BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Captive in Iran: A Remarkable True Story of Hope and Triumph amid the Horror of Tehran's Brutal Evin Prison

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 18, 2013

    Part Testimony, Part Political Memoir, and Entirely Fascinating.

    Part Testimony, Part Political Memoir, and Entirely Fascinating.

    Maryam and Marziyeh are two Iranian young women who accepted Christianity "legally" (i.e., they had never professed Islam and were free from the laws in Iran punishing conversion from Islam). After being arrested under false pretenses, their home was ransacked, their possessions confiscated, and they were held illegally in a detention center, and then prison, without ever being formally charged. The informal charges quickly became clear during the first and subsequent interrogations: Christianity. Maryam and Marziyeh had answered questions about Christianity, held worship services in their homes, and given Bibles to those who asked for them. And not the rewritten, pro-Islam Bible sponsored by the state: but imported Bibles from Turkey.

    Told in alternating voices, their memoir/autobiography offers a detailed account of the life of a persecuted minority inside Iran's legal system. While the authors are straight forward with their testimony and their proselytizing efforts within the prison system, they also use their book to give a voice to the hundreds of other women in Iran's prisons who are held unjustly. Women who went out to buy bread, were imprisoned for unknowingly being in the wrong place at the wrong time, and whose families were blackmailed with the knowledge that once someone is arrested in Iran, they are guilty forever regardless of trial. Or women who were subjected to intolerable domestic and spousal abuse, defended themselves, and who were placed in prison, even executed, at their husbands' and in-laws' whims. Women who went to visit their children in camps, and were arrested for treason. Even the women prison guards and cleaning women have stories demonstrating the lack of freedom at every level. The plot may follow Maryam and Marziyeh's story, but the plot is driven by the many stories the authors share of the people they met along the way.

    For that reason, as much as this book is a religious memoir and testimony, it is also a political protest against the corrupt government in Iran and its abusive treatment of humans in general and women in particular. While the authors are conservative and their hearts burn to serve God, some of their statements and desires might resonate with the American feminists of the 1960's. They love their country and their people, and desperately hope for change. This book is another way for them to do that.

    Highly recommended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2013

    "Captive in Iran" is a very extraordinary and incredib

    "Captive in Iran" is a very extraordinary and incredible story of faith. Two young women get arrested and imprisoned for their Christian faith and for sharing it with other people. They are sent to Evin, the notorious Tehran prison. There they meet many women imprisoned for all kinds of weird reasons. It was very interesting to learn more about Muslim women, who are hiding behind the chador. We meet pious Muslim women, athletes, drug addicts, prostitutes, lesbians and simply abused ladies, victims of the circumstance, regime and religion. It was no news to me that women have little or no rights where the Sharia law rules but the most shocking thing was to read about one hour marriages. Women simply are used like disposable silverware and get thrown into a trash can. The worst part is that they have no way to defend themselves! To the defenders of Islam I would answer with this line from the book: "Anyone who says Islam is a religion of peace and equality should spend a week with the prisoners of Evin." p.136
    So it seems like God used Maryam and Marziyeh to preach the Gospel to the poor, heal the broken hearted and preach deliverance to the captives. And they answered the call well, stood strong and bold. It was amazing how they were answering questions during interrogations! I am sure that they could put to shame even the bravest of men!
    I am happy that they were released and I am sure that God has prepared something special for these wonderful women in the future!
    I loved the book and would highly recommend it, it is a worthy read!

    P.S. I received this book for free from Tyndale House Publishers for review purposes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2013

    How strong is your faith? Could it withstand torture, violence,

    How strong is your faith? Could it withstand torture, violence, abuse and still proclaim Jesus as your savior? Maryam Rostampour and Marziyeh Amirizadeh, two Christian women were imprisoned in hell on earth. In Tehran, it is illegal to hand out New Testament tracts let alone be a Christian. The women had an opportunity to witness to Christ among prostitutes, angry guards, thieves and many others who were imprisoned unfairly. This amazing book is full of courage, love and most important faith in Jesus Christ. Jesus can turn all evil into good for those that love Him and are called according to His purpose!!
    Comment Comment | Permalink

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2013

    After reading this book, I have never been so grateful to be a U

    After reading this book, I have never been so grateful to be a US citizen.




    Maryam Rostampour and Marziyeh Amirizadeh were arrested and held for 259 days in one of the world's most terrible prisons - Evin Prison in Iran.  They were arrested for "advertising and promoting Christianity" as well as the more serious charge of apostasy, which can result in a sentence of death by hanging.  Because the justice system (if you can call it that) in Iran is very subjective and quite corrupt, there was much confusion and a roller coaster of emotion for the women that they suffered throughout their entire experience.  Their own experiences are difficult enough to comprehend, and they also tell story after heartbreaking story of other women inside the prison, many of whom should not have even been there in the first place.  The conditions were so deplorable that they spent essentially the entire time dealing with varying illnesses; malnourished, as the food was laced with formaldehyde and most was contaminated or inedible; not enough beds, bathrooms, showers, etc. and more.  However, because they were able to share the very thing they had been imprisoned for - Jesus - the lives of just about everyone they came into contact with during this time period are now forever changed, and Maryam and Marziyeh will tell you that it was worth it all.




    Maryam and Marziyeh's love for Jesus, and their commitment to their faith even under such adversity are certainly remarkable.  I feel sure they would tell you it was only by God's grace that they were able to be strong, never changing their commitment to the truth.  This book was extremely compelling - I am so grateful to have heard their story, and I will recommend this book to everyone I know.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2014

    Captive in Iran is the autobiography of Maryam Rostampour and Ma

    Captive in Iran is the autobiography of Maryam Rostampour and Marziyeh Amirizadeh detailing their time in the notorious Evin Prison, Iran. These two women were Christians in an Islamic country. They made no attempts to hide their beliefs when called in to the police station for questioning. No matter what the authorities did, they would not recant their faith. So began their months in Evin Prison.

    I enjoyed this book as a refreshing change from fiction. What Marziyeh and Maryam went through and saw is completely true.

    Much of the story gives an account of the women Marziyeh and Maryam met during their stay in Evin and the temporary prison. The two women shared Christ with nearly everyone they met despite the harsh, discouraging conditions. They were already in prison for their beliefs; what more could be done to them? They write about the women in prison to show that so many were in prison only because of the government’s tyranny and lack of tolerance for others’ beleifs.

    The first chapter or two were a little confusing because the story keeps jumping forward and backward in time. After that, it’s fine. I was also a little confused about whose perspective the story was written from many times. Before each change of perspective, there is a name written; however, the authors’ personalities were somewhat indistinguishable, so that there was no other way to tell who was “speaking”.

    I loved this book. It helped me grow in faith and see the harsh realities of those outside my comfy America. I hope everyone who reads this book will, if nothing else, pray for those in prison for their faith.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2014

    This book is so absolutely inspiring! I could not put it down. I

    This book is so absolutely inspiring! I could not put it down. It's something I believe every American Christian should read. Very thought-provoking--a story that I think will stay with me for the rest of my life. The book is written in first person by the women who experienced almost one year in Evin Prison in Iran. I immediately felt like I knew these women, they brought me into their story, and they made me ask myself the same questions they asked. Would I risk everything to live God's will for my life? Would I flourish in prison the way they did? An amazing read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2014

    This book was so inspiring, encouraging, convicting and though-p

    This book was so inspiring, encouraging, convicting and though-provoking. I am still thinking a lot about the freedoms we have in America and how far I would go for my faith. These two women could have easily avoided and ended all their physical suffering by denying their faith, and yet they consistently insisted that life without Christ was worthless to them. It was a convicting reminder to me about where my priorities, joy, strength, and assurance should be. Also how God did so many amazing things through them in prison was encouraging and inspirational. This book was well worth my time and I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2014

    This is a fascinating story on many levels. The amount of patien

    This is a fascinating story on many levels. The amount of patience and trust in the Lord that these two women experienced is a
    testimony that should inspire other Christians. The relationships they formed with other women in prison and how these relationships
    changed prisoners as well as the many miracles they witnessed that God provided, should make Christians step back and consider
    their own lives and how God wants to work in and through each of us. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2014

    I never expected a true story of two young Christian women capti

    I never expected a true story of two young Christian women captive in a prison in Iran to be as exciting as a fictional murder mystery, but this book certainly was that and more!!! For three years Maryam and Marziyeh had given thousands of Bibles to their countrymen and had started two house churches. When they were arrested, they admitted they believed in Jesus, they gave Bibles to those who asked for them, and they talked about God. The charge against them was Christianity which usually meant a death sentence. However, they refused to tell the court any names of people who they saw. Finally they were taken to a loathsome prison, dirty, smelling strongly of urine and vomit, crowded, cold, with backed up toilets, where they would be held until they were sentenced, possibly to death. How crazy it appears that they would actually spend over 250 days in the worst prison in Iran before being sentenced! In prison they were able to speak so freely about Christ that they felt sure this is why they were sent to prison. If Christ wanted them out of prison, He would get them out. Even the question, why are you here, gave them the opportunity to tell about Christ. Each chapter was filled with either new obstacles they faced or stories of different women they met who were in prison often for things their husbands had made them do. But the inhumane treatment of the women, such as no food for days, little or spoiled food when they got some, too many women crowded into a room, forced to stand hours in the cold outside, etc. caused their health to fail. As their story made its way to the United States and other countries, pressure was put on the government in Iran for their release. Like the women in the prison I was fascinated by their story, their attitude and what was happening to them. I found it very difficult to put the book down long enough to fix meals or eat. It truly was a real life page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Amazing! Inspiring!

    Captive In Iran is an amazing testimony! I was so captivated, I couldn't put it down! Not only did it kill any doubts I had, but it reminded me that sometimes we have to go through hard, sad, tough, nightmarish, painful, lonely times but God goes WITH us. He doesn't tell us, "meet you on the other side, when things get better." He's THERE, even when we don't feel His presence! He gives us that unfathomable peace and that unbelievable strength to endure; not just endure, to THRIVE and take the light of His hope to the darkest, ugliest places! I will try harder, to not complain about my problems when I think about Maryam and Marziyeh! I will try to always give God the glory no matter how bad things get! I will also remember to stop my busy schedule and pray for other's who don't just read about, but LIVE that kind of nightmare!

    Let's all pray for them and see what God can do!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2013

    "captive in iran" is an amazing book writtion by 2 sis

    "captive in iran" is an amazing book writtion by 2 sisters who grew up in iran and converted to christianity and begain a missionery and underground church knowing full well that it was agist the law and they would face prison and death for trying to convert people to christ this is a great book these 2 women were caught and arrested with christian materials and sent to one of the most ruthless prisons in iran there story is very haard to put down. my pastor bruce toms of palma ceia united methdist church highly recamended this book in his sermon. I would also like to recamend the new billy graham book the reason for my hope salvation

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    ive stars means amazing, and this is an amazing story. This stor

    ive stars means amazing, and this is an amazing story. This story takes place just a few years ago (2009) starting with the arrest of these two Iranian Christians for the crime of proselytizing their religion in a Muslim country. The story takes us through their arrest, imprisonment, and trial, interspersed with personal stories of the other women who pass through the prison with them. Some of these women are freed and some are tried and executed. The fact that these two women where not found guilty and executed too, is a miracle. The rest of the story is also a miracle, as they go from witnessing for Jesus outside in Iran, to witnessing right inside the prison itself. Their insistence on their faith, and their conviction to stand for what they believe in, is an inspiration to everyone, not just Christians. If you are interested in Christianity, Islam, Middle-East affairs, Iran, life under a dictatorship, or just want a good story of faith, conviction, and perseverance, this is a book you will remember.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Amazing wat God does

    I read the book and it build me up in my faith. It made me value more the providence of the Lord in my life and love more the Lord and my brothers. Thank you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2013

    An amazing story!!!  Looking at the story of Maryam and Marziyeh

    An amazing story!!!  Looking at the story of Maryam and Marziyeh from a purely human perspective, there is no way they would get out of prison alive; but God was not finished with them yet.  He performed a miracle and they were released from prison and allowed to leave the country.  This book shows the horrors of prison life in Iran; but it also shows the community that rallied around these two ladies.  They had a free and clear avenue to witness about Jesus and witness they did.  I was challenged by their commitment to Jesus Christ in the face of possible death; I want to be that strong in my own faith in God.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2013

    Maryam and Marziyeh are two young women in Iran who were born in

    Maryam and Marziyeh are two young women in Iran who were born into Muslim families, but became Christian. They spread the gospel through sharing bibles and information with others quietly in Iran. They are imprisoned under charges of apostasy which carries the penalty of prison and/or execution. Although they were imprisoned, they did not stop telling others about Jesus or their Christian faith. This book is the story of their experiences in prison and after their release.

    What an inspiring story! In America, it is hard to understand what it must be like to share your faith under potential penalty of death. These two young women showed such courage, mercy, and compassion for others in the face of probable death. I highly recommend this book to anyone interested in what it means to be Christian in Iran. It is very candid and well-written and holds readers interest. I would love to have the opportunity to see these two women speak!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Captive in Iran is a very interesting book. I am the type of per

    Captive in Iran is a very interesting book. I am the type of person who likes to read biographies but never have I read one quite like this. In the pages of this book you will meet two young women who gave their all for a cause. Their story is so remarkable because not only did they face it without fear, but they helped others through their fears as well. Maryam and Marziyeh were two ordinary Christian women who lived out the Gospel. But they did it in an area that persecutes and imprisons Christians. So it was no surprise when they were one day arrested. But where they were taken was a different story. Many are the horror stories about the Evin prison on Tehran. And yet this was exactly where these two brave women were taken, for 259 days. 
    The book starts out with their arrest and then follows the account of their imprisonment. You get to hear both sides of the story as Maryam and Marziyeh take turns throughout the book telling what happened. From the very start you see how they both stood firm for their Lord, even when they were afraid and unsure of how things would turn out. Were they willing to die for him? I believe so. And this is evidenced by how they witnessed when they weren't supposed to and told even their torturers about Christ. How much more love and compassion can you show than being kind to someone who is starving you and beating you? This book made me re-think how I am from day to day and how much more loving I can be. Let us never forget to show Christ to those around us and be a help to those in need. And yes, even though they were in prison, they gave aid to those who needed it and showed love to their fellow prisoners. What a story is in these pages!! I believe every christian should have a copy and read it. I would definitely give it 5 stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    I was excited to finally be able to read Captive In Iran, but wh

    I was excited to finally be able to read Captive In Iran, but what not sure of what to expect. What I read was really amazing. I cannot begin to imagine what it must have been like in Evin. How loosing your friends, facing interrogations, and the many other things they went through must have been like, and yet they faithfully continued to share the love of Christ to everyone. I definitely suggest you read this book. It has the moments when you are joyful for those who are freed, and when you are saddened from the executions of others. It is encouraging to read of how they prayed and when their prayers were answered. Captive In Iran is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    This is an incredibly captivating story about two courageous wom

    This is an incredibly captivating story about two courageous women who are literally willing to die for their faith. I think that sometimes religious freedom breeds complacency and as an American Christian it is difficult to imagine what the cost could be to be a follower of Christ. I humbly turned the pages trying to put myself in their shoes and consider if I could so boldly express my faith in the face of persecution. I forget that just like the Christians of the Early Church, millions of Christians are persecuted world-wide. It's a story of courage, justice, tyranny and the human condition. This is a must read that will get you thinking about how far YOU would be willing to go for Christ.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    I can remember hearing about Maryam and Marziyeh a few years ago

    I can remember hearing about Maryam and Marziyeh a few years ago.  I remember calls for prayer going out for these two women who were jailed in Iran simply for being Christian. I also remember thinking it was a sad story, but at the same time feeling distanced from their plight.  I think that is often  the case when we hear of Christians in foreign countries jailed for their beliefs. As Americans with the freedom to practice any religion we choose, I find that we have a hard time really grasping what the persecution our Christian brothers and sisters face in other countries. Captive in Iran really opened my eyes about the struggles some people face and how they deal with them.




    Maryam and Marziyeh were jailed in Iran’s Evin prison, a place known for brutality. Amazingly, these two women took what man had meant for harm and truly used it for a great purpose; they saw it as the perfect opportunity to spread God’s word.  Maryam and Marziyeh knew that they had nothing to lose if they shared God’s love at Evin since they were already in prison. They spread God’s love through their actions and love for people; people who said they didn’t believe in Christianity came to them for prayer and wisdom. Even after repeatedly being offered the chance to recant, Maryam and Marziyeh stood firm in their faith and did what they knew God was calling them to do. Captive in Iran is a great book to read, a wonderful account of situation the majority of us will never find ourselves in.  It’s an awesome testimony and great encouragement.




    If you’d like to learn more about Maryam and Marziyeh and their story, head over to Captive in Iran.




    Disclaimer:




    I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for this review. All thoughts are my own and I was not required to write a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    A Must for all Followers of the Lord

    A riveting book about two women who were imprisoned for several months in one of the world's worst prison systems. Yet they overcame the situation by the "Blood of the Lamb and the Word of their Testimony". Rather than let the system overcome them, they submitted their lives totally to the Lord and He worked through them in a powerful way to affect the lives of countless people, including the people that actually worked for the prison.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2