Customer Reviews for

The Captain of All Pleasures

Average Rating 4.5
( 165 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(95)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2007

    A bit of everything

    I admit wholeheartedly that Cole should have waited as long as she had to, hours, days, weeks, maybe even months until she came up with a better title. But do not judge a book by it¿s schmaltzy title. If you like your men big and dominant, if you like your women sassy and independent then this is the book for you. These characters are well rounded and you FEEL for them. You want them to get together. You want everything to work out. They make you angry, sad, happy¿you name it and this book delivers.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2006

    Great read

    I do believe I have now found another talented author to add to my growing list. I have read 3 stories from this author and have not been disappointed. I highly recommend this book and am looking forward to reading the story of Grant Sutherland.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Fresh classic! Keeper in your collection.

    I love historical romances AND I love Kresley Cole's paranormals, so when I discovered she wrote them too I chose this novel first. Years later, the scene of Derek tied to the bed and Nicole turning to leave him...but then turning back to him still plays out in my mind as a beautifully written scene to savor again. It's why we read romances, isn't it? You won't be diapponted in this story. Oh, if you haven't read Ms. Cole's paranormals yet...choose the wolf bros and the darkest demon...Malcom loves Carrow...sigh

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Surprising, yet not....

    I fell in love with Kresleys writing when I read her paranormal romances. I figured why not see how she started.....yeah still amazing some people are just born storytellers....I fell in love with the Sutherland brothers in this book.....had to grab and devour the 2nd book immediately.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    First book of Cole's that I read, and one of the few books that

    First book of Cole's that I read, and one of the few books that I own which I can literally read over and over again. The characters are well rounded, and, as typical of Cole, it features a strong female lead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2012

    Brilliant!

    No one captures a "predatory" gaze like Cole. The heat between the two leads jumps off the page. This book also very deftly adds a bit of humor into numerous scenes. Action, passion, adventure, a fiesty heroine and an arrogant yet protective rake...it's got it all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Good Read

    Good Read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Loved it!!!!!!!!!!!

    I absolutely love this book! There is a lot of wit that grabs your attention from beginning to end. I love the characters and felt like I really knew them. Would recommend this book to everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Anonymous

    Kresly cole is the best author ihave ever read and ihave read alot of books not only is her captain series interesting and steamy with great charecters and plotand romance but her immortals after dark series blew my mind im addicted to allof her books she is a truly talented author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    Awesome read!

    I first read Cole's Immortals series and loved it! I figured any other books she'd written would be just as good and i was right! Im usually not a fan of historical romances but this one was actually really good and it held my attention from beginning to end. Cant wait for more and more books from Mrs. Cole!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    highly recommended

    great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!!

    DO NOT pass up any series writen by Kresley Cole. If you like vampires and demons and SEX then she is your writer. Once you start you won't be able to stop.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2008

    Great !

    This book was very well written. And kept me entertained the whole book. All of my friends make ffun of me because of the cheesyness of the books. I let one of them read this one and she finished this one in a few days. She loved it as well. I hope and can't wait until she puts out more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2004

    A DON'T MISS READ

    STILL BLUSHING AFTER THE READ. THIS BOOK IS A KEEPER AND WILL BE READ AGAIN AND OFTEN. READ THE BOOKS IN ORDER (PRICE OF ALL PLEASURES) THE TWO BROTHERS INTERACT IN BOTH BOOKS. IT IS A SHAME THE NEXT BOOK WON'T BE OUT FOR A WHILE--WHAT WILL I DO IN THE MEANTIME?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2003

    The Captain of All Pleasures by Kresley Cole **Watch this star rise!

    Make a good-sized space on your keeper shelf for this sensational new author because she¿s only just begun! Kresley Cole¿s first release ¿The Captain of all Pleasures¿ packs adventure, suspense, passion and sensuality into this high sea adventure. Not only are the main characters strong, real and larger than life, but Kresley has the gift of character development that gives the reader an up close and personal view without stifling you with repetition of the mundane. Kresley keeps it fresh and suspenseful providing a great escape for the romantic adventurer inside of us all. Ballston Book House Review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Grand debut

    In support of the concept that the ¿Sun never sets on the English Empire¿, in 1854 Queen Victoria sponsors the Great Circle Race, a sailing contest open to all nationalities that will start in London and finish in Sydney. Two years later just before the start of the race, Team Lassiter is struck a terrible blow when its captain Jason Lassiter is incarcerated after a tavern brawl in London. However, his daughter Nicole, raised on the sea, takes over as captain.<P> Derek Sutherland and his crew are amongst the challengers, but he is more desperate to win than most because victory is the only way to save his tottering shipping line. Derek and Nicole are attracted to one another, but neither trusts the other. Nicole believes that he is sabotaging her family¿s shipping business. Fate intervenes when Nicole¿s vessel is damaged in a storm and Derek rescues her. As they become lovers in love, they soon have an epiphany that a third party is behind the troubles destroying both their shipping lines.<P> Victorian England on the high seas is as vivid as can be pictured in this action-packed historical romance. The lead couple is a delight as they brawl, argue, and fight until they realize that they are in love. Though the intrigue subplot and the ¿disputes¿ between her father and her beloved add tension, it seems unnecessary as Jason and Nicole have so much baggage to go through anyway. Still readers will enjoy sailing with Kresley Cole at the helm.<P> Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2002

    This is a GREAT author

    This will be the most awaited book this year for me. I know the author and am familiar with her work and cannot wait to read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5