BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Captivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul

Average Rating 4.5
( 235 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(149)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Not fluff and stuff

Truth, truth and more (sometimes painful) truth. A must read for every woman wondering what happened, how'd she get here and how to make the rest of her life....different. Change is possible, God is faithful and tenaciously pursuing women to know their true value and ...
Truth, truth and more (sometimes painful) truth. A must read for every woman wondering what happened, how'd she get here and how to make the rest of her life....different. Change is possible, God is faithful and tenaciously pursuing women to know their true value and drop society's dictates and all its twisted lies. Not for those who want to 'feel good' without being willing to face some tough stuff in the mirror. John & Staci layer truth with concrete examples and bring years of counseling and research to back up this truth. Life changing (if applied) and something a lot of men could read to learn the heart of a woman and if read by both partners, could bring great depth and discusion to the relationship....and potentially healing.

posted by jennewren on March 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Soulful portrayal of a woman's heart

I really liked the first half of this book, but it got a little strange for me near the end. Not to mention repetitive. I do recommend this book because the first half is very strong. It often made me think, "yeah, that is how I feel but I would never have put it that w...
I really liked the first half of this book, but it got a little strange for me near the end. Not to mention repetitive. I do recommend this book because the first half is very strong. It often made me think, "yeah, that is how I feel but I would never have put it that way!" I think it's helpful for realizing that the things that make women who they are - emotions, relationships, etc - are perfectly normal and above all the way things are supposed to be! I think there is a lot of freedom in knowing that God created us this way and there is nothing wrong with us for being that way!

posted by Meags on May 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2006

    Couldn't wait to be finished with this one!

    I think this book is best for those that need healing. For those that have been there, done that it's a waste of time. Also, some of the things she writes about women are nice but there aren't any scriptural references. Examples: She writes, 'Jesus is extending his hand to you. He is inviting you to dance with him. He asks, 'May I have this dance every day of your life?' His gaze is fixed on you. He is captivated by your beauty. He is smiling. He cares nothing of the opinions of others. He is standing. He will lead. He waits for your response.' She also writes, 'The essence of a woman is Beauty. She is meant to be the incarnation-our experience in human form-of a Captivating God.'

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Not Inspiring but can help others

    The book sets an outline of how women act and think based on past experiences.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    Captivating by John & Stasi Eldredge

    When I received the book Captivating by John & Stasi Eldredge I was eager to start reading. I enjoyed the first of the book where the authors wrote of the importance of women to God and also how the Devil is out to try to destroy our relationship with God, but the more I read the less I enjoyed reading. In my humble opinion, I feel that many of the descriptions of Jesus and God as a woman's lover just did not seem quite right and they left me with an uneasy feeling. I had the definite feeling that Stasi and John used scripture more to validate their own ideas than to prove the worth and role of women. Many of their scripture references were on target, but I found many to be theologically unsound. To me the most unsettling, theologically unsound statement was on page forty-five when Stasi or John wrote, "Eve was given to the world as the incarnation of a beautiful, captivating God-a life offering, life-saving lover, a relational specialist, full of tender mercy and hope." That is not what my Bible tells me.

    One thing that I really did not like about the book was all the references to secular movies, poems, books, and songs. Many of them I had never heard of and even if I had, I did not see the advantage of using such references. Another problem was that many times I would read half a page or more before I knew if it was Stasi or John writing. It was good to have both a woman's and a man's opinion in the book but knowing at the beginning of a paragraph who was writing would have helped tremendously.

    I am of the opinion that probably the book has more value for younger women and girls for much of what was in the book seemed irrelevant to a woman in her sixties or older. We women are never to old to be the woman that God wants us to be but I think that we can do that without this book. I will probably tell friends about this book but will tell them to keep an open mind and an open Bible when they are reading it.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    Not what I expected

    The book makes a major point in that there are three desires that women have. One desire is to be romanced; another desire is to know that people think we are beautiful, and the last desire is to play an important role in an adventure. These points make the book very easy to relate to with all of the examples and emotional ties, but they are not very strong points. Women have more than three desires, and many of these desires are more than just skin deep. I believe that having only these three points took away from the overall affect of the book. Besides not containing enough points or strong points, the book is somewhat of a slow read. The chapters are very repetitive, and I believe that the book could be just as good, if not better, if it were half as long. Another problem that I found with the book was that parts of it were written from a male's perspective and parts were written from a female's perspective. At times I did not know who was writing, and was slightly confused. Overall I would not recommend this book. Although it was not beneficial for me, women who have been hurt in some way by men, possibly physically or sexually abused at some point in their lives, may find this book helpful.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Okay Book

    Captivating, the best-selling book by John and Stasi Eldridge has recently been revised and expanded. I have read this book in precious years, but decided to re-read its newer edition.

    As many of you are aware, Captivating is a book celebrating the beauty of a woman's soul. Thousands have been touched by this book, and many have found healing in its pages.
    This groundbreaking book shows readers the glorious design of women before the fall, describes how the feminine heart can be restored, and casts a vision for the power, freedom, and beauty of a woman released to be all she was meant to be.
    Although this may be just what some hurting women need, I am not entirely taken with Captivating. Some of the chapters did not sit well with me. The book focused on how beautiful women are, and yes, that is true, but we can only have true beauty through Christ. I wish that had been more of the focus in the book.

    John and Stasi have written some great things, but I caution readers to take everything they say with a grain of salt.

    I was provided a review copy of this book from BookSneeze.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Captivating by John and Stasi Eldrege: A Light Read

    Thomas Nelson Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book as part of their BookSneeze.com bloggers book review program. I was not required to write a positive review, and therefore, the review is 100% my honest opinion.

    Captivating by John and Stasi Eldrege is a light read.

    It is about setting women's hearts free and releasing them to be all they were meant to be. I'm not quite sure if I understood it well. the way the authors intended it to be understood, but the book is about that, and I don't think I like it that much in comparison to the previous books that I received as an advance read from the publisher.

    I have always believed that we make our own destinies, and though God make plans for us, it is up to us to fulfill those that he had planned for us, and feminist all around is going to have my head for saying this, but I don't feel that women are made to be His utmost creation. Women, are made to complement men, and complete each other.

    Distorted belief, coming from a woman? I suppose it is somewhat distorted, but I didn't really like this book, though it is a good read for a lazy Sunday afternoon.

    I didn't feel there was a strong theological basis for some of the statements made about God and His purpose and design for women. There were points that sounded very good, but left me wondering how in context a verse was applied or the scriptural basis.

    Will I recommend this book for others to read? I suppose I would, but not to those who sees things in different perspectives.

    I would rate this book, 2 out of 5.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Review of the book; "Captivating"

    Overall, I was not satisfied with this book. The authors used a lot of personal narrative and experiences to support their theory. They also used a lot of extreme circumstances as supporting examples which would not apply to many women reading the book. I was also disappointed with the fact that they did not use a lot of scripture as support. While I liked some of their ideas, I think that there are better books out there that describe the heart of a woman that have much better Biblical support.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    Captivating Review

    After hearing many wonderful reviews about this book, Captivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul by John Eldredge & Stasi Eldredge, I was excited to get my hands on a copy! My excitement was short lived as I was quickly disappointed that it did not live up to all of the hype. The general goal of this book is to encourage and teach women how to set their heart free. Through the demands of life, women seem to lose sight of their childhood desires to be romanced, to play an irreplaceable role in a grand adventure, and to unveil beauty and the authors of this book try to encourage women back to a place of accepting that they were created in the image of God. In the first few chapters, I thought that maybe this book could go somewhere, but sadly after that I felt as though the authors, John Eldredge & Stasi Eldredge, became a little repetitive and in between the main points was a lot of fluff. My other issue with this book was that I had expected it to be much more biblical in nature and that it would use scripture to support its ideas, but the use of scripture paled in comparison to the use of movie references and when scripture was used, it was not always used in its proper context. Overall, this book took a long time to get through and in the end, I felt like I had gotten very little out of it. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    problem

    I bought this book but it wont download.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    disappointing

    the style, format, and content were quite different than her husband's books. this was touchy feely, weird. not really about developmental stages. did not finish book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1