Customer Reviews for

Captivated by You

Average Rating 3.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Captivated By You is a wonderful feel good Christmas romance. D

Captivated By You is a wonderful feel good Christmas romance. Diane Alberts weaves a wonderful story with rich characters. Loved it! Highly recommend for Christmas reads!

posted by Shellbelle1 on November 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Captivated By You was a short & sweet Christmas novella that

Captivated By You was a short & sweet Christmas novella that I thought was perfect for the Christmas season. The story started off very strong and I loved the premise, I’m always a sucker for second chance romance. However, somewhere in the middle, it took a turn...
Captivated By You was a short & sweet Christmas novella that I thought was perfect for the Christmas season. The story started off very strong and I loved the premise, I’m always a sucker for second chance romance. However, somewhere in the middle, it took a turn that, for me, made it fall a little flat.

I loved the back story and potential that Mark & Lacey’s story had. Friends, who definitely wanted more, in high school but never quite getting the timing right. They parted ways and never had any further contact. When Mark breaks down and shows up on Lacey’s doorstep, they rekindle a friendship at first, until they both realize they want more. But Lacey questions why he never contacted her and, even calls him on the fact that he never planned on seeing her on this trip. If his car hadn’t broke down right outside her house, he never would have stopped by. She is rightly pissed off. I liked all of this - Mr. Big Movie Star can’t get what he wants without having to work a little & prove himself. All major big loves for me! Then...Lacey does an about face and they profess their love for each other after only a handful of hours. Wait...what? But you were just mad, and you didn’t want to have anything to do with him, and, and...yeah, I was a little confused.

Overall the writing, characterization, romance & premise were spot on. I love the magic that Ms. Alberts creates within her books. For me it just boils down to, I wanted more. I feel we only skimmed the surface Mark & Lacey’s potential as a couple, but it was only a novella. And even though I wanted more, this is still a sugary sweet romance that is sure to satisfy your romance sweet tooth and will definitely keep you entertained while reading.

posted by Hesperia_Loves_Books on December 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Captivated By You is a wonderful feel good Christmas romance. D

    Captivated By You is a wonderful feel good Christmas romance. Diane Alberts weaves a wonderful story with rich characters. Loved it! Highly recommend for Christmas reads!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Captivated By You was a short & sweet Christmas novella that

    Captivated By You was a short & sweet Christmas novella that I thought was perfect for the Christmas season. The story started off very strong and I loved the premise, I’m always a sucker for second chance romance. However, somewhere in the middle, it took a turn that, for me, made it fall a little flat.

    I loved the back story and potential that Mark & Lacey’s story had. Friends, who definitely wanted more, in high school but never quite getting the timing right. They parted ways and never had any further contact. When Mark breaks down and shows up on Lacey’s doorstep, they rekindle a friendship at first, until they both realize they want more. But Lacey questions why he never contacted her and, even calls him on the fact that he never planned on seeing her on this trip. If his car hadn’t broke down right outside her house, he never would have stopped by. She is rightly pissed off. I liked all of this - Mr. Big Movie Star can’t get what he wants without having to work a little & prove himself. All major big loves for me! Then...Lacey does an about face and they profess their love for each other after only a handful of hours. Wait...what? But you were just mad, and you didn’t want to have anything to do with him, and, and...yeah, I was a little confused.

    Overall the writing, characterization, romance & premise were spot on. I love the magic that Ms. Alberts creates within her books. For me it just boils down to, I wanted more. I feel we only skimmed the surface Mark & Lacey’s potential as a couple, but it was only a novella. And even though I wanted more, this is still a sugary sweet romance that is sure to satisfy your romance sweet tooth and will definitely keep you entertained while reading.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2012

    Really enjoyed this book. Diane Alberts really knows how to tell

    Really enjoyed this book. Diane Alberts really knows how to tell a great story. I love the Christmas setting. Short, sweet and sexy.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2012

    I loved this book. It was short and sweet. I am a sucker for lov

    I loved this book. It was short and sweet. I am a sucker for love stories,deep down aren't we all.. If you are looking for a quick fun read this is it. Great job made me Glad I read it. Thank you Ms Alberts for your fine short story! Can't wait for the next on and can't wait to watch Christmas Vacation this year:)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Ok story but under developed

    Novella at best ...not happy with purchasing the eqivalence of a short story. Very predictable too. Nothing special, and I am usually a generous rater/reviewer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Enjoyed it!

    Entertaining!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    ?....

    Is the new trend these super short novellas? Just barely enough storyline.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Too short...Good

    A great Hollywood love story at its best. It was too short, I felt I needed more. The story was just about to explode but ended. She got all the parts correct, but needed more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Sweet

    It was a quick sweet little story that every girl wishes would happen to them. I wish I had Tom Hardy show up at my door and profess his love for me then screw me into oblivion... I guess that's why we read these books! I wish it was longer and more developed. All in all it was a good story. Worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    could be a great story but......

    This was a very quick read and could be a great story but the story just never developed. I would have loved get to know the characters and to be apart of their world but it was very anticlimactic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Loved it

    I enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Too rushed

    Little character development. Rushed plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    So so

    Short, predictable, and not the best storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Not for me

    Slow!! Couldnt finish~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Have read better

    Mark's character is impossible to believe in. Sorry but no way he's been pining away. Heroine comes across as pathetic not SYMpathetic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Good

    But too short

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Loved this book. Have read several by this author and thought t

    Loved this book. Have read several by this author and thought they were all great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3