Customer Reviews for

Captain Underpants and the Perilous Plot of Professor Poopypants

Average Rating 4.5
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fun series

In the last book Mr. Krupp, the grumpy principal who students George and Harold accidentally hypnotized into believing he was a comic book superhero got real life super powers after tangling with a trio of evil aliens. Those powers are going to come in handy because in ...
In the last book Mr. Krupp, the grumpy principal who students George and Harold accidentally hypnotized into believing he was a comic book superhero got real life super powers after tangling with a trio of evil aliens. Those powers are going to come in handy because in this book George, Harold and Captain Underpants are going to have to defeat a crazy scientist who's mad because everyone keeps making fun of his name.

The Captain Underpants books are part comic, part story, all hilarious (and inappropriately so, as George and Harold point out, making fun of their own franchise, and meta-storytelling.) They're a series of fun books and increasingly George and Harold are shaping up to be real heroic good guys, capable sidekicks to Captain Underpants' outrageous, goofy goodness.

Recommended for: 7- 12 yr olds

posted by MicheleLeesBookLove on April 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Book to read... check it out!!!

I am reading Captain Underpants and the Perilous Plot of professor Poopypants by Dav Pilkey. I think the book was pretty good. The main characters are George, Harold, Mr. Krupp, and Mr. Poopypants. I have never felt nor done anything George and Harold did. The thing I w...
I am reading Captain Underpants and the Perilous Plot of professor Poopypants by Dav Pilkey. I think the book was pretty good. The main characters are George, Harold, Mr. Krupp, and Mr. Poopypants. I have never felt nor done anything George and Harold did. The thing I would change is that Mr. Krupp was nice to George and Harold.
I would recommend this book because it is a very creative book. I really liked it, so if u get a chance, check it out. It's a really good and funny book.

posted by Desire- on February 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    A perfect description of what's inside!

    This is my son's favorite book. We read it over and over. It's funny and crazy and perfect for kids between the ages of 5-7. I love the happy ending with a good moral!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Gift for Kindergartner, requested.

    This was a birthday gift for a kindergartner. His Mom said he loves these books. I heard similar feed back from other Mom's, as well. Great for early grade school age.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2010

    Cute Book

    My daughter read her first book in this series at school and just loved it! After that she wants to own the entire series for home. It's a cute book for kids.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    really funney

    It is a good book to read

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Jshndudhhs

    GREAT FOR KIDS

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2008

    awesome books

    dear dav, I love all your books but, Captain Underpants and the Perilous Plot of Professor Poopypants was the best!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2007

    student review- the book was really funny

    This book is great for children it increase there imagination. Also it is very funny and if your child has a problem with calling names this is probably not a good book for them. This about two kids that tick off a very smart professor and he creates a giant robot to avenge his anger and attacks the city. I liked this book because it is very funny and it also has pictures.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2000

    Captain Underpants is a great book for anyone who doesn't like to read.

    My daughter didn't care for reading until her Aunt and Uncle from NY sent her her first Captain Underpants book. She read the book in 4 days. We argued (in a fun way) about who was going to read at night. I loved reading Captain Underpants to her but she insisted on reading it herself and by herself. I was completely amazed. I'm going this weekend to buy her a few more Captain Underpants books. I highly recommend this book to any reader, especially those who don't like to read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2000

    Attention Parents! Getting kids to read is hard enough but maybe Captain underpants can help!

    Wow! What a book! My son is 10 yrs old and reading is not his thing. So as a mother with concern Iam always looking for some book to catch his attention. Captain Underpants has his attention now...finally! I haven't read the book yet but my son has. And I have heard a chapter summary of it everyday until it he finish it! And I found that the book had us both laughing up storm! So if your a parent trying to get your kids to read maybe this the book that will get their attention! Good Luck...I found the pot of BOOKS for my son!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2000

    Captain Underwear Captures 3 Year Old

    I have now read all the Captain Underpants books to my Grandsons; one was just 3 when we started. He was absolutely enchanted!!! And I would always stop at the words: 'Captain Underpants' and he would say them. They loved Professor Poopypants the best and are using the charts and going around renaming everyone they know; I may be jailed soon for contributing to the deliquency of minors, but it sure is fun to see them laugh. It's also great to find books that really appeal to boys. Dav Pilkey knows what kids like and it's disgusting!!! (They love disgusting!)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2000

    Great Book For Child Who Has Difficulty Staying Focused!

    My 11 year old son is not a great reader and will only read for 'fun' if a book keeps his interest. Well, this book made him laugh and want to continue reading to find out what was next. Also, the author has a great sense of humor. He is getting ready to read more.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2000

    'Smashing new book'

    This book gets 5 stars because I think its one of the best books yet.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2000

    The Greatest Book Ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This fourth installment in the Captain Underpants series may be the best yet. If you know a child between the ages of 8 and 11, they will find this hilarious. I challenge any adult (with a good sense of humor) to read two pages and not laugh out loud!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    go for it

    my son was laughing out loud while reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Captian underpants

    Last one is so sad:(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A book review by a 7-year-old boy from Sigapore

    It was very funny (especially Prefossor Pippy P. Poopypants). It was funnier than the first 3 books. The story's ideas were very good.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Series

    My oldest son has read all the books in this series, but this is his favorite. Original writing and illustrations set this book apart from the run of the mill books. Just hilarious!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2006

    Outrageously Funny

    Even though I'm a sophmore in high school, I find my self reading and re-reading this book over and over again. It makes me laugh out loud every single time and is truly a classic children's book for any age.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2003

    Captain Underpants is great

    My favorite characters in this book are George and Harold because they always get in trouble because of their silliness. They get into more trouble and have to go to detention.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2002

    This book is a great book!

    This book is about two people named Captain Underpants and Professor Pippy P. Poppypants. The other characters in this book were two boys named George,Herald,the teachers,and the other students. There were a fight between Captain Underpants and Professor Pippy P. Poppypants. Read the book and you'll find out what happens after that.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3