Customer Reviews for

Captive Bride

Average Rating 4
( 98 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

As a first novel not so bad.

Considering this is Ms. Lindsey's first published work I don't think that it is that bad. The book came out in the mid-80s I believe and when you think of the other authors work at that time, this book is really pretty good. Please think about what was available to the ...
Considering this is Ms. Lindsey's first published work I don't think that it is that bad. The book came out in the mid-80s I believe and when you think of the other authors work at that time, this book is really pretty good. Please think about what was available to the average romance reader at the time, Harlequin and not much else in the US. So when reading this book take the writing with a grain of salt and think back to what we were reading back in the day.

posted by RedReaderKCMO on August 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Ummm...I don't think so.

I do like Johanna Lindsey enough to forgive her for writing this book, but I she better not write so atrocious in the future. The first chapter in I knew something was wrong. By the middle of the second chapter I had it figured out. Not only were the characters wishy wa...
I do like Johanna Lindsey enough to forgive her for writing this book, but I she better not write so atrocious in the future. The first chapter in I knew something was wrong. By the middle of the second chapter I had it figured out. Not only were the characters wishy washy and childish, but the writing was very choppy. The writing style was similar to, "I got hungry, so I ate. The food was okay but it made me thirsty. So I srank some wine. Then I got tired so I went to bed." C'mon if I wanted to read that kind of style of writing I would read a third graders paper. How can a caharacter that was described as so independent and it was established that she hated the guy ever forgive him for kidnapping him let alone fall in love with him. Can we say stockjolm syndrome much? Would not reccomend this book unless you have ran out of everything else.

posted by Annie88 on December 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    As a first novel not so bad.

    Considering this is Ms. Lindsey's first published work I don't think that it is that bad. The book came out in the mid-80s I believe and when you think of the other authors work at that time, this book is really pretty good. Please think about what was available to the average romance reader at the time, Harlequin and not much else in the US. So when reading this book take the writing with a grain of salt and think back to what we were reading back in the day.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2009

    Ummm...I don't think so.

    I do like Johanna Lindsey enough to forgive her for writing this book, but I she better not write so atrocious in the future. The first chapter in I knew something was wrong. By the middle of the second chapter I had it figured out. Not only were the characters wishy washy and childish, but the writing was very choppy. The writing style was similar to, "I got hungry, so I ate. The food was okay but it made me thirsty. So I srank some wine. Then I got tired so I went to bed." C'mon if I wanted to read that kind of style of writing I would read a third graders paper. How can a caharacter that was described as so independent and it was established that she hated the guy ever forgive him for kidnapping him let alone fall in love with him. Can we say stockjolm syndrome much? Would not reccomend this book unless you have ran out of everything else.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    not worth the price of admission

    I have read well over 80 percent of her books and this one was obviously done early in her career before she finished developing her writing style. Some authors like McNaught, you can go back and enjoy their early works. This one is sub par for Lindsey and not worth the price of the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good...not Great!!

    I have read almost all of Jl's books and I really love her books!!!This one however I didnt love.It was good, but not great.The desert was a little boring for me and I didnt love Philip.Christina was sweet.Her realizing shes in love with him just fell out of the sky. BUT I do love her books and she writes them extremely well, so I will defenitely recommend any of her books.I'll give this one a 6/10.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Had potential, but failed

    The concept of this book really got my hopes up! It sounded like it was going to be amazing, but both lead characters got on my nerves! He was such a brute, I had no idea how she fell in love with him...and it happened so fast! There needed to be much more character development. I was so annoyed that she all the sudden had these deep feelings for him, and the ending was so drawn out...the last chapters took forever. And what was with her childhood friend trying to kill him, instead injuring her and then being forgiven?! Ridiculous

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    First Try, not bad, not great!

    Johanna Lindsey has come a long way in her writing since this book was first published. Her writing over the years has definately matured. Usually I can't put her books down when reading. This book was not such a book. However, with that said, some one new to romance novels may really enjoy reading this story. The idea for the book is clear, even if the story lacks substance. I am a huge fan of Johanna Lindsey's so if you have read this book as your first, please do not judge her by this work. Some of my favorite stories that she has written include - Secret Fire, Hearts Aflame, and Keeper of the heart, just to name a few. I hope this review helps.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    Ehhh, not one of her best writings

    This book was blah for me, I prefer Lindsey's other books. I just don't like the whole enslavement just for sex and marriage plot, not my thing. To me there was no climax of the plot. The character developments were okay, but not her best....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2007

    Long and choppy!

    I love Johanna, but this is the worst of her books by far! It was very choppy and it went on and on. I thought the couple was never going to get back together. I was very disappointed with this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2006

    Pass on all her books

    This book was awful I hated the main characters! The guy practically rapes her and the poor girl ends up getting Stockholm Syndrome. But what really ticked me off was that the girl was constantly being threatened to be beaten by her husband. What kind of relationship is that?!? Take my advice and pass on this book and all her others. She is a depressing author and her books will only made you mad at the main characters.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2006

    Twisted!

    I'm a big fan of Johanna Lindsey's superb Malory series but I was very disappointed with Captive Bride which I personally think is one of her worst books. The relationship between Phillip and Christina was just too weird and twisted. This is Johanna Lindsey's second worst book, her #1 worst book is A Pirate's Love which was even more twisted than Captive Bride!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2014

    Loved it.

    I was absorbed from start to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2014

    ROMANCE AT ITS IMAGINATIVE BEST

    The one thing I love about JL's books are the variety in her plots. I know I won't be bored when I chose one of hers and this one was no exception. LORRAINE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    TERRIBLE

    The above about sums up the appeal of this book. Just awful - do not waste your money!! Poorly written, etc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Loved this story. Fast paced and could not put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    THE BEST

    I love all her books. I have read this book 4 times.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Great

    Enjoyed very much.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2013

    Great book

    Just like the title says: Captivating!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    A first novel

    Not great, but not horrible. This should be a free novel or $0.99 max. It is very stilted and superficial, no depth to the characters or their conversations. Good idea , but very amaturish. Apparently this was her first novel, thankfully she improved! I love her books but this one I wish I hadnt wasted my money on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Could have been better

    Great story but could have developed scenes and situations better. Left me wanting more info

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Great

    Great

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5