaginary Tale of a Pirate's Life" by Carole P. Roman is the introductory book in the Captain No Beard Series. It introduces the main characters—animal and human alike. Those familiar with Roman’s books will notice a slightly different style of art in this book. It looks less like watercolor paint and more like marker. However, the art is still detailed and nice. One picture is even repeated twice in the book. This book has good literary lessons for children. Besides using alliteration, there is a scene where the characters look up a word in the dictionary and appear to be having fun doing so. In terms of teaching kids the value of chores, there is also a part in the story where the “crew” works together to clean the pirate ship. Towards the end of the book, there is a part where the children eat cookies before dinner. How early before dinner is not specified, but I can only hope is it in the afternoon during some sort of snack time as opposed to directly before supper.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2013

    Shiver Me Timbers! What a fun and delightful book! Fantastic sto

    Shiver Me Timbers! What a fun and delightful book! Fantastic story line, wonderful characters, and morals to boot! I am a intermediate school teacher and I read this out loud to my 4th graders. They were enchanted! Although the target audience is for a much younger crowd, my 9 and 10 year old students enjoyed the book and borrowed it to read to themselves and in groups. The interactions between Captain No Beard and his crew are fun, respectful, and delightful! Can't wait to read more Captain No Beard books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    My daughters LOVED this book. I have a beginning reader in my ho

    My daughters LOVED this book. I have a beginning reader in my home who is enjoying reading it on her own now. However, when we read as a family storytime I did not get one complaint of boredom from my normally antsy children! It held their attention and inspired them to play for hours around a similar theme. My daughters have always loved pirates and what better for K-1st grade then a ships captain with a crew of whimsical animal pirates? I can't wait to see more like this! ~AmmoL

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    I liked this book and thought it was very cute and had a great s

    I liked this book and thought it was very cute and had a great story line. However, my daughter LOVED this book and thought it was wonderful. She needed some help reading some words (she is only 5), but had a great time reading most of the words on her own. There were several times she asked me a question about the book, we turned the page and the characters in the book asked the same thing my daughter did, then they answered the question. We loved the captain's saying, "Being a captain is hard work." Somehow, although as an adult I could guess the ending, I thought the ending really made this a solid and lovely book. I actually read the ending a second time because I liked it so much! I later found my daughter (after reading it several times initially) had picked this book up (among her hundreds of others) and was reading it again to herself because she liked it so much. I was really impressed with this book and how much it related to my daughter. If you have any question if your little one will like this book, wonder no more they will LOVE it! I cannot wait to read more from this book series and author- it is a complete winner!!

    *note- I received this book for free to review, however the opinions stated in it are completely mine and have no bearing on getting the book to review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    About the Book: Captain No Beard and his pirate ship The Flying

    About the Book:

    Captain No Beard and his pirate ship The Flying Dragon set sail for a voyage of the imagination with his fearless crew of four: First Mate Hallie, Mongo the Monkey, Linus the loudmouthed lion, and Fribbit the floppy frog. Normally a young boy named Alexander, his cousin Hallie, and three stuffed animals, once they board his bed their world is transformed into a magical vessel, sailing the seven seas on dangerous and exciting adventures! Captain No Beard - An Imaginary Tale of a Pirate's Life named to Kirkus Reviews' BEST OF 2012 for Children's Indie Books, and garnered the star of remarkable merit! "Roman charms with an imaginative,whimsical picture book that will entertain even the oldest pirates." Kirkus Review
    About the Author:

    Carole P. Roman is a former teacher turned businesswoman. She has successfully run a family business with her husband that employs close to five hundred people. Her most favorite job is being grandmother to her many grandchildren. Roman has two wonderful sons and hit the jackpot in the daughter-in-law department. She currently lives on Long Island with her husband.

    Her first series, Captain No Beard has been lauded by the Kirkus Review and read by children around the world. Her next project is the book series I Want To Do Yoga, Too. She is currently working on a new educational series that explores different cultures from a child's point of view.

    My Review:

    Captain No Beard is a very fun, sweet picture book that is full of imagination and heart. Carole P. Roman did an excellent job of drawing us all in to Alexander's active imagination. I thought I was on his ship, the Flying Dragon, myself. It is a very well written book that gets to the heart of an active child's play. It was a fun book to read to my boys. Hallie, Alexander's first mate which also happens to be his cousin is just as spunky as Alexander.

    Everything is fun and games with this duo and their three sidekicks until a mermaid begins to surface A.K.A. Mom, and very nicely says they need to pick up their mess and of course have a snack. You don't have to be a fan of pirates to enjoy this book. It is just a fun, down to earth book anyone would enjoy.

    **Disclosure** This book was sent to me free of charge by the author for my honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2013

    Captain No Beard and his mates, Mongo, Linus, Fribbit and Hallie

    Captain No Beard and his mates, Mongo, Linus, Fribbit and Hallie are off on an adventure.  They are all aboard his ship, the Flying Dragon.  While Captain No Beard shouts orders to his crew, a bad storm blows in.  Prepared as always Captain No Beard takes it all in stride until he sees her.  It couldn't be! Could it?  They'll have to investigate.




         Carole P. Roman has a fantastic start to a series of books children of all ages will love. I especially enjoy the fact these books aren't for either boys or girls, they are for BOTH!  Full of fun and adventure, you'll be traveling back to your childhood with these wonderful books. Great stories with a message and writing that is superb.




         I found no issues with this one.




         I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it's about time we had some really great pirate adventures again!    ~Copy of book provided by author in exchange for a fair review~

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A fantastic read about imagination for young children about Capt

    A fantastic read about imagination for young children about Captain No Beard and his crew. My neighbor's son was totally captivated by this book and actually made me read it 3 times!  Great illustrations that kept his attention and wanted everything pointed out to him as we read the book.




    This review is based on a complimentary copy from the author which was provided for an honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    CAPTAIN NO BEARD: AN IMAGINARY TALE OF A PIRATE'S LIFE by Carole

    CAPTAIN NO BEARD: AN IMAGINARY TALE OF A PIRATE'S LIFE by Carole P. Roman is a wonderful Children's Book. First in the "A Captain No Beard story". "Based on Alexander and his cousins playtime". Has beautiful illustrations. What an imaginative way to help teach children, than with a whimsical and magical Captain No Beard,his pirate ship,and the crew of the Flying Dragon. Sail the seven seas with the crew,find a magical and exciting adventure aboard the Flying Dragon. Sure to delight young and old pirates alike. A wonderful way to show children how to play with others,the importance of getting along, and how to have a wondrous adventure. A fun and charming read for young and old alike. Received for an honest review from the author.
    RATING: 4
    HEAT RATING: NONE(CHILDREN'S BOOK)
    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction Reviews

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    If you use your imagination you could set sail on a ship the Fly

    If you use your imagination you could set sail on a ship the Flying Dragon.  At the helm is Captain No Beard and his First Mate Hallie.  They take their very special stuffed animals and  turn them into the crew on the ship. They are:  Mongo the monkey, Linus the loudmouthed lion, and Fribbet the floppy frog. The Captain could not have chosen a more dedicated crew.  The Captain had to make sure everything was in ship shape.  After all, being the Captain is hard work.




    The author has some imagination herself.  She takes the reader on an adventure at sea with a very colorful and funny, I mean fun, crew.  The story will teach the children what fun it is to use their imagination to create their own adventures.  It is also a great lesson in team work.




    I highly recommend this book.



    Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book from the author for review. I was not compensated for this review. It is my honest opinion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Captain No Beard by Carole P Roman is a new, vibrantly illustrat

    Captain No Beard by Carole P Roman is a new, vibrantly illustrated children's book based on the popular pirate theme. This inviting new book introduces children to the friendly pirate named Captain No Beard, and his frigate as well as the host of friendly talking animals. Basically this is the perfect introduction to childrens pirate literature - like pirate literature 101 complete with the typical pirate talk and pirate cliches with explanations as well. There is a pirate reference on every page and even references to Davey Jones's locker and a mermaid appearance and treasure too. The ending presents a suprise twist that kids will enjoy. There is a hint to this in the subtitle of the book. Personally i feel the subtitle gives away a little too much as to the unexpected ending. As a blogger I received this book from the author for the purpose of writing this review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Captain No Beard and his pirate ship The Flying Dragon set sail

    Captain No Beard and his pirate ship The Flying Dragon set sail for a voyage of the imagination with his fearless crew of four: First Mate Hallie, Mongo the Monkey, Linus the loudmouthed Lion, and Fribbet the floppy frog. Normally a young boy named Alexander, his cousin Hallie, and three stuffed animals, once they board his bed their world is transformed into a magically vessel sailing the seven seas on dangerous and exciting adventures!

    Award winning author Carole P. Roman is a former teacher turned businesswoman. She has successfully run a family business with her husband that employs close to five hundred people. Her most favorite job is being grandmother to her many grandchildren. She currently lives on Long Island with her husband.

    Her first book, Captain No Beard - An Imaginary Tale of a Pirate's Life has been named to Kirkus Reviews' Best of 2012 as well garnered the star of remarkable merit. Captain No Beard has developed in a series of 3 more books.

    I loved how the book was so adventurous. The words were easy to read, and easy for my five-year-old to follow. I will definitely be keeping this book, not only to read again to my daughter, but for our baby boy to enjoy once he arrives. Plus, who wouldn't want to read about pirates!?

    My daughter loved this book, she has already asked to read it again! The pages are so colorful, and the story kept her wanting to turn the page. She now has new saying aboard her vocabulary: "Shiver Me Timbers" Disclosure: I received this book for free from the author. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    I read this book to my daughter and she loved it! The illustrat

    I read this book to my daughter and she loved it! The illustrations where colorful and story sends a nice message about leadership and making decisions.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Loved this book. It was more a a story than what's out there fo

    Loved this book. It was more a a story than what's out there for this age group. I enjoyed reading it with my grandchildren.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2014

    We received this book to give an honest review. There is just so

    We received this book to give an honest review.
    There is just something about Captain No Beard and his crew that we love.
    K loves pirates and so reading about the adventures that Captain No Beard has is fun for him.
    I really enjoyed how some pirate talk was in this book, in the others that we have read there haven't been as much besides the word "Aye". In this one we get Shiver me timbers and we find out what that means. And Swab the Deck! I started telling K to swab the deck and he looked me like I was crazy. The illustrations within the story are just so awesomely done and it fits the story perfectly. K loved the whole book and asked me to read it again. I loved the ending and how they saw a 'mermaid' with treasure. Great story to read, I highly recommend this. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Charming Tale

    Captain No Beard, his first mate and cousin Hallie, and their zany crew sail the mighty seas on his frigate, the Flying Dragon. Each morning the captain gives out the daily orders to his crew. During one adventure the captain and his crew sailed into a massive storm where the first mate was almost washed overboard. Then a mermaid appeared with a bounty of treasure and the crew ended the day with a pirate’s feast. Author Carole P. Roman does a wonderful job taking youngsters through an imaginary day in the life of a pirate. Filled with pirate lingo, CAPTAIN NO BEARD will delight youngsters of all ages on this fanciful journey. The beautiful and vivid illustrations will hold readers’ attention. The cheerful and bold drawings brings the tale to life. This charming tale will entertain and inspire youngsters to undertake their own imaginary voyages. A fun read, colorful drawings, and a rich imagination will make this a favorite at story time. FTC Full Disclosure - This book was sent to me by the author in hopes I would review it. However, receiving the complimentary copy did not influence my review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    I just got done reading Captain No Beard An Imaginary Tale of a

    I just got done reading Captain No Beard An Imaginary Tale of a Pirates Life. This is definitely a new favorite for my 6 and 9 year old pirates. They just loved all of the animals (mongo the monkey my daughters favorite and Fribbit the floppy frog my sons favorite). Of course they loved hearing "shiver me timbers" as that is their favorite line when they play pirates together. This books spawns so much creativity and imagination from the young and old. It was so much fun to each act out the characters and really felt like we were in the book. My son's has also found a new favorite line to go along with his "shiver me timbers" and that is "Being a captain is hard work". The illustrations that are in this book go great with the story line and were done in such great detail and my daughter now wants to try her hand at making pirate pictures. If you have little pirate lovers in your home this book is a must.

    I received this book for free to give an honest review. All words I wrote are honest and are the opinions of my children and I.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1