Customer Reviews for

Captivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul

Average Rating 4.5
( 235 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(149)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Not fluff and stuff

Truth, truth and more (sometimes painful) truth. A must read for every woman wondering what happened, how'd she get here and how to make the rest of her life....different. Change is possible, God is faithful and tenaciously pursuing women to know their true value and ...
Truth, truth and more (sometimes painful) truth. A must read for every woman wondering what happened, how'd she get here and how to make the rest of her life....different. Change is possible, God is faithful and tenaciously pursuing women to know their true value and drop society's dictates and all its twisted lies. Not for those who want to 'feel good' without being willing to face some tough stuff in the mirror. John & Staci layer truth with concrete examples and bring years of counseling and research to back up this truth. Life changing (if applied) and something a lot of men could read to learn the heart of a woman and if read by both partners, could bring great depth and discusion to the relationship....and potentially healing.

posted by jennewren on March 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Soulful portrayal of a woman's heart

I really liked the first half of this book, but it got a little strange for me near the end. Not to mention repetitive. I do recommend this book because the first half is very strong. It often made me think, "yeah, that is how I feel but I would never have put it that w...
I really liked the first half of this book, but it got a little strange for me near the end. Not to mention repetitive. I do recommend this book because the first half is very strong. It often made me think, "yeah, that is how I feel but I would never have put it that way!" I think it's helpful for realizing that the things that make women who they are - emotions, relationships, etc - are perfectly normal and above all the way things are supposed to be! I think there is a lot of freedom in knowing that God created us this way and there is nothing wrong with us for being that way!

posted by Meags on May 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 237 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not fluff and stuff

    Truth, truth and more (sometimes painful) truth. A must read for every woman wondering what happened, how'd she get here and how to make the rest of her life....different. Change is possible, God is faithful and tenaciously pursuing women to know their true value and drop society's dictates and all its twisted lies. Not for those who want to 'feel good' without being willing to face some tough stuff in the mirror. John & Staci layer truth with concrete examples and bring years of counseling and research to back up this truth. Life changing (if applied) and something a lot of men could read to learn the heart of a woman and if read by both partners, could bring great depth and discusion to the relationship....and potentially healing.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2010

    Captivating!

    In the wee hours of the morning this morning, I finished reading Captivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul, by John and Stasi Eldredge. What an incredible book!

    I have to confess that I had actually read this one before. I borrowed a copy from a friend a few years ago and loved it so much that I subsequently bought copies as gifts for a number of ladies in my life. Unfortunately, I never got a copy for myself and, since this one is a "revised and expanded" edition, I jumped at the chance to get a free copy from the publisher.

    This is a fantastic book. The husband and wife team of writers is terrific at revealing the heart of a woman: why we were made the way we're made, why we feel the way we feel, why we long for the things we long for, and why we struggle the way that we do. Through Biblical example and everyday accounts of women just like us, the authors show that while every woman is unique and special, no woman has or will suffer alone. We're all in this together, and while the world has worked steadily throughout history to silence women and stifle all that we were created to be, God has a special and powerful plan for our lives. He made us to fulfill a specific purpose, and everything in us points us to that.

    It isn't a feminist "women rule!" kind of book, though. It is open and honest about the things that women struggle with and have failed at, and helps me to see that nothing that has happened in my life has been random or arbitrary. God has a plan for my life, but so does my enemy; everything in life can be used for one side or the other.

    I highly recommend this book to the women in your life. Young women just starting out and trying to find their place in the world..women with grown children who are finding themselves in a new place...older women who feel like most of their story has already been written. It is an empowering book that encourages soul searching and introspection, self-evaluation and assessment.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2009

    Soulful portrayal of a woman's heart

    I really liked the first half of this book, but it got a little strange for me near the end. Not to mention repetitive. I do recommend this book because the first half is very strong. It often made me think, "yeah, that is how I feel but I would never have put it that way!" I think it's helpful for realizing that the things that make women who they are - emotions, relationships, etc - are perfectly normal and above all the way things are supposed to be! I think there is a lot of freedom in knowing that God created us this way and there is nothing wrong with us for being that way!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    Absolutely "captivating"

    I loved this book! Lots to ponder about our wonderful femininity and to consider what we have lost over the years. Put it together to see how to return to the Godly woman we were meant to be.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2007

    A reviewer

    Good points - Mrs. Eldredge has overcome personal trauma, and offers hope to those who are in pain. Many good points about being in a relationship with God. Good points for men who want to understand women who have been through traumatic life experiences. Bad points - poor Biblical rationale for its conclusions. Convoluted logic. Promotes a fairy-tale view of the Bible. Overly romanticized interpretations of everything. Too focused on a person's view of themselves.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    A MUST Read for teens & women of all ages!

    This book helps a woman see her value & worth through her maker's eyes, instead of the world's eyes. Society has given women a "to be acceptable" list of requirements which we cannot live up to, and thereby struggle with our self worth. God made us with amzing beauty, purpose, and grace and this book can help you look somewhere besides a magazine, billboard, commercial or other people for validation and your value as a woman. All women are captivating by design, and our Divine Creator is captivated by us. I challenge you disagree. Enjoy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    LIFE CHANGING

    If you want to change your life for the better, buy this book and the study guide. It's truly inspiring!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2007

    I'm amazed!

    If you wanna read about a victim who does not take accountability for her own actions and emotes through her writings, then this is the book for you. I was hoping for some guidance and spiritual inspiration, but only read on how to blame my surroundings and do what feels good. Not only am I appalled on how she made the Mary, Mother of God, look like chop liver, but her interpretations of Scripture is evidently based on her emotions, not on facts. Want truth and validity? Read books written by Kimberly Hahn.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2007

    Honestly, I couldn't finish it

    No only does the author present weak validation for her points (using examples that aren't scriptually based) as well as presenting ideas and concepts that seem to be read into. Perhaps I simply was not a good candidate to read it, however after reading it, it's amazing more women aren't in therapy after reading this book. It seems to give more issues for you to deal with, how you fail, then it offers help. In my opinion, over raited and over praised.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2006

    Couldn't wait to be finished with this one!

    I think this book is best for those that need healing. For those that have been there, done that it's a waste of time. Also, some of the things she writes about women are nice but there aren't any scriptural references. Examples: She writes, 'Jesus is extending his hand to you. He is inviting you to dance with him. He asks, 'May I have this dance every day of your life?' His gaze is fixed on you. He is captivated by your beauty. He is smiling. He cares nothing of the opinions of others. He is standing. He will lead. He waits for your response.' She also writes, 'The essence of a woman is Beauty. She is meant to be the incarnation-our experience in human form-of a Captivating God.'

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    one of my favorite books by far..

    this book was truly amazing. i could relate to so many things and i'm sure anyone else can. it has made me think so much of how i view myself and god and i think everyone should read this. you will be captured from the very first page. it was just so inspiring, had some great advice and was so greatly written.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Not Inspiring but can help others

    The book sets an outline of how women act and think based on past experiences.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly Recommend

    This was a very good book. While reading, every emotion known to woman rushes forth and sweeps you away. Those emotions blow you here and there until the end where you are left silent and still. You walk away from the book confident in the woman that God created you to be. Pick up this book and do not put it down until you've read it from cover to cover. Once you're done keep it alive in your heart so that you can carry it everywhere that you go passing along it's power and strength to other women.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Incredible book

    This is an awesome book for anyone to read. It is insiteful to the way a woman's mind works, and the way her heart feels. It would be a good book for any woman in any stage of her life to read, as well as men.
    When I first heard about this book, I thought it was for people who have low self esteems and think poorly of themselves. Not true. I am a confident woman who likes herself and I found myself nodding my head in agreement with every page. It's like I was reading my life in the book. Honeslty, it is one of the best books I have ever read. I plan on passing it on to my friends so they can read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I highly recommend buying and reading Captivating. It will change your life.

    Captivating is written by a married couple, so you get both of their views in the book. It is really interesting to read what men think of women in general, end especially of their wives. Stasi is very good at describing the female heart. Together, with the hand of God, they have written a book that will delve into the deepest parts of your heart and soul, and help you to understand the things that make you a woman, like feelings and emotions and what they mean. It starts at your childhood and works through each part of your life, but this book is wonderful for any woman, 17 or 75.

    Two of my friends read and told me about it. I read it myself, then bought the keepsake edition for my aunt. It is so worth reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2007

    Truly INSPIRING! If you have a heart- then you need to read this!

    This is truly one of the BEST books I have EVER read!! I was skeptical about the book at first. I¿d heard such ¿rave¿ reviews about it & thought people just didn¿t have anything better to do with their time than read a boring book. However, I was shocked to the core as I read this book. God ministered to my heart & has begun a deep healing in my heart that I didn¿t even know I needed. Some of the chapters were difficult to read because they brought up painful issues, but the author is very gentle and caring to not push the reader too hard. I recommend this book to everyone- women as well as men! It¿s truly an eye opener & will change your life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2005

    Surprisingly Good

    My brother bought me this book, saying how all the Christian girls he knew were raving about it. I'm normally into these kinds of books- I find them preachy and rather dull. So my expectations for Captivating were not that high. However, I found that I enjoyed this book overall, especially towards the end. I think this book takes a different approach than most in the 'Christian single women' genre. I won't say it's perfect, because there were some things I thought were dumb, such as the attitude towards one woman who is stuck with a husband who doesn't return her love. Rather than tell the woman to find a good man who does love her, the authors advise to stay in that sad situation, yet remain feminine. Stuff like that I found annoying. But overall, I'd recommend it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Captivating is an in depth look into a woman's romance with the Lord God

    Captivating is not a book to be enjoyed by married women only. I'm divorced but still a hopeful romantic. After talking with a friend, I decided to read this book by Stasi Eldridge Stasi reports her struggles during her growing up years and how she discovered the romance with God in addition to the one with her husband. She also has a fantastic insight as to how a woman's heart is bent toward romance and offers suggestions on a different perspective on how we women should view our relationship with the Lord. I would recommend this book for any woman wanting to deeping her relationship with God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    highly recommended -- very validating

    This book is very validating to the woman's soul. It explained so much and inspired me to draw deeper into a relationship with God. I am more hungry now after having read the book than I was before I started reading it. I found meaning, significance, deep insight and understanding. Awesome book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2013

    A Great Read for ALL

    What a fantastic insight into a woman's soul… I think it is an awesome read that could be utilized by women as well as men to better understand the women in their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 237 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12