Customer Reviews for

Captive Trail

Average Rating 5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great addition to the Texas Trails series!

    This book was captivating. I've never read a book on this subject and I think the author did a wonderful job of capturing the emotions and depth of the issues the characters had to face! Taabe Waipu remembers the live she was taken from. She remembers that her place is not with the Comanche people with whom she resides, but she doesn't remember anything else. I loved her character. I felt like I was watching her struggle to remember the old way of life. I felt her joy and frustration at learning "white man ways" again. Susan May Warren did an excellent job on Taabe's character. Ned Bright was a simple man. I liked him because he wasn't trying to be tough or macho. He was just a normal guy who falls in love with a girl. He was certainly protective and "manly," but I think he more closely represents real life men.

    The story was fantastic. Again, I've never read a story with this subject before and as also stated previously, Susan May Warren did a fantastic job of capturing the depth of emotions and issues these characters had to face. While the story was predictable (in that I knew Taabe and Ned would be together), it was very enjoyable. There were facets of the story that I absolutely loved, like Ned's devotion and dedication to Taabe and her best interests. The interaction with the Comanche at the end kept me rooted to my seat with my eyes reading and furiously scanning the pages!

    The message of the book was to trust in God to take care of you and all your needs. I wished this theme was communicated more clearly in the book, but that's what I got out of the story. Overall, I absolutely loved this book and would definitely read it again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Captivating Book for Sure!

    Around the year 1845, Taabe Waipu was taken captive by the Comanche when she was a mere child. She was their slave at first. Not allowed to speak her own language and was made to learn the female role within the Comanche tribe. Once she learned that role she was taken in as a family member of the ones she worked and lived with. But she knew she did not belong and was determined to find her way to the home she could not remember. She fled the Comanche camp and the warrior who wanted her as his bride. Taabe knew he would track her and bring her back.

    She was found for dead by a stagecoach driver and taken to a missionary of Nuns where she was taught the ways of her English childhood. Yet she still desired to search for the family she no longer remembered. Ned Bright, the driver who found her was more than willing to help her search for her family.

    The author picked right up from where book one left off. She pulled me into the book as if I were a part of story. She made me see how horrendous it must have been for Taabe to be held captive at such a young age. The character was given such fortitude to seek what she knew was her roots. By the author putting Taabe in the care of the Nuns, they not only nurtured her back to health but also to the God she remember from her childhood.

    This was a outstanding story and I would highly recommend you read this book.

    I rate this book 5 out of 5.

    Disclosure: I won a copy this book. I was not compensated in anyway for this review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    Fascinating Tale of Love and Suspense

    In April, 1857, a young white woman flees her Comanche captors, running from the warrior, Peca, who would have her as his bride. A captive for twelve years, Taabe Waipu (Sun Woman), as the Comanche call her, remembers nothing of her white family. Fragments of memories and a tattered piece of paper are all that remain. And she can no longer read English.

    Ned Bright, stagecoach driver for the Overland Stage Company, finds Taabe on the side of the road, injured and disoriented. He takes her to a school newly established by nuns to educate children from the surrounding ranches.

    Taabe begins an adventure of discovery as pieces of her past come to mind along with the more pleasant memories of her Comanche family but the dark cloud of Peca haunts her. She believes he is seeking her and her presence places the nuns, the children at the mission, and her new friend, Ned Bright, in danger.

    White families visit the mission wondering if she is their missing child or if she knows anything about other missing children. This wears on her emotionally as she sees the disappointment in their eyes as they walk away.

    Slowly, Taabe begins to adjust to her new surroundings as the nuns and a young child, Quinta, engage her and develop relationships with her. Snippets of her past surface through familiar songs, through the crucifix on the wall, through the prayers of the nuns.

    Ned Bright protects her when families visit. He seeks her birth family through letters. A family many miles away believes Taabe belongs to them. The circumstances seem to fit. Taabe's real name is Billie. She is torn between excitement about finding her family and leaving her new friends, especially Ned.

    Disaster threatens when Peca locates her and attacks the mission, setting fire to some of the buildings and demanding she come with him. In a bold and daring move, Taabe/Billie is able to knock him off his horse. In the Indian culture, this "counting coup" shames him. He withdraws leaving Taabe/Billie with dilemma of returning to her birth family while acknowledging she has fallen in love with Ned Bright.

    This is an excellent read. The author subtly weaves her research and knowledge of the time period, the history and the cultures of both whites and Native Americans without any author intrusion. She naturally weaves facts of the story world through her dialogue and descriptions. She is especially poignant when she depicts white families seeking their loved ones who had been taken.

    My only minor disappointment is that I would have like to see more of the contrast between Christianity and the Comanche spiritual beliefs as Taabe/Billie recovered memories of her faith prior to her capture.

    Her minor characters add just the right touch of cultural issues to move plot along, bring out the personalities of the major characters and humor.

    The plot is fast-paced and keeps the pages turning. Lots of twists and turns as Taabe/Billie faces challenges from cultural adjustment to dealing with Peca's continued searching and the threat this presents to the people who have taken her in and cared for her. Taabe/Billie's final confrontation with Peca is well-written and entirely believable yet with enough of a twist that the reader doesn't see it coming.

    The publisher gave me a copy of the book to review but in no way influenced the opinions expressed in this review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Finding her way home may prove to be more difficult than she ever expected!

    The only thing worse from being taken from your family is trying to find a way back to them when you don't know where to begin. For Taabe Waipu, she has spent her young childhood forgetting the language of her family, English, when she winds up in a Comanche village. It's either learn the language of the Numinu or starve and continue to be treated as an outside. So as a way to survive, she forgets the family she was remembers raising her until she finally grows old enough to find a way back home.

    Now years later she escapes her tribe and tries to locate her family again. Remember little details from distant memories and a faded piece of paper she has kept hidden may hold the clues towards reclaiming her identity and finding home again. So when she winds up injured and alone on a wagon train road, it seems fate has smiled upon her in the form of Ned Bright, the Butterfield Overland Mail driver who finds her lying in the road along with a group of nuns he is transporting to open a school for girls.

    Fearing that she may be a child taken by the Comanche Indians and has now escaped, Ned feels that her best place for healing may be with the Ursuline nuns while he works with the fort to try and find out who Taabe Waipu really is and try to reunite her with her family, if only the Comanche's didn't have other plans.

    I received, Captive Trail by Susan Paige Davis compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review and feel in love with the sincerity of this storyline. Historically speaking there were hundreds of children taken by Indians but many never were able to return home to the families that never gave up searching for them. With the Comanche tribe, they have never had someone escape and they will stop at nothing to bring a runaway back. This one rates a 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion and love the duality the title insists, not only in being a captive in the Comanche tribe but also losing her heart to the man who will stop at nothing to help her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    Delightful Read

    It's been a long time since I've read a historical fiction book describing the life of white hostages in an Indian camp. I found Captive Trail by Susan Page Davis to be a delightful read. It tells the story of Taabe Waipu who was taken captive as a young child. She lived in a Comanche village for over twelve years, but had never fully forgotten her former life. When the opportunity arises, Taabe escapes, trying to find her family. A fall from her horse causes grave injuries. Her life begins a whirlwind of changes when stagecoach driver Ned Bright discovers her, along with nuns from the Ursuline Mission. They work together to for clues to her families whereabouts - only problem is Taabe doesn't remember English. This was a wonderful book in the Texas Trails series about the Morgan Family. I highly recommend it and am looking forward to reading the others in this series. This book was provided free for review by Moody Publishers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Incredible Series!

    Captive Trail by Susan Page Davis ISBN-978-0-8024-0584-5 The second book in the Texas Trail - Morgan Family Series continues in the excellence of the first book. In Lone Star Trail we know that Billie Morgan and her horse were gone, Comanche's. They continued searching for her but assumed she may be dead. She was nine years old at the time. Taabe Waipu is escaping the Comanche camp. She had an opening for escape and took it. She would not marry Peca and be tied down to the Numinu for the rest of her life. Pia had been her sister since she was taken all those years ago and she loved her and the baby but Chano, Pia's husband, thought she should marry Peca, a warrior who enjoyed raiding. Taabe took one of the fastest horses from the six Peca had left at their home as a way of asking for marriage and left with all the speed she could. Several days later the horse fell into a hole and Taabe was thrown off. She awoke in pain and the horse was gone. Ned Bright and his partner, Patrillo Garza who went by Tree, live on a ranch with run a stagecoach from it. Tree is a widower with four rambunctious sons and Quinta, the nine year old daughter, was already a wild cat and a spoiled one at that. Tree is now the station agent at the Bright-Garza Station and Ned was the driver of the stagecoach from their ranch to Fort Chadbourne, delivering mail and any paying customers. It was his first day. Their passengers were not ones who would pay though, two Sister's going to open a girls school. When Ned and Brownie, the shotgun rider, seen a body in the road they were concerned it was a trap. When Sister Natalie jumps out of the coach and heads for it Ned makes quick work of getting there first. It is a woman. The Sister's insist she stay at the Mission house. The Fort's Captain sends out feelers for missing girls to see if they can discover who Taabe really is. She no longer speaks or understands English. She was punished in the early days of her capture if she spoke English. Many people go to the Fort and then are taken to the Mission to see if Taabe is their daughter, even if the description did not match these people were desperate to find their missing children. A really good historical adventure with a touch or romance. The threat of Indian raids, not always knowing who you could trust, Taabe's struggle with the language and adjusting between the Indiana and white world. Looking forward to the next four books in this series. The first two are excellent even as they are written by two different authors. Book received through NetGalley for review

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    NG

    Great read.....gentle romance...222 pages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Very good read.

    Very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1