Customer Reviews for

Captivate (Need Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 516 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(290)

4 Star

(142)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

A perfect second part!!!!!

This is the second time when i really understand that the authors can actually made a perfect "book 2" within how many books they are planning to write. I love "Need", i really enjoyed it, the new crazy topic, the strong character that Zara White is, everything. And Car...
This is the second time when i really understand that the authors can actually made a perfect "book 2" within how many books they are planning to write. I love "Need", i really enjoyed it, the new crazy topic, the strong character that Zara White is, everything. And Carrie definitely did not disappointed me, or anyone with "Captivate". You have to realize that it is between the first conflict and the final one, but the new characters, the new situation, the traumatic changes that Zara is going through, accepting was is intended to be, being strong by herself, everything has a reason to be, and what a perfect way of putting all the pieces just there, in our minds, pieces that are going to be accommodated in the following book, or books.
I loved it from the begginig to the end, i really think that Carrie Jones is creating a amazing strong female character, and a lovely group of people that touch your heart. I´m gonna be desperate until the next book comes out. But i wait, cuz it worth it!!
And if you don´t agree after you finish the book, you can always complian to me!

posted by Deby_Fray on March 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I hate this word but it's the only one I can think of that fits...cheesy!

Zara's and Nick's relationship was a little too over-the-top for me. All their conversations were cliche and I could not stop rolling my eyes. I think those in their early teens would really like this series. I had to force myself to keep reading and contemplated not fi...
Zara's and Nick's relationship was a little too over-the-top for me. All their conversations were cliche and I could not stop rolling my eyes. I think those in their early teens would really like this series. I had to force myself to keep reading and contemplated not finishing it several times. It irritated me to no end that they researched pixies on the internet. Just one example of the lack of creativity in this series. Not until the last 100 pages or so did it capture my attention which is why I rated this 3 stars instead of just 2. Overall this is probably one my least favorite book about faeries. I cannot in good conscience recommend this series.

posted by 1762549 on March 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted June 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Good Sequel to Need

    As the second book in the series, I wasn't sure what to expect from Captivate. I enjoyed Need, the first in the series, and I was interested to see how Zara's story would progress now that her pixie king father was trapped in a house surrounded by an iron circle.

    One of the first things that I noticed was that each chapter was introduced differently than they had been in the previous book. In Need, each chapter started with a phobia, but in Captivate, each began with a pixie hint/tip, or a definition. In my opinion, this was the best indicator of how much Zara had grown over the course of the two books. She has a group of great friends, and she's become a person who deals with her problems head on. One of the reasons that I like Zara's character so much is because she isn't a damsel in distress. Sure, sometimes this characteristic gets her into trouble, but she isn't going to go home and relax on the couch while her family and friends are out fighting pixies.

    This book introduces a new character, Astley. He's another pixie king who has come to Maine, and he has a strange connection to Zara. I think that his character added a bit of romantic tension to the book, and also caused Zara to acknowledge her half-pixie side. I'll be looking forward to seeing whether Astley's true intentions are revealed in the next book, because I'm not sure I completely trust his character.

    I think I actually enjoyed reading Captivate more than I enjoyed Need. This is rare, because usually sequels don't live up to the high expectations I have. The action picked right back up, however, and it sucked me back in. Not only was it action packed, but it was fairly emotionally charged, too. Without giving too much away, toward the end of the book my heart broke for Zara. The only issue that I had with Captivate, is that the book ends with a big cliffhanger. I've found that cliffhangers are something that readers either love or hate (or a bit of both), so that's just a warning. I do think that the cliffhanger fit well with the story, though. Overall, I'll be eagerly anticipating the next book.

    I also love the cover, and I thought I should give some bonus points for that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Pixie's are not what you thought!

    Captivate is the 2nd book in the Need series. In this book we learn more about Zara's biological father as the group continues to fight evil pixies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Amazing part 2

    I enjoyed the dialouge but wish the action parts weren't so slow. The romance aspect was brilliant and kept my attention well

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    good book but really

    The first book was only 2 dollars now this one is10

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good follow-up

    Captivate picks up where Need left off with Zara having locked up all of the evil pixies in their house in the woods. Zara made a big mistake by not killing them, and the pixies are growing angrier each day they're trapped. This book was enjoyable, and I really loved the new character additions. The plot kept me reading, and I was invested in the story. Jones' writing was still a bit clumsy, though. I think some of the weird wording is supposed to be just how Zara talks, but some of it is just obnoxious. It pulls me out of the story. I kind of wonder what editor they could possibly be using in order to have phrases like the ones that are in this book. That aside, though, this is an excellent story.

    Zara and Nick's relationship has developed quickly, and they're kind of sickly sweet. I don't really like Nick in this book, and he seems to have forgotten Zara's name because he only calls her "baby." He's kind of obnoxious. Devyn isn't half as interesting as he was in the last book either, but he does play a bigger role in this story. Issie is still one of my favorites, and I still love Betty. We didn't get to see much of Betty, though. I'd like to know more about Mrs. Nix, but she remains a minor character. I LOVE the two new additions to the series, though, Cassidy and Astley. Astley is amazing! He's my favorite character in the entire series. Cassidy is also interesting, and I really like her. I have a feeling she's going to play a big part in the next book.

    The plot is pretty action-packed, and there is enough suspense to keep you interested. It's a bit of a roller coaster ride, and some parts are really sad. However, the book ends with hope, and that's all you can ask for. The pacing is spot on, and I wasn't bored at all. I never felt like the story dragged. As I mentioned, the wording was a bit clumsy, and I felt that many phrases were too wordy. That caused me to stumble over some phrases, but it still didn't slow down the pace of the story. The ending ties up a lot of loose ends, but still leaves some questions open for Endure. I didn't feel like it was a cliffhanger, but I am ready to see what happens next.

    Overall, I'd recommend this book to anyone who is a fan of faeries, pixies, and shifters. Things are getting really interesting up in Maine, and you do not want to miss out on the action!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    A great second book

    This book ended up being a sad one. Zara has some tough choices to make and isn't sure how her choices will end. This book kinda brought it a new love interest even if Zara doesn't seem to know it. This is definitely an interesting series on fairies and shift shapers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    A Definite (and Original) Read

    I was really shocked about how mich I liked this book. Normally in a series, the sequels are always a bit worse than its original, however, I actually liked this one more. In this book, the characters were more intersting and developed, and I liked them aot (except Nick, who got on my nerves sometimes). Alwo, the plot thickened, so I was drawn to this book and interested in it way more than I was with Need. Although sometimes the dialouge semmed forced (in rare cases) but I didn't mind since no one is perfect. What I really like about this series however, is that it is original!!! I have never seen a book with a premise like this one and I am sooooo glad I didn't stumble across any vampire themes. I really liked this book, liked all the characters, even tritary ones, and I think that this book was written really well and that the book leaves you withought a unnesccessary cliffhanger (but a reasonable sized one) and left enough room for a second book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Captivate is the second installment in the need series by Carrie Jones and it does not disappoint.

    Our heroes are put to the test when a new threat turns up that is even worse than the pixies they have locked away. I really liked this book because each of the characters was able to be flushed out more and so was the world Carrie Jones created. Filled with even more secrets and heart pounding adventure than the first book, Captivate is a wonderful edition to this series and will have readers captivated from the very first page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Ay, Yay, Yay!!!

    Zara, Zara, Zara...lots going on here girl! What can I say. Again, Melissa Marr's Wicked Lovely-esque. Its cute how she was being followed by a fairy King, but at first wasn't sure he was because he was injured and she saved him from a valkrie! I liked how in this book the author mixed in other mythologies, there is shifters/weres of different kinds (tiger, bear, wolve, eagle), you have faery & you have viking mythology as well! Interesting bowl mix. One thing that kept me a bit peeved with Zara's character is how the girl keeps assuming instead of being straight forward. She was constantly walking around Nick on egg shells and the poor were was going all out to protect her and getting hisself injured...it was frustrating for me at times. I'd catch myself telling the book "Nuh-uh, don't you dare, I know what you are thinking, Zara, NO!" LOL, but its a great story. Can't wait to read Entice. Waiting to check it out at the library!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    The name of the book speaks for itself!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    Better than the First

    I have to say... I thought I had this novel worked out. But I didn't. There are some twists I definitely didn't see coming, which is more than I could say for the first book. Also, I love how this book brought in more folklore than the first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Nice #2 book in the series

    Started off very slow and then at about page 150 BAM! you get hit with major page turners. If you liked the first book and the story you will like this book once it gets going. Zara is back in action fighting pixies and she has some new characters with her. Her friends are by her side no matter what and some new twists and turns are added in this one. Valhallan is a place that humans can not enter and Zara has a huge choice to make with her relationship & Nick. Will Zara know what is best for her? Is everything not what it seems?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2010

    Action-packed and romantic sequel

    CAPTIVATE, by Carrie Jones, continues the story of half-pixie, Zara, and battle against the pixies inhabiting Bedford, Maine. In the previous book, Need, Zara and her friends locked her pixie father and his followers in a iron-protected house, but now they are starving with Need and will do anything to satiate their hunger.

    This book was definitely a step up from the first. The tension ran high with the pixies trying to escape from their iron prison, other pixie kings trying to gain followers, and the appearance of Astley who threatened to tear Zara and Nick apart. Jones created a heart-pumping sequel that captivates you from the start.

    I felt this was a better storyline than Need. I liked Need but it was more of the background story for the series. Captivate dealt with the consequences of locking up Zara's father's pixies and the beginning of a war bigger than Bedford. The book was full of action and suspense that I listened to it as much as humanly possible. Jones raised the bar when she introduced Astley and the possibility for Zara to become a pixie. I loved the Astley/Zara dynamic actually more than the Nick/Zara dynamic. I felt that she needed to become a pixie because it was her birthright, but Nick's distain for pixies kept Zara prejudiced against them. Zara's character progression was fantastic in this book. I liked when she stripped her non-violent self and really let go, she was actually pretty badass.

    In terms of the audiobook, I was less annoyed this time around with the accents. Whelan did a great job portraying Astley's smoking Irish accent, and I applaud her for her ability to keep the accents and voices separate and clear.

    I loved the cover for this book. The addition of the gold keeps each book linked and absolutely gorgeous. I can't wait for the continuation of the series in, Entice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Captivating..

    I love Carrie Jones' style. Captivate picks up after her first tale, Need, where we meet Zara and her diverse band of friends. The story begins after the crew had trapped a huge amount of pixies in a house deep within the woods, with Zara now eager for answers. Why has her father suddenly come back for her?

    I did really enjoy this book.. it wasn't too challanging, the scenes Jones painted were easy to create in your own mind, which in my mind makes books more fun to read. The characters are relatable and each have traits that readers can easily identify with. I love when books jump right into the story rather than make you sift through the main characters recounting the details from the last book, or through boring details and chit-chat. Jones plopped you right back into the story which was great. You feel compelled to continue reading because the characters aren't sure what's going on and therefore you aren't sure either. It's just enough to keep you interested without being frustrated for the lack of knowledge. While some of the details can get lost in some unnecessary chatter between characters, the plot is great and is enough to float you through the parts that lull. I'm seriously excited to read the next installment in the Need series, to find out what happens to Zara in the next part of her life. I love how Jones pushed Zara into a whole new world and opened the story to so many more options.

    A must read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Part 2 better than pt.1

    I thought it was great that I loved the 2nd book more than the 1st! I almost didn't buy the 2nd book until I read it at the local library, because I wasn't sure it would be worth it. Great twists. If you enjoy easy and fun reading I recommend this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it

    I loved this book it was a great read but i felt it was a little too short for my tast i finished it in about two days and i found that this left me hanging a little bit but i am hopeful that the next book will be out soon because i am dying to find out what happends next i would recommend this book any day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2010

    Good second book

    This book is a good follow-up to Need. The story continues. There are choices made that you would not expect( but isn't that what happens in good books?) It's emotional at times, but not enough to make me cry. A good weekend read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Happy Ending?

    I liked this book because of the fantasy aspect. I really appreciated that Jones took the opportunity to put some distance between the main character and her love interest. I hear a hint of echoing of New Moon in the plot, but it's not the girl that needs the rescuing. I'm very excited by the new chemistry as well by our main character and an unwelcome guest. I feel like the writing is pretty elementary, but it's a HS level book, so it's definitely acceptable for that reading age group. As a college graduate, I'm anticipating the third one in the series. The first book is slow, but it hooked me enough to read the second one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2010

    I have really enjoyed this series so far. I would recommend it to friends and family.

    Pixies, this is new to me. I have read about vamps, werewolves, zombies, but not pixies and have truly enjoyed it. I usually wait for the paperbacks, but I couldn't and went to Barnes & Nobles as soon as I finished Need and bought Captivate in hard back. Thank goodness it was during the day and the store was still open.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    captive

    it was okay... i mean that if you enjoy the somewhat thrill... i wanted to read more... it stopped at a VERY good part...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8