BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Captives (Safe Lands Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Compelling, but mature Make no mistake, Captives is an extremel

    Compelling, but mature

    Make no mistake, Captives is an extremely engaging book. In fact, so much so that I read it in two days flat, despite it being very long, around 800 pages.

    It is a fast paced story too, there's never a dull moment, and never a shortage of conflict for the characters. They themselves are well-drawn and definitely likeable, even relatable. Each one is flawed in their own way, which somehow makes them even more loveable. My only problem was that I felt four main characters were too many, since I didn't get enough page-time with each.

    The storyworld was also well-planned, if nothing particularily original. It took me a long time to oreintate myself in in it, however, because it was so complex and so different from the one we live in. When I did get to know it though, I could picture it clearly.

    Now for my note of warning.

    The content matter of the book is very mature. This is a society where almost everyone is on drugs and living a wild life, while forcing some others to bear all the nation's children. Though the author skips over the more 'sticky' scenes we still know these exist and that alone was enought to make me, as a teen, uncomfortable. For this reason, I would only recommend this book to those over 14, and even then with a word of caution. If you are alright with all this, do go on and read the book, if not, maybe it is not for you.

    On all counts, this is an incredibly powerful book. It made me laugh, it kept me involved and it has left me thinking. Definitely worth trying.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    ¿Captives¿ by Jill Williamson is one of those hard to find books

    “Captives” by Jill Williamson is one of those hard to find books that I couldn’t put down. From the prologue I was drawn in, and the tug to keep reading never stopped. (I finished the book in a day, which for a girl who likes the draw out the enjoyment of reading for a week, rather than gobble it all up, is pretty fast)

    The book is incredibly fast paced, jumping between the POV of four various characters. While it certainly kept things interesting, I didn’t become as attached to the characters as I have in previous books with fewer characters. Mind you this isn’t because of lack of character development, Jill is fantastic with developing faulted, lovable, unique characters. We simply don’t have to opportunity to spend as much time with the characters. On the flip side we get to skip over boring parts and see what’s going on with a variety of characters. This is simply an observation, as there’s really no way to resolve the issue, and wouldn’t want Jill to have written it any other way.

    Jill does touch on some more mature topics now and then, however nothing is explicit and all instances only further the plot and are tastefully handled. I would not recommend the book to younger readers though. I’m fairly conservative in my reading choices, however even at 13-14 I would have found the vaporizing (aka smoking) club life and various lifestyles squirm worthy. As I said, everything is to further the plot and/or development of various characters and excluding them would have made the “gilded cage” much less cage-like and shocking.

    One of my only gripes is the book does end on a cliffhanger. (As far as cliffhangers go I’d rate it a medium) Which for a series is almost a requirement, but I prefer an ending that’s a little more wrapped up with a few loose ends and minor cliffhangers. This is more personal preference, and not a big deal, just be forewarned you’ll be searching Jill’s website for the release date of “Captives” sequel. :)

    If you enjoy Sci-Fi, Dystopian, or anything in between you’ll certainly enjoy “Captives”. Jill has weaved a unique and drawing story that lucky for us, spans more than one book. Now get out there and dive headlong into the story world and character's in Captives. Enjoy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2013

    In the village of Glenrock, during the year 2088, life is fairl


    In the village of Glenrock, during the year 2088, life is fairly simple, almost old-fashioned. But the lives of three brothers and their family and friends are about to change. The eldest, Levi, is handsome and a natural leader who is about to be married to his one, true love, Jemma. The middle child, Mason, is practical, smart, and dreams of being a doctor, much to his father's chagrin. And the youngest, Omar, is an artistic, rebellious soul who is restless under his father's constant disapproval, which leads him to make a heart-breaking choice. When those in Glenrock are taken captive and brought to the Safe Lands--a modern, futuristic society enclosed by formidable walls and security--the brothers are torn apart, but their individual journeys just might make it possible to bring those who survived back together again.





    With so many dystopian stories flooding the fiction scene, Captives by Jill Williamson stands out with its fresh take on the ancient tale of the Israelites taken captive by the Babylonians. The first part of the book rolled along steadily with character and world building taking the forefront. And what a world! It was colorful, compelling, and jumped straight off the page. The second half though is when I felt the story really pick up speed as the action grew more intense. I was flipping pages to see what would happen next until I suddenly realized I was at the end.





    Captives explores delicate subject matter through the characters facing tough situations and makes one contemplate seriously about the future of our society. Even though the topics are serious, there are still moments in the book that make me smile, especially the Princess Bride quotes interspersed throughout. Which leads me to end this review with a quote--just for fun--from the Princess Bride that I feel will compliment Captives very nicely (though the giant and monsters bit depends on your point of view ;) ).





    "The Grandson: A book?...Has it got any sports in it?


    Grandpa: Are you kidding? Fencing, fighting, torture, revenge, giants


    monsters, chases, escapes, true love, miracles...


    The Grandson: Doesn't sound too bad. I'll try to stay awake.


    Grandpa: Oh, well, thank you very much, very nice of you.


    Your vote of confidence is overwhelming."¿


    ¿




    Genre: Dystopian/YA


    Ages: 15 and up


    Pages: 400


    Publication Date: 2013





    *I would like to thank the author and publisher for providing me with a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Captives is the story of a dystopian world where all anyone is c

    Captives is the story of a dystopian world where all anyone is concerned about is finding pleasure in life. The Safe Lands is a city where the population has walled themselves off from the outside world, but they are slowly dying off because of the Thin Plague. If they want to continue having a thriving population, they must bring in uninfected outsiders. And that's where we get our story.

    I love Jill Williamson's books, and this one was no exception. It was intriguing and slightly unsettling, and had me hooked from the first page. Captives is a phenomenal addition to the world of dystopian literature. I loved the futuristic lingo of the Safe Landers, and the deep characterization of Levi, Omar, and all the rest. Readers of Jill's books will find in this one everything they've come to love about her other stories. I can't wait to read book two.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2014

    Jill Williamson captures my interest on the very first page and

    Jill Williamson captures my interest on the very first page and I just have to keep reading.
    I enjoy the basis in science in this book as well as Replication. I enjoyed her comparison of
    "old" and "new," before and after, Safe Lands and Glenrock. The action is nonstop. Medical
    crises, real threats and danger, ultra-modern technology, and imperfect characters who grow
    and change and come to learn what they really value, work together to create a real page-
    turner. Caution to the reader: Captives is book 1 of a trilogy - be prepared to read all three!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    Anonymous

    Cool and very good written

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    A riveting read! Highly recommend this to YA readers. I receive

    A riveting read! Highly recommend this to YA readers.

    I received this for free and have written my honest opinion about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2014

    Like the title of this book you too will be held captive by this

    Like the title of this book you too will be held captive by this story.

    I love how the book opens with Daniel 1:1, 3-5 where King Nebuchadnezzer takes all the strong young men from Jerusalem. This sets the stage for you are about to read.

    Although this book is geared for teens I really enjoyed it. I would say if you have a teen in your life who likes the Hunger Games series they would enjoy this book but it’s even better because God is part this plot.

    A word of caution. There is talk about forced pregnancy because the Safe Lands are trying to rid themselves of this disease that is going around so they are trying to have babies that are born without being infected. However, there’s nothing graphic or detail about how these girls are getting pregnant, I was not offended at all.

    I always recommend reading a book before you allow your child or read it with them so you can have a conversation with him or her about the content and you can voice your thoughts in a healthy way.

    The three brothers in the book were so different and Jill does a wonderful job of giving them each their own voice and personality.

    I think you will enjoy this glimpse into a possible future that isn’t so good but we are always looking for the same thing….hope.

    A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers program in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2014

    Captives is set in the dystopian future where the water became c

    Captives is set in the dystopian future where the water became contaminated with the "thin plague". The only known safe water supply is in the western American mountains (probably the Rockies, but that was never specified). A city was built around this water supply known as the Safe Lands. The residents of the Safe Lands were safe from the plague, that is until they began leading lives of debauchery. The plague had become bloodborn by that time and it began to spread among the cities residents. 

    When the Safe Lands residents refused to change their way of living, several different groups of residents decided to leave the city and build villages of their own. One of these villages is Glenrock, found by Elias. Elias had three sons and the oldest, Justin, had three sons - Levi, Mason and Omar. Neither Mason nor Omar fit well into the village that focuses on hunting. Mason is more interested in medicine (a woman's task) and Omar is more interested in his art. This discontent leads to major trouble for everyone. 

    The book is a wonderful read. It is fast paced and exciting. The characters are believable. They have true strengths and true weaknesses that make different parts of their lives easier and harder. There development as individuals is handled well as they all adapt and change throughout the story. However, there were a lot of different characters, each with their own story line that tied into the bigger plot. The perspective of the story was constantly changing, but you never had the feeling that something was happening that you didn't know about. 

    While the Safe Lands is a world all its own (think the Capital in The Hunger Games) it is explained well and I never had questions about what was going on or why citizens were taking weird actions. There was lots of interesting ideas about what a future world might look like that were easily based in current times. This included some of the jargon of the city, though there were a few times I was left scratching my head until something was given a definition. 

    I received a copy of the book Captives by Jill Williamson from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This is truly how I felt about this book. I really think that you will enjoy it too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2014

    Captives was a captivating read, no pun intended. It's written f

    Captives was a captivating read, no pun intended. It's written from multiple point of views, which isn't easy to do, and do with skill. Both of which Jill does in this novel. The story line is excellent, and has a very nice ending. Each character is unique, with their own skills, dreams, and lives. The conflicts are spread out perfectly and Jill uses incredible detail, without using too much. All in all, Captives is something worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2014

    Captives is the first dystopian I have read and it won't be the

    Captives is the first dystopian I have read and it won't be the last!

    In the beginning it took me a little while to get into the story and wrap my mind around what was going on! Once I met the enforcers though everything changes and it took me on an adventure that I wasn't prepared for! The storyline and imagery was one of the most interesting I have read! The descriptions of the Safe Lands enthralled me concerning the jobs, styles, and technology! I was amazed at how the nationals lived, but so heartbroken for the women who lived in the harem (well really all of the nationals)! They are such a broken people underneath the pretty paint!

    Concerning the Glenrock clan, I couldn't put the book down because of them and had to keep reading more to find out what would happen to these precious characters! I really liked how the author wrote from a few different perspectives because she changed them up enough that it gives you a full view of the situation they're in! Plus they all had different personalities that really brought the book together in a unique way (I don't even have a favorite character because I liked all of them except maybe Omar and Mia)!

    One thing I will mention is that there isn't a huge faith factor, but Jill really delivers a great message of real love between a man and woman in how they are to be "exclusive" as well as how God created children and the way they are suppose to come into this world! It was an underlying message that I thought was very powerful, especially when the Safe Land nationals thought both of those concepts were ridiculous!

    If your looking for a novel that not only has a positive message, but brings to life a whole another world then definitely read Captives because it will do all that and more!

    I give this novel a 4.5 out 5 stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2014

    This book hooked me from the beginning and delivered an action-p

    This book hooked me from the beginning and delivered an action-packed adventure throughout. Jill Williamson has crafted a story that would appeal to older teens with its dystopian setting and dynamic characters.
    Main character Omar falls prey to the promise of power offered by the Safe Lands enforcers out of the jealousy he feels toward his brothers. After all, it’s not really betrayal since he believes his people will live a better life inside the Safe Lands, where society is far advanced from his own village of Glenrock.
    Levi, Omar’s brother, who returns to Glenrock after a trip arranged by Omar, discover many of his relatives and friends dead and everyone else kidnapped. Shocked that his brother would betray the village, he must gain access to the Safe Lands to rescue the captives, including his fiancé, from a society that is only deceptively idyllic.
    A third brother, Mason, is enlisted to help the Safe Landers overcome a plague that threatens to annihilate their citizens. Women are to serve as healthy surrogates to create offspring not affected by the plague.
    Some of the captives are deceived by the pursuit of pleasure and worship of beauty propagated by futuristic technology. Others battle against the permissiveness to maintain moral and spiritual values.
    The story is never preachy, but carries the strong message that the pursuit of pleasure is not the best path to happiness and fulfillment in life. Consequences for poor choices are demonstrated throughout the story.
    Miss Williamson hurls her characters into a futuristic world that becomes believable through her vivid imagery. The plot navigates them through a maze of moral decisions with potentially dangerous consequences.
    I thought the book ended rather abruptly, but then learned there are two sequels in the works. I can’t wait to see where Miss Williamson takes her characters in those next two novels.
    The book contains no graphic scenes, but does deal with mature subject matter, such as drug addiction, sexual freedom, seductive behavior, and artificial insemination. I would recommend it for mature teens of upper level high school age.
    A copy of this book was provided to me free of charge in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    The premise was interesting. However, the execution was overly-p

    The premise was interesting. However, the execution was overly-preachy. You can drive a point home subtly, or with a sledge-hammer, and this book uses the sledge-hammer to preach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Captives The Safe Lands 1 By Jill Williamson Levi is the favored

    Captives
    The Safe Lands 1
    By Jill Williamson
    Levi is the favored son of Justin of Elias. He is to marry for love. He is a hunter. He can go on scavenging trips to Denver City. And he has earned the respect of his father, something that his younger brothers cannot do no matter how hard they try.

    Mason has decided that trying to earn his father's respect and trust is an impossible tasks though he tries his best to please him. But Omar is determined to win it no matter what the cost, but does he know how much he is going to pay?

    The Safe Lands were designed to protect the people from a plague, but what was to be a safety has turned into an even greater danger. The city is the plague and there is no way to stop it or to save the city without drastic measures. And Omar and the people of Glenrock may be the Safe Lands last hope.

    Omar in an act of betrayal destroys Glenrock and rips Jemma and Levi apart just days before their marriage. Can Levi find a way to get within the city and free those who have been taken against their will?

    The ease of life in the Safe Lands is a powerful draw, but is the loss of their freedom and the chance of becoming infected a reasonable trade? But the Safe Lands is home to people whose wild ways may have lead to the plague's spread through what was suppose to be a fortress of safety from the plague.

    Mason has been put in a position within the Safe Lands where he is able to study the problem of the plague up close. Can he use the skills he developed in Glenrock and stop the plague? Can he bring hope where there is none or will it merely be false hope?

    As Mason struggles to cure the plague and to save the people of Glenrock from forced surrogacy, Levi is working on a plan of escape. Meanwhile Omar is falling into all that the Safe Lands has to offer in an attempt to hide from his guilt over what went wrong with his grand plan.

    If you liked the Hunger Games or The Sky Chasers series but wanted books that offered something more you will love Captives. Captives has a belief in something more than self and learning to accept the person God made you to be. Captives will tug at your heart as you experience the unhappiness that fills the Safe Lands. The only problem I have is now I have to wait until book 2 is published!

    This is definitely for the older YA reader (16+).

    I was provided a copy of this book by the publisher in exchange for my honest review and as a part of this May TNT Blog Tour.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2013

    If your'e looking for a book that will take you to another time

    If your'e looking for a book that will take you to another time and place, Captives is a great choice. I loved not just the creative technology in the Safe Lands, but also how they had a whole different way of speaking and different philosophies about life.
    My favorite part of the reading experience was getting to know the three brothers, Mason, Levi, and Omar. I loved their unique voices and struggles, particularly Mason's. I'm so eager for the second book in this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Captives had a lot of action going on from the very begining and

    Captives had a lot of action going on from the very begining and the more I read this book, the better it got. I loved Mason, he was hands down the smartest of the Glenrock group. I didn’t like Omar. I mean, I got his need for love and acceptance, but it made him act a bit stupid. Levi and Jemma…. They felt almost too perfect to me.  I liked Naomi if only because she was the only of the women smart enough to go “hey, this is twisted.” I also really didn’t like swallow Mia.
    The stupidity of the people in the Safe Lands made me want to gag. What with the way they were sleeping with multipule people NO WONDER YOU’VE ALL GOT STDS. And the mothers all are dumb enough to drink while preganant. Those people were SO DUMB. You think they’d realize a lifestyle change could save them, but noooooo.

    So overall, not the best book I’ve read, but definately worth picking up. 4/5. You can buy it on amazon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    So¿I¿m not really sure what to say about Captives by Jill Willia

    So…I’m not really sure what to say about Captives by Jill Williamson. I could say that Inspirational fiction finally has contender on the dystopoian fiction scene, but it’s probably not dismal enough for you if you’re a die-hard dystopian fan. (Unlike myself-sick of it already.) Or I could say that Captives is Teen Inspy fiction at it’s best. Williamson mimics the most popular themes in current teen dystopian fiction, skillfully incorporates biblical and social themes into her own unique story, and simultaneously raises the bar for everyone else. Of course, if you’ve read any of Jill’s other books, you probably expected no less. Personally, I think Captives is my favorite Jill Williamson book yet! It was awesome. But then, I kind of expected it to be awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    This book rocks. Seriously, I loved it.  I'm not sure what else

    This book rocks.

    Seriously, I loved it.  I'm not sure what else to say!  The future lifestyle, the beliefs of Safe Lands nationals and of outsiders, the technology, the customs... it was all so believable, so realistic, so awesome.  I'm inclined to agree with other reviewers who said it's a little scary.  If a plague like the Great Pandemic were to hit in real life, this is a future I could see forming in my lifetime!  (Granted, I'd be as old as the grandfather Papa Eli by the time it reached the point where this book opens.)  I honestly couldn't put Captives down.

    The characters were great.  I understood and connect with Omar, even though he's the one who betrayed his village.  I had trouble clicking with Levi and Mason, but once I did I came to respect Levi.  Mason is my absolute favorite character.  I love him, his thought process, his personality - man, he was great.  As for the supporting characters, I couldn't stand Father, but you're not really supposed to like him.  Papa Eli was a wonderful grandfather and leader.  Shaylinn, a young teenage girl from Mason's village, was sooo sweet and my favorite girl from the village.  Ciddah, a Safe Lands national, was amazing.  I can't wait to see more of her.  The rebels that Levi connected with were not cliche at all - everyone in the book was their own person.  Red and Belbeline (red-headed women who like men and clubs and have... unique style) were a little too similar in my opinion, but most of the time they're still pretty easy to distinguish.

    A good dystopian has to have some new technology and culture.  ColorCasts, ChatterBoxes, SimArt, PVs - I loved it.  Totally believable and really, really cool.  As for the culture, I love how the Safe Lands has its own words - femme for girl, glossy as 'cool' or 'in' sort of thing, mimic for fan (as in I'm a fan of Jill Williamson), etc.  The television shows, medical information, clubs, and architecture all added to the creative and plausible future world.

    This book does have some mature themes, so it's not for kids.  However, for Jill's target audience of older teens, it's perfect.  Just perfect.  I can't find anything wrong with this book and recommend it to everyone 15 and older.  Five stars!

    I received this book for free from the author in exchange for a review.  All opinions expressed are entirely my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2013

    Multiple main characters paint a vivid tale. Ms. Williamson h

    Multiple main characters paint a vivid tale.

    Ms. Williamson has brought to live an entirely new world, with entire orders and codes of its own. I was whisked away to Glenrock and then Safe Lands, I loved the way that she showed in various ways the many contrasts between the two civilizations, in not only landscape, but in way of life, and moral codes.

    The story was told from various viewpoints, and usually that isn't my thing, but this time I think that it truly enhanced the story showing the strange new world that they had stepped into from each person's perspective.

    I think that my favorite character was Mason, because he was quick-witted, careful, and always thinking not just going along with what was going on and wisely hiding his thoughts.

    I really loved the brilliance of this plot, and how it focuses on finding absolute truth in a clouded world.

    Overall, this book was an adventure that swept me to a different time and place, and all from the safety of my own home! I'll be honest and tell you right now that I don't want to visit Safe Lands anytime soon! But this book was a well written adventure, and I look forward to seeing how the epic unfolds in future books. You won't want to miss it!

    I received this book from the author and the publisher in return for an honest review! Thank you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2013

    This Christian Dystopian novel is one you won't want to miss! C

    This Christian Dystopian novel is one you won't want to miss!

    Captives introduces us to a whole new world in 2088. The Safe Lands practically pop out of the page and take you in. Jill did such a wonderful job making it believable and realistic with amazing detail. Speaking of The Safe Lands, as "safe" as it sounds, it really isn't. The place is actually rather quite terrifying the more you learn about it. I don't blame the Elders who said no to The Safe Lands.

    The primary characters we focus on in the novel are Mason, Omar, Levi, and Shaylinn. Truthfully, I hadn't anticipated the many points of view, but it worked really well! It opened the door for me to look at what was going on through different pairs of eyes, who all had unique ways of looking at their circumstances.

    Confession time. I am very partial to Levi's and Shaylinn's points of view. I found Levi likable primarily for his loyalty to his family and friends. His determination to put his own life on the line to get them back. His quoting Westley from The Princess Bride... *cough* Anyway, overall he earned his spot as one of my favorite characters. ;-)

    As a result of The Safe Lands ungodly lifestyle there is many instances revolving around a character, whose name I shall not disclose. No instances are explicit, in fact, Jill handles all of it really well in a way with few details. Nonetheless, be advised.

    My personal conclusion? This book is fantastic! And the ending has left me eager for the sequel!

    I received this book from the publisher in return for an honest review of my opinions, which I have done. Thank you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2