Customer Reviews for

Captivate (Need Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 516 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(290)

4 Star

(142)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

A perfect second part!!!!!

This is the second time when i really understand that the authors can actually made a perfect "book 2" within how many books they are planning to write. I love "Need", i really enjoyed it, the new crazy topic, the strong character that Zara White is, everything. And Car...
This is the second time when i really understand that the authors can actually made a perfect "book 2" within how many books they are planning to write. I love "Need", i really enjoyed it, the new crazy topic, the strong character that Zara White is, everything. And Carrie definitely did not disappointed me, or anyone with "Captivate". You have to realize that it is between the first conflict and the final one, but the new characters, the new situation, the traumatic changes that Zara is going through, accepting was is intended to be, being strong by herself, everything has a reason to be, and what a perfect way of putting all the pieces just there, in our minds, pieces that are going to be accommodated in the following book, or books.
I loved it from the begginig to the end, i really think that Carrie Jones is creating a amazing strong female character, and a lovely group of people that touch your heart. I´m gonna be desperate until the next book comes out. But i wait, cuz it worth it!!
And if you don´t agree after you finish the book, you can always complian to me!

posted by Deby_Fray on March 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I hate this word but it's the only one I can think of that fits...cheesy!

Zara's and Nick's relationship was a little too over-the-top for me. All their conversations were cliche and I could not stop rolling my eyes. I think those in their early teens would really like this series. I had to force myself to keep reading and contemplated not fi...
Zara's and Nick's relationship was a little too over-the-top for me. All their conversations were cliche and I could not stop rolling my eyes. I think those in their early teens would really like this series. I had to force myself to keep reading and contemplated not finishing it several times. It irritated me to no end that they researched pixies on the internet. Just one example of the lack of creativity in this series. Not until the last 100 pages or so did it capture my attention which is why I rated this 3 stars instead of just 2. Overall this is probably one my least favorite book about faeries. I cannot in good conscience recommend this series.

posted by 1762549 on March 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 290 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted March 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A perfect second part!!!!!

    This is the second time when i really understand that the authors can actually made a perfect "book 2" within how many books they are planning to write. I love "Need", i really enjoyed it, the new crazy topic, the strong character that Zara White is, everything. And Carrie definitely did not disappointed me, or anyone with "Captivate". You have to realize that it is between the first conflict and the final one, but the new characters, the new situation, the traumatic changes that Zara is going through, accepting was is intended to be, being strong by herself, everything has a reason to be, and what a perfect way of putting all the pieces just there, in our minds, pieces that are going to be accommodated in the following book, or books.
    I loved it from the begginig to the end, i really think that Carrie Jones is creating a amazing strong female character, and a lovely group of people that touch your heart. I´m gonna be desperate until the next book comes out. But i wait, cuz it worth it!!
    And if you don´t agree after you finish the book, you can always complian to me!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A book Worthy of its Captivating name!!!

    Captivate is a remarkable book, as a sequal to Need, I have to say the second surpassed the first, leaving me even more excited about what else is comimg up in the series. Romantic, suspensful, and captivating (pun-intended), Captivate is a must read sequal that takes readers more into the faerie realm introduced in the first book and into the minds of new and old characters leaving you needing (another intended pun) more!!!

    Zara, the spunky main character who has just recently lost her step-father, learned she is part faerie, and found out her real father is a faerie King that has been preying on little boys, is one of the many characters I fell back in love with after the months between reading Need and Captivate. In my opinion, Zara grew more as a character than anyone else in the book, and that made me love the book so much more. From the naive girl in the first book (remember- the girl who runs towards the unnatural voice in the woods in the middle of the night calling her name), to an incredibly strong leading character who isn't afraid of taking risks and plunging into danger for the sake of those she loves. Watch out Rose (Vampire Academy) Zara's now in the running for my favorite leading character!!!

    Nick, Issie, and Devyn also grow in this book. Issie is still the loveable best friend who would still do whatever it is to help her supernatural friends even if she isnt exactly sure what she is doing. I stilled loved Devyn, I jumped up and down when he finally got out of his wheelchair, but then sat immediately back down when I realized it wasn't Issie he was sharing this special moment with. I mean gosh, Devyn is the eptiome of how clueless guys really get. All through the book I was yelling at him "How can you do that to loveable Issie?". And Nick is still the overprotective "hero guy" he feels he needs to be throughout the book.

    Where do I start with this plot? So much is going on. Escapes, new Kings, a developing love triangle, transformations, discoveries, and so many near death experiences, and the new King Astley is at the center of it all. To be honest, I really didn't like him at all. Not only because he threatened my beloved Nick's place in Zara's heart, but because he seems so fake. Everything he said seemed to be totally ingenuine, and just for the sake of getting on Zara's good side. It was annoying. Every chapter brings a new faerie tip, and shocking gasps making you want to change pages even faster!!!

    The ending was the perfect setup for the next book. Though some might think it was just a way to guarantee readers buy the next book, I don't think of it like that at all. I am even more eager for the next book in this series than I was for the second, and I expect it to be just as great in every way!!!

    I Recommend: I recommend this book to all lovers of paranormal romances, lovers of the first book, fae, love triangles, and a book that you will definately not be able to put down!!!

    www.blackandblueink.blogspot.com

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow! Can't Wait!

    I read need right when it first came out. The cover had drawn me to it and I', soooo happy it did! The book really sucks you in. I love the relationships between the characters(especially between Nick and Zara.) I can not wait for captivate to come out! Carrie Jones is an excellent writer. Go out and by Need, so you can read Captivate!!!!! :D

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    Captivate was great

    Though I did love this book it was quite sad and I hate it when series leave you hanging and waiting for the next book.. but it was amazing

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing!

    this book was absoultey amazing. a very excellent sequel to need. what happens to nick will break your heart and make you wanna cry(it did me!) and what zara has to do is shocking. i loved it.
    i highly recommend it. and i can not wait for the 3rd :))

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    one good book

    Need is one of my favorite books. I cannot wait to see what happens between Zara and Nick. I love the suspense of what is going to happen next.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    a good one!!

    when i first read Need (1st book )
    i really thought i wasn't going to like it but boy was i wrong..it's one of my favorites i have read And trust me it a good one!
    if you like romance, pixies, and werewolves this book is for you
    i can't wait until Captivate comes out!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Even better than the first!!! The characters absolutely had me

    Even better than the first!!! The characters absolutely had me captivated, no pun intended. The story continued on it's fast pace

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    Great books

    Love the whole series, wish there was more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    AmaZING

    Amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Sunpelt

    Im locked out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    AAAAA

    AAAAA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Must read

    READ!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    TEAM ASTLEY!!!!!!!!!!

    One of the BEST book series I have ever read! Pixies are one of the many supernatural creatures that havent been written about. Its refreshing to read a supernatural story that isnt about vampires. Twilight is a desition between Edward ( a sparkley boy) or Jacob ( a warm fuzzy wolf). This series the choice is between Astley ( a sparkley boy) or Nick ( a warm fuzzy wolf).

    Please please PLEASE Zara end up with Astley. He is so much better for her than Nick!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    I love it

    People rate this book bad dont have any idea of wat they are talking about me my self hates to read but i could not but this down for one spil second i took the book to outback with me and even to the bath room

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Awesome

    Excellent book. Can't wait to start the 3rd book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    awesome

    I read this book in one day. It was so good i chould not but it down. I read it in the car at my dads work my grandmas house outside i chould not stop until i finished it!!!!!! I whould recomend this book to anybody how read the first book Need.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    I NEED THIS TO SURVIVE

    BEEEEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSTTTTTTTTT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    A more brilliant sequel I have yet to read! This book brings ba

    A more brilliant sequel I have yet to read! This book brings back the loved characters from Need and throws in some new characters that are just as, if not easier to love! Carrie Jones writes the perfect cliff-hangers. And who doesn't love Norse Mythology!?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 290 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15