BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Captain Underpants and the Perilous Plot of Professor Poopypants

Average Rating 4.5
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fun series

In the last book Mr. Krupp, the grumpy principal who students George and Harold accidentally hypnotized into believing he was a comic book superhero got real life super powers after tangling with a trio of evil aliens. Those powers are going to come in handy because in ...
In the last book Mr. Krupp, the grumpy principal who students George and Harold accidentally hypnotized into believing he was a comic book superhero got real life super powers after tangling with a trio of evil aliens. Those powers are going to come in handy because in this book George, Harold and Captain Underpants are going to have to defeat a crazy scientist who's mad because everyone keeps making fun of his name.

The Captain Underpants books are part comic, part story, all hilarious (and inappropriately so, as George and Harold point out, making fun of their own franchise, and meta-storytelling.) They're a series of fun books and increasingly George and Harold are shaping up to be real heroic good guys, capable sidekicks to Captain Underpants' outrageous, goofy goodness.

Recommended for: 7- 12 yr olds

posted by MicheleLeesBookLove on April 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Book to read... check it out!!!

I am reading Captain Underpants and the Perilous Plot of professor Poopypants by Dav Pilkey. I think the book was pretty good. The main characters are George, Harold, Mr. Krupp, and Mr. Poopypants. I have never felt nor done anything George and Harold did. The thing I w...
I am reading Captain Underpants and the Perilous Plot of professor Poopypants by Dav Pilkey. I think the book was pretty good. The main characters are George, Harold, Mr. Krupp, and Mr. Poopypants. I have never felt nor done anything George and Harold did. The thing I would change is that Mr. Krupp was nice to George and Harold.
I would recommend this book because it is a very creative book. I really liked it, so if u get a chance, check it out. It's a really good and funny book.

posted by Desire- on February 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun series

    In the last book Mr. Krupp, the grumpy principal who students George and Harold accidentally hypnotized into believing he was a comic book superhero got real life super powers after tangling with a trio of evil aliens. Those powers are going to come in handy because in this book George, Harold and Captain Underpants are going to have to defeat a crazy scientist who's mad because everyone keeps making fun of his name.

    The Captain Underpants books are part comic, part story, all hilarious (and inappropriately so, as George and Harold point out, making fun of their own franchise, and meta-storytelling.) They're a series of fun books and increasingly George and Harold are shaping up to be real heroic good guys, capable sidekicks to Captain Underpants' outrageous, goofy goodness.

    Recommended for: 7- 12 yr olds

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2012

    Recommended

    My granddaughter who is 8 and is reading at 4th grade level is loving these Captain Underpants books. Her teacher recommended them as fun books for her. They are silly and fun to read and she can't wait to see what is happening next. Give the kids something they like and they will continue to love to read!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    A perfect description of what's inside!

    This is my son's favorite book. We read it over and over. It's funny and crazy and perfect for kids between the ages of 5-7. I love the happy ending with a good moral!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Funny and great for kids

    My son enjoys all the Captain Underpants books and this is no exception. I enjoy them also. The humor is cute enough for kids and also for adults.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    my grandson loved the title

    I uses it to get my grandson interested in reading and following along with a storyline. At age 6 this bathroom humor relates to him.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Grandson loved this book

    Clerks were very helpful

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Gift for Kindergartner, requested.

    This was a birthday gift for a kindergartner. His Mom said he loves these books. I heard similar feed back from other Mom's, as well. Great for early grade school age.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    Great Book to read... check it out!!!

    I am reading Captain Underpants and the Perilous Plot of professor Poopypants by Dav Pilkey. I think the book was pretty good. The main characters are George, Harold, Mr. Krupp, and Mr. Poopypants. I have never felt nor done anything George and Harold did. The thing I would change is that Mr. Krupp was nice to George and Harold.
    I would recommend this book because it is a very creative book. I really liked it, so if u get a chance, check it out. It's a really good and funny book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2010

    Cute Book

    My daughter read her first book in this series at school and just loved it! After that she wants to own the entire series for home. It's a cute book for kids.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    really funney

    It is a good book to read

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Jshndudhhs

    GREAT FOR KIDS

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    cool book

    this was the first book in the siries I ever read and i half to say i am hooked so get this book and read away you might love it too

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2008

    TRA-LA-LA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Here is another great book from the Captain Underpants series! Nothing can beat it. When I read Captain Underpants books I know just what wil lhappen! I really like to rread about how funny everyone is. And how Captain underpants gets scared sometimes even when he is a superhero! For all hilarious kids I reccommeend Captain Underpants. The weirdo boys in my class (my friends) read them and they are such fans! They know all trivia questions about him! It makes my ears pop just hearing them! All kids read them!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2008

    awesome books

    dear dav, I love all your books but, Captain Underpants and the Perilous Plot of Professor Poopypants was the best!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2008

    great captain underpants book

    Captain Underpants Sierra Miles Captain Underpants and the Perilous Plot of Professor Poppy pants is written by Dav Pilkey. The main Characters are Professor Poppy pants, Captain Underpants, George, and Harold. Professor Poppy pants is a mad scientist who wants to take over the world. Captain Underpants saves the world. George is the planning one. Harold is the smart one. George and Harold have Super power juice, and their principal gets a hold of it, and drinks it all, And the he becomes Captain Underpants. So think if you ever get a hold of Super power juice. Don¿t bring it around your principal at all times. I think of it as an n action book I¿m kind of in to action, but not that much. So if you like action books this is your kind of book. The End

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2007

    student review- the book was really funny

    This book is great for children it increase there imagination. Also it is very funny and if your child has a problem with calling names this is probably not a good book for them. This about two kids that tick off a very smart professor and he creates a giant robot to avenge his anger and attacks the city. I liked this book because it is very funny and it also has pictures.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2000

    Captain Underpants is a great book for anyone who doesn't like to read.

    My daughter didn't care for reading until her Aunt and Uncle from NY sent her her first Captain Underpants book. She read the book in 4 days. We argued (in a fun way) about who was going to read at night. I loved reading Captain Underpants to her but she insisted on reading it herself and by herself. I was completely amazed. I'm going this weekend to buy her a few more Captain Underpants books. I highly recommend this book to any reader, especially those who don't like to read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2000

    Attention Parents! Getting kids to read is hard enough but maybe Captain underpants can help!

    Wow! What a book! My son is 10 yrs old and reading is not his thing. So as a mother with concern Iam always looking for some book to catch his attention. Captain Underpants has his attention now...finally! I haven't read the book yet but my son has. And I have heard a chapter summary of it everyday until it he finish it! And I found that the book had us both laughing up storm! So if your a parent trying to get your kids to read maybe this the book that will get their attention! Good Luck...I found the pot of BOOKS for my son!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2000

    Captain Underwear Captures 3 Year Old

    I have now read all the Captain Underpants books to my Grandsons; one was just 3 when we started. He was absolutely enchanted!!! And I would always stop at the words: 'Captain Underpants' and he would say them. They loved Professor Poopypants the best and are using the charts and going around renaming everyone they know; I may be jailed soon for contributing to the deliquency of minors, but it sure is fun to see them laugh. It's also great to find books that really appeal to boys. Dav Pilkey knows what kids like and it's disgusting!!! (They love disgusting!)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2000

    Great Book For Child Who Has Difficulty Staying Focused!

    My 11 year old son is not a great reader and will only read for 'fun' if a book keeps his interest. Well, this book made him laugh and want to continue reading to find out what was next. Also, the author has a great sense of humor. He is getting ready to read more.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4