Customer Reviews for

Captivate (Need Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 516 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(290)

4 Star

(142)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

A perfect second part!!!!!

This is the second time when i really understand that the authors can actually made a perfect "book 2" within how many books they are planning to write. I love "Need", i really enjoyed it, the new crazy topic, the strong character that Zara White is, everything. And Car...
This is the second time when i really understand that the authors can actually made a perfect "book 2" within how many books they are planning to write. I love "Need", i really enjoyed it, the new crazy topic, the strong character that Zara White is, everything. And Carrie definitely did not disappointed me, or anyone with "Captivate". You have to realize that it is between the first conflict and the final one, but the new characters, the new situation, the traumatic changes that Zara is going through, accepting was is intended to be, being strong by herself, everything has a reason to be, and what a perfect way of putting all the pieces just there, in our minds, pieces that are going to be accommodated in the following book, or books.
I loved it from the begginig to the end, i really think that Carrie Jones is creating a amazing strong female character, and a lovely group of people that touch your heart. I´m gonna be desperate until the next book comes out. But i wait, cuz it worth it!!
And if you don´t agree after you finish the book, you can always complian to me!

posted by Deby_Fray on March 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I hate this word but it's the only one I can think of that fits...cheesy!

Zara's and Nick's relationship was a little too over-the-top for me. All their conversations were cliche and I could not stop rolling my eyes. I think those in their early teens would really like this series. I had to force myself to keep reading and contemplated not fi...
Zara's and Nick's relationship was a little too over-the-top for me. All their conversations were cliche and I could not stop rolling my eyes. I think those in their early teens would really like this series. I had to force myself to keep reading and contemplated not finishing it several times. It irritated me to no end that they researched pixies on the internet. Just one example of the lack of creativity in this series. Not until the last 100 pages or so did it capture my attention which is why I rated this 3 stars instead of just 2. Overall this is probably one my least favorite book about faeries. I cannot in good conscience recommend this series.

posted by 1762549 on March 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 520 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 26
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Don't waste your money!!

    Luckily I had got this from the public library and didn't buy this I'm so glad now! I LOVED the first book but because of how it ended w.out a cliffhanger I got closure from that book like the ending of a series book would. So add that to the fact that the author writing the characters more immature than they were in the last book just made me really not want to read it. I was dragging through this book and finally finished and decided to get the third book "Entice" and was even more disappointed! The longer the series continues it seems like the characters get more immature and aren't learning from their mistakes as usual characters do. I do NOT recommend this book. Though i do recommend the first book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Re:TEAM ASTLEY

    This isnt twilight dont start teams over a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    TEAM ASTLEY!!!!!!!!!!

    One of the BEST book series I have ever read! Pixies are one of the many supernatural creatures that havent been written about. Its refreshing to read a supernatural story that isnt about vampires. Twilight is a desition between Edward ( a sparkley boy) or Jacob ( a warm fuzzy wolf). This series the choice is between Astley ( a sparkley boy) or Nick ( a warm fuzzy wolf).

    Please please PLEASE Zara end up with Astley. He is so much better for her than Nick!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    I love it

    People rate this book bad dont have any idea of wat they are talking about me my self hates to read but i could not but this down for one spil second i took the book to outback with me and even to the bath room

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    good book but really

    The first book was only 2 dollars now this one is10

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Awesome

    Excellent book. Can't wait to start the 3rd book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    awesome

    I read this book in one day. It was so good i chould not but it down. I read it in the car at my dads work my grandmas house outside i chould not stop until i finished it!!!!!! I whould recomend this book to anybody how read the first book Need.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    I NEED THIS TO SURVIVE

    BEEEEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSTTTTTTTTT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    A more brilliant sequel I have yet to read! This book brings ba

    A more brilliant sequel I have yet to read! This book brings back the loved characters from Need and throws in some new characters that are just as, if not easier to love! Carrie Jones writes the perfect cliff-hangers. And who doesn't love Norse Mythology!?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good follow-up

    Captivate picks up where Need left off with Zara having locked up all of the evil pixies in their house in the woods. Zara made a big mistake by not killing them, and the pixies are growing angrier each day they're trapped. This book was enjoyable, and I really loved the new character additions. The plot kept me reading, and I was invested in the story. Jones' writing was still a bit clumsy, though. I think some of the weird wording is supposed to be just how Zara talks, but some of it is just obnoxious. It pulls me out of the story. I kind of wonder what editor they could possibly be using in order to have phrases like the ones that are in this book. That aside, though, this is an excellent story.

    Zara and Nick's relationship has developed quickly, and they're kind of sickly sweet. I don't really like Nick in this book, and he seems to have forgotten Zara's name because he only calls her "baby." He's kind of obnoxious. Devyn isn't half as interesting as he was in the last book either, but he does play a bigger role in this story. Issie is still one of my favorites, and I still love Betty. We didn't get to see much of Betty, though. I'd like to know more about Mrs. Nix, but she remains a minor character. I LOVE the two new additions to the series, though, Cassidy and Astley. Astley is amazing! He's my favorite character in the entire series. Cassidy is also interesting, and I really like her. I have a feeling she's going to play a big part in the next book.

    The plot is pretty action-packed, and there is enough suspense to keep you interested. It's a bit of a roller coaster ride, and some parts are really sad. However, the book ends with hope, and that's all you can ask for. The pacing is spot on, and I wasn't bored at all. I never felt like the story dragged. As I mentioned, the wording was a bit clumsy, and I felt that many phrases were too wordy. That caused me to stumble over some phrases, but it still didn't slow down the pace of the story. The ending ties up a lot of loose ends, but still leaves some questions open for Endure. I didn't feel like it was a cliffhanger, but I am ready to see what happens next.

    Overall, I'd recommend this book to anyone who is a fan of faeries, pixies, and shifters. Things are getting really interesting up in Maine, and you do not want to miss out on the action!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    Excellent

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Omg such a good book

    Im not the type of person that likes books except after reading this book i startedreading alot more its sooooo awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    love

    a wonderful book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    OhMy.......!!!!

    As the second book in the series, it was so emotional! Another fabulouly written book by Jones!! The book had me reading into the wee hours of the morning. The story is written in just the right way that mamy times I was sitting with my nook crying! :) third book here i come

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Got to read it

    2nd book to the series. Love it :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Awsome

    Just wonderfull. I cried and laughed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    A great second book

    This book ended up being a sad one. Zara has some tough choices to make and isn't sure how her choices will end. This book kinda brought it a new love interest even if Zara doesn't seem to know it. This is definitely an interesting series on fairies and shift shapers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    A Definite (and Original) Read

    I was really shocked about how mich I liked this book. Normally in a series, the sequels are always a bit worse than its original, however, I actually liked this one more. In this book, the characters were more intersting and developed, and I liked them aot (except Nick, who got on my nerves sometimes). Alwo, the plot thickened, so I was drawn to this book and interested in it way more than I was with Need. Although sometimes the dialouge semmed forced (in rare cases) but I didn't mind since no one is perfect. What I really like about this series however, is that it is original!!! I have never seen a book with a premise like this one and I am sooooo glad I didn't stumble across any vampire themes. I really liked this book, liked all the characters, even tritary ones, and I think that this book was written really well and that the book leaves you withought a unnesccessary cliffhanger (but a reasonable sized one) and left enough room for a second book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Frustrating dialogue!

    Don't get me wrong, I really did like this book. A lot! I thought the first one was better, but this one was still pretty good. my only problem was that the dialogue is so unrealistic! This author is obviously an adult, because some of the actions and dialogue between the characters is stuff that no teen would say/do! Also the constant "babies" from Nick started to get on my nerve. I mean seriously. That one scene when Zara is lying in the snow he must have said it 15 times!

    However, if you can ignore the sketchy dialogue and annoying "babies", this is a pretty good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Captivate is the second installment in the need series by Carrie Jones and it does not disappoint.

    Our heroes are put to the test when a new threat turns up that is even worse than the pixies they have locked away. I really liked this book because each of the characters was able to be flushed out more and so was the world Carrie Jones created. Filled with even more secrets and heart pounding adventure than the first book, Captivate is a wonderful edition to this series and will have readers captivated from the very first page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 520 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 26