Customer Reviews for

Captivate (Need Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 514 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(288)

4 Star

(142)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A perfect second part!!!!!

This is the second time when i really understand that the authors can actually made a perfect "book 2" within how many books they are planning to write. I love "Need", i really enjoyed it, the new crazy topic, the strong character that Zara White is, everything. And Car...
This is the second time when i really understand that the authors can actually made a perfect "book 2" within how many books they are planning to write. I love "Need", i really enjoyed it, the new crazy topic, the strong character that Zara White is, everything. And Carrie definitely did not disappointed me, or anyone with "Captivate". You have to realize that it is between the first conflict and the final one, but the new characters, the new situation, the traumatic changes that Zara is going through, accepting was is intended to be, being strong by herself, everything has a reason to be, and what a perfect way of putting all the pieces just there, in our minds, pieces that are going to be accommodated in the following book, or books.
I loved it from the begginig to the end, i really think that Carrie Jones is creating a amazing strong female character, and a lovely group of people that touch your heart. I´m gonna be desperate until the next book comes out. But i wait, cuz it worth it!!
And if you don´t agree after you finish the book, you can always complian to me!

posted by Deby_Fray on March 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I hate this word but it's the only one I can think of that fits...cheesy!

Zara's and Nick's relationship was a little too over-the-top for me. All their conversations were cliche and I could not stop rolling my eyes. I think those in their early teens would really like this series. I had to force myself to keep reading and contemplated not fi...
Zara's and Nick's relationship was a little too over-the-top for me. All their conversations were cliche and I could not stop rolling my eyes. I think those in their early teens would really like this series. I had to force myself to keep reading and contemplated not finishing it several times. It irritated me to no end that they researched pixies on the internet. Just one example of the lack of creativity in this series. Not until the last 100 pages or so did it capture my attention which is why I rated this 3 stars instead of just 2. Overall this is probably one my least favorite book about faeries. I cannot in good conscience recommend this series.

posted by 1762549 on March 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 518 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 26
  • Posted March 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A perfect second part!!!!!

    This is the second time when i really understand that the authors can actually made a perfect "book 2" within how many books they are planning to write. I love "Need", i really enjoyed it, the new crazy topic, the strong character that Zara White is, everything. And Carrie definitely did not disappointed me, or anyone with "Captivate". You have to realize that it is between the first conflict and the final one, but the new characters, the new situation, the traumatic changes that Zara is going through, accepting was is intended to be, being strong by herself, everything has a reason to be, and what a perfect way of putting all the pieces just there, in our minds, pieces that are going to be accommodated in the following book, or books.
    I loved it from the begginig to the end, i really think that Carrie Jones is creating a amazing strong female character, and a lovely group of people that touch your heart. I´m gonna be desperate until the next book comes out. But i wait, cuz it worth it!!
    And if you don´t agree after you finish the book, you can always complian to me!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A book Worthy of its Captivating name!!!

    Captivate is a remarkable book, as a sequal to Need, I have to say the second surpassed the first, leaving me even more excited about what else is comimg up in the series. Romantic, suspensful, and captivating (pun-intended), Captivate is a must read sequal that takes readers more into the faerie realm introduced in the first book and into the minds of new and old characters leaving you needing (another intended pun) more!!!

    Zara, the spunky main character who has just recently lost her step-father, learned she is part faerie, and found out her real father is a faerie King that has been preying on little boys, is one of the many characters I fell back in love with after the months between reading Need and Captivate. In my opinion, Zara grew more as a character than anyone else in the book, and that made me love the book so much more. From the naive girl in the first book (remember- the girl who runs towards the unnatural voice in the woods in the middle of the night calling her name), to an incredibly strong leading character who isn't afraid of taking risks and plunging into danger for the sake of those she loves. Watch out Rose (Vampire Academy) Zara's now in the running for my favorite leading character!!!

    Nick, Issie, and Devyn also grow in this book. Issie is still the loveable best friend who would still do whatever it is to help her supernatural friends even if she isnt exactly sure what she is doing. I stilled loved Devyn, I jumped up and down when he finally got out of his wheelchair, but then sat immediately back down when I realized it wasn't Issie he was sharing this special moment with. I mean gosh, Devyn is the eptiome of how clueless guys really get. All through the book I was yelling at him "How can you do that to loveable Issie?". And Nick is still the overprotective "hero guy" he feels he needs to be throughout the book.

    Where do I start with this plot? So much is going on. Escapes, new Kings, a developing love triangle, transformations, discoveries, and so many near death experiences, and the new King Astley is at the center of it all. To be honest, I really didn't like him at all. Not only because he threatened my beloved Nick's place in Zara's heart, but because he seems so fake. Everything he said seemed to be totally ingenuine, and just for the sake of getting on Zara's good side. It was annoying. Every chapter brings a new faerie tip, and shocking gasps making you want to change pages even faster!!!

    The ending was the perfect setup for the next book. Though some might think it was just a way to guarantee readers buy the next book, I don't think of it like that at all. I am even more eager for the next book in this series than I was for the second, and I expect it to be just as great in every way!!!

    I Recommend: I recommend this book to all lovers of paranormal romances, lovers of the first book, fae, love triangles, and a book that you will definately not be able to put down!!!

    www.blackandblueink.blogspot.com

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow! Can't Wait!

    I read need right when it first came out. The cover had drawn me to it and I', soooo happy it did! The book really sucks you in. I love the relationships between the characters(especially between Nick and Zara.) I can not wait for captivate to come out! Carrie Jones is an excellent writer. Go out and by Need, so you can read Captivate!!!!! :D

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I hate this word but it's the only one I can think of that fits...cheesy!

    Zara's and Nick's relationship was a little too over-the-top for me. All their conversations were cliche and I could not stop rolling my eyes. I think those in their early teens would really like this series. I had to force myself to keep reading and contemplated not finishing it several times. It irritated me to no end that they researched pixies on the internet. Just one example of the lack of creativity in this series. Not until the last 100 pages or so did it capture my attention which is why I rated this 3 stars instead of just 2. Overall this is probably one my least favorite book about faeries. I cannot in good conscience recommend this series.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    Captivate was great

    Though I did love this book it was quite sad and I hate it when series leave you hanging and waiting for the next book.. but it was amazing

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing!

    this book was absoultey amazing. a very excellent sequel to need. what happens to nick will break your heart and make you wanna cry(it did me!) and what zara has to do is shocking. i loved it.
    i highly recommend it. and i can not wait for the 3rd :))

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    one good book

    Need is one of my favorite books. I cannot wait to see what happens between Zara and Nick. I love the suspense of what is going to happen next.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Good Sequel to Need

    As the second book in the series, I wasn't sure what to expect from Captivate. I enjoyed Need, the first in the series, and I was interested to see how Zara's story would progress now that her pixie king father was trapped in a house surrounded by an iron circle.

    One of the first things that I noticed was that each chapter was introduced differently than they had been in the previous book. In Need, each chapter started with a phobia, but in Captivate, each began with a pixie hint/tip, or a definition. In my opinion, this was the best indicator of how much Zara had grown over the course of the two books. She has a group of great friends, and she's become a person who deals with her problems head on. One of the reasons that I like Zara's character so much is because she isn't a damsel in distress. Sure, sometimes this characteristic gets her into trouble, but she isn't going to go home and relax on the couch while her family and friends are out fighting pixies.

    This book introduces a new character, Astley. He's another pixie king who has come to Maine, and he has a strange connection to Zara. I think that his character added a bit of romantic tension to the book, and also caused Zara to acknowledge her half-pixie side. I'll be looking forward to seeing whether Astley's true intentions are revealed in the next book, because I'm not sure I completely trust his character.

    I think I actually enjoyed reading Captivate more than I enjoyed Need. This is rare, because usually sequels don't live up to the high expectations I have. The action picked right back up, however, and it sucked me back in. Not only was it action packed, but it was fairly emotionally charged, too. Without giving too much away, toward the end of the book my heart broke for Zara. The only issue that I had with Captivate, is that the book ends with a big cliffhanger. I've found that cliffhangers are something that readers either love or hate (or a bit of both), so that's just a warning. I do think that the cliffhanger fit well with the story, though. Overall, I'll be eagerly anticipating the next book.

    I also love the cover, and I thought I should give some bonus points for that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Captivating - Towards the End

    I'm not exactly sure why - but whenever the story comes around to Zara and Nick the writing becomes overwhelmingly, unbearably corny! The first half of the book is a challenging obstacle with poor dialogue and tacky overuse of the pet name "baby". Zara, who is supposed to be the heroine of the book, lacks admirable characteristics - she is selfish, narrow-minded, immature, and a hypocrite - all of her focus and her main top priority is her boyfriend, Nick. There is no mention of concern on Zara's part about the safety of the people in their town, instead her constant thoughts and worries focus in the safety of her boyfriend which is repeatedly mentioned in the first half of the book. Let us not forget that Zara is supposed to be a major supporter of Amnesty International, yet to the contrary she is quick to judge, condemn and imprison an entire species that she knows little about. You would think that a person who would have the compassion to write letters in support of human rights would have a guiltier conscious and be more highly aware of oppression.

    The writing vastly improves when Nick leaves the scene which happens in the middle of the book. The chemistry and mystery of what's to come between Zara and Astley is captivating. To be more specific, Astley is captivating - Zara is tiresome. Astley is an intriguing character and was my only reason to continue reading. The book does end with a major cliffhanger which may irritate some readers - but it has effectively made this somewhat disappointed reader anticipate the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    a good one!!

    when i first read Need (1st book )
    i really thought i wasn't going to like it but boy was i wrong..it's one of my favorites i have read And trust me it a good one!
    if you like romance, pixies, and werewolves this book is for you
    i can't wait until Captivate comes out!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    AmaZING

    Amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Pixie's are not what you thought!

    Captivate is the 2nd book in the Need series. In this book we learn more about Zara's biological father as the group continues to fight evil pixies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Amazing part 2

    I enjoyed the dialouge but wish the action parts weren't so slow. The romance aspect was brilliant and kept my attention well

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2012

    This is an OK book, not the best or worst I have read. The chara

    This is an OK book, not the best or worst I have read. The characters are well developed and pretty typical of a lot of YA books. I am compelled to finish them and then want to read the next one as well.

    I am still disturbed by the way Pixies are viewed overall; I feel that Zara should be interested in using her heritage to get involved and change things for the better, especially with her involvement in Amnesty International. A lot of death might have been prevented.

    I am totally over Nick, he is so controlling and possessive I do not feel the chemistry between them. I feel Astley is a much better match for Zara, and she could have more power to change the world.

    It does not really end and left me feeling frustrated with Zara, I hope she grows up a bit in the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Sunpelt

    Im locked out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    AAAAA

    AAAAA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Must read

    READ!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Don't waste your money!!

    Luckily I had got this from the public library and didn't buy this I'm so glad now! I LOVED the first book but because of how it ended w.out a cliffhanger I got closure from that book like the ending of a series book would. So add that to the fact that the author writing the characters more immature than they were in the last book just made me really not want to read it. I was dragging through this book and finally finished and decided to get the third book "Entice" and was even more disappointed! The longer the series continues it seems like the characters get more immature and aren't learning from their mistakes as usual characters do. I do NOT recommend this book. Though i do recommend the first book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Re:TEAM ASTLEY

    This isnt twilight dont start teams over a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 518 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 26