Customer Reviews for

Captain Underpants and the Attack of the Talking Toilets

Average Rating 4
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Children, come as you are. Adults, come with an open mind.

Most of my reading stays in crime-noir (mainly Ellroy), political satire (Primary Colors and American Hero are favorites) and other stuff I probably shouldn't be reading (Chuck Palahniuk), but over the Christmas holidays, I spent some time with my 8 year old cousin, and...
Most of my reading stays in crime-noir (mainly Ellroy), political satire (Primary Colors and American Hero are favorites) and other stuff I probably shouldn't be reading (Chuck Palahniuk), but over the Christmas holidays, I spent some time with my 8 year old cousin, and she showed me her Captain Underpants book, I'll just say I found another set of books I shouldn't be reading. But it is a nice relief to know I shouldn't be reading it because of all the enjoyment I get out of the childish humor. Think of Toy Story and it's sequel. Why did they have such success? Simply because they appealed to adults as well as to children. Captain Underpants follows in this same fashion. I found myself lost in the silly humor and cheesy animation (Adding your own sound effects is much more fun than you'd imagine). Children will love this because it speaks to them. Adults, give it an open mind, and you'll enjoy it as well.

posted by Anonymous on January 15, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good

The drawings were kind of fun and help conveys the humor.

posted by SleepDreamWrite on September 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Appropriate & Gets your attention

    5 yr old Grandson can't read yet but by looking at the pics he uses his imagination to make up his own story. He loves the characters and just looks at the book many many times even sleeps with this series

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2000

    it was an amazing book it was the best book in the world captain underpants

    it was agreat book i like captain underpnts.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2000

    Children, come as you are. Adults, come with an open mind.

    Most of my reading stays in crime-noir (mainly Ellroy), political satire (Primary Colors and American Hero are favorites) and other stuff I probably shouldn't be reading (Chuck Palahniuk), but over the Christmas holidays, I spent some time with my 8 year old cousin, and she showed me her Captain Underpants book, I'll just say I found another set of books I shouldn't be reading. But it is a nice relief to know I shouldn't be reading it because of all the enjoyment I get out of the childish humor. Think of Toy Story and it's sequel. Why did they have such success? Simply because they appealed to adults as well as to children. Captain Underpants follows in this same fashion. I found myself lost in the silly humor and cheesy animation (Adding your own sound effects is much more fun than you'd imagine). Children will love this because it speaks to them. Adults, give it an open mind, and you'll enjoy it as well.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2013

    Good

    The drawings were kind of fun and help conveys the humor.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    I love it anyway!!!!!!

    I love this this book even that I broke it!!!!!!! I am on the book of Captain Underpants And the invasion of the incredibly naughty cafeteria ladies from outer space (and the subsequent assault of the equally evil lunchroom zombie nerds). I just can't hate captain underpants because it is so funny!!!!!!! I just can't stop loving captain underpants atall!!!!!!!!!!! I am just never going to stop loving it until I hate it and that will never even happen because it is hilarious!!!!!!!!!!! I can not stop wanting to read the whole entire captain underpants seires attall!!!!!!!!!!! I would love to read this whole seiries by the first of january in 2013!!!!!!!!!! But if we finish the seiries before 2013 it would be great.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Captain Underpant strikes again.

    We bought this for our 6-year-old son and read it aloud to him at bedtime. He loves the gross-out potty humor, which is pretty age approriate. The storyline is imaginative with lots of action. George and Harold aren't the best role models for kids - they're sneaky and misbehave a lot. But, we just have to laugh when Captain Underpants takes off - tra la laaaa!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Worth the read.

    My daughter loved this book. She laughed through out the entire story, there was never a dull moment. The captions and comics drew her in and it was a hilarious story. We didn't read the first adventure before this, but are now going back and reading them.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Really Funny! and love the illustrations

    Easy to read and light hearted!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    i love this book im 14 years old and everyday that i am down i r

    i love this book
    im 14 years old and everyday that i am down i read this book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great airplane entertainment!

    This was a short funny book that kept my daughter entertained during a recent trip.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Kids loved it.

    Nothing like bathroom humor for the 3 to 8 year old age group!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    SO MUCH FUN!

    The Captain Underpants books are so much fun. I bought this for my son when he was young, and loved it as much as he did. I'm now buying it for my nephew and look forward to reading it with him!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    great book

    blah balh blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blahh blah blah blah blah blah bkah blah ur gay if u read this

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2000

    CCCOOOOOLLLLLL!!!!!

    Very funny!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2000

    Captain Underpants

    I think this book is good but it was'nt as interesting as the other Captain Underpants books. It did not have as good of characters,like the naughty lunch ladies, or Profesor PoopyPants.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Jff

    Love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun series

    Parents who aren't already on the Captain Underpants bandwagon are missing out. These books are fun, funny and most of all they get kids engaged with real books, not just game screens.

    Harold and George are best friends and a pair of truly mischievous kids. In the first book they kinda sorta accidentally brainwashed their mean principal into becoming Captain Underpants, the comic superhero they created. In this book Principal Krupp (Captain Underpants' alter ego) is holding the second annual Invention Convention, and after George and Harold ruined the last one with a new body heat activated, super fast drying glue he's declared them not invited. Upset George and Harold break into the gym and prank all the other inventions. However their mischievous actions (which unfortunately in this book have no redeeming qualities) cause a bunch of trouble when they accidentally misuse an invention which brings the bad guys from their latest comic to life.
    The book is fun, well illustrated and beyond wacky. The collectors edition includes a cd with music videos, games and other fun side features (a must have for real fans, and also an extra way to engage those tough to reach kids. My son is autistic and he cannot get enough of this series and even asks to go to the bookstore to get the next in the series as we finish each one.)
    Highly recommended, despite the fact that Harold and George are at times jerks, because of how it reached kids.

    Contains: crude jokes & naughtiness

    Recommended for: 6 & up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2010

    Potty Humor at its best...

    My 7 year old loves Captain Underpants books. In the world of George and Harold things are as you might expect; the school principal is mean, cafeteria food is horrible, and kids get into trouble for doing stupid things. But don't be fooled. There are some seriously good vocabulary words in here. Any 7 year old kid that can read "Invention Convention Detention Suspension" is learning something. The story is funny, good triumphs over evil, and the world is saved from talking toilets. Thank goodness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    FLAPJACKS

    Captain Underpants and the Attack of the Talking Toilets is a great read for anyone. It's about these two boys named George and Harold and they always end up getting in trouble by doing something with some invention from the school nerd, Melvin Sneedley. This time Melvin makes a machine that turns pictures into real and he submits it into the Invention Convention, a contest to see which student could come up with the best invention. The winner could be principle for a day but George and Harold are not allowed to enter. So they messed up everyone's machines except for Melvin's. Instead they gave him a deal since he caught them in the gym. They said they wouldn't mess with Melvin's machine as long as he promised not to tell on them. But he told anyway after the convention and they ended up going to detention. In detention, they make a comic about Captain Underpants and then they sneak out to make copies to sell. Melvin's machine used to be a photocopier so they decided that it could still make copies. But they were wrong. Talking toilets poured out of the machine. Then one of the teachers snapped her finger and the principle, Mr. Krupp, turned into Captain Underpants and it was up to him to save the day. But the Turbo-Toilet-2000 eats Captain Underpants and the boys make a new hero, the Turbo-Plunger. The Turbo-Plunger defeats the Turbo-Toilet-200 and Captain Underpants along with all of the eaten teachers are saved. In this book, Dav Pilkey really tries to make it fun for the reader. He includes Flip-O-Ramas and lots of pictures. This book is great for kids but it's also good for adults. Dav succeeded in trying to entertain and this is a great book overall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Gateway to Reading - tremendous book for ages 4 - 7

    My son and his friends laughed like crazy at this book when they were 4. When he was 7 it was one of the first books he read to himself. He read one every night. After he finished the Captain Underwear books he moved on to the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series, and then to Judy Moody. The Captain Underwear books were a great Gateway to Reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3