Customer Reviews for

The Capture (Guardians of Ga'Hoole Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 721 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(477)

4 Star

(126)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(42)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

One Of The Best Storylines I Have Read

The story line was awsome. With turns at every corner. It was thrilling awsome and puzzling at the same time. I loved it. Overall it was one of the best storylines I have read.

posted by TheLastBronzeDragon on May 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

A Great Book to a Wonderful Series!

I think this book is a great start to the world of owls. I'm sure tons of people will enjoy this series as well.

posted by mccorp on January 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 733 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 37
  • Posted May 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One Of The Best Storylines I Have Read

    The story line was awsome. With turns at every corner. It was thrilling awsome and puzzling at the same time. I loved it.
    Overall it was one of the best storylines I have read.

    22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Great series of books! Although mostly written for teens, both my wife and I found them very captivating. Easy reading and good stories of good vs evil.

    18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2009

    A Great Book to a Wonderful Series!

    I think this book is a great start to the world of owls. I'm sure tons of people will enjoy this series as well.

    14 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Most detailed book ever

    I love how soren is so curious and never giving up kind of owl and I fell in love with the movie the first time that I watched it.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Ga'hoole

    The books were pretty good. I loved reading about owls, but the books feel a little rushed and theres not much detales in the fighting seens. The warrior seires i think are better, but its still fun reading this seires. I would say a ten year old could probily read these books with having bad dreams or anything. Whats funny, is that i find my self using the word "gizzard". I would recimend reading this seires.

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    OWL CITY!

    Shipwreck in a sea of faces, there's a dreamy world up there. Dear friends in higher places, carry me away from here. Travel light, let the sun eclipse you, 'cause your flight is about to leave. And there's more to this brave adventure than you'd ever beleive. ***** Bird's eye veiw, awake the stars 'cause they're all around you. Wide eyes will always brighten the blue. Chase your dreams, and remember me sweet bravery, 'cause after all those wings will take you up so high, so bid the forest floor goodbye as you chase the wind and take to the sky. (Da da....) **** on the heels of war and wonder. There's a stormy world up there. You can't whisper above the thunder, but you can fly anywhere. Purple burst of paper birds this picture paints a thousand words, so take a breath of myth and mystery, and don't look back. **** (chorus) **** There's a realm above the trees. *where the lost are finally found* So touch your feathers to the breeze. *and leave the ground* ****(chorus (key change))**** Take to the sky.

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Annonymus

    This was a great book. It is betterr than the movie version
    which is nothing at all like the books. For anyone who has seen the movie but not read the books, than i urge you to read the books. You will be glad you did.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Anoymus

    I really liked this book

    7 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    New age crap

    This book was so good at first that i had too buy the whole collection but when i got to book 10 i looked back at past books in the seires and said to my self omg this brain washing new age crap

    7 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Best Series Ever!!!!!!!!!

    This is the best series ever and I highly rcommend it. The story is heartbreaking and thrilling. There are cliff-hangers between books thatv justmakes you want to read more!
    READ THESE BOOKS!!!!!!!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    I need a good way to tell you

    A little slow in parts like the begining, so I would not recomend this book for young children under the age of nine. But overall, this book is realy great, so I personally recomend this story for pople who love adventure, mystery, scandal, and most importantly, OWL'S!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Kathryn Lasky has created a whole new world! Very good book! E

    Kathryn Lasky has created a whole new world!

    Very good book! Espacially if you LOVE owls! Recomend it for ages 9 and up!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Anonymous hacker

    Mariana, check your email!

    3 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Anonomous

    THIS IS AN AWESOME BOOK

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Read the circle trilogy if you like adventure and other worlds.

    Epic

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    The capture

    A great and thrilling book. I loved it! Put me on the edge of my seat. Now, I am reading guardians off ga hoole books like crazy.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    None

    Very good so was the movie

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2011

    Gahoole

    It is a good boook so far

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Fun with books

    You should read the entire series and try and look for things you would like in a book. Please don't just take my opinon for this take everybody's opinon. Just have fun with the books. Mabey ages 8+ or high reading levels. 5 stars



    -Owls101forever

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Owls of Ga'hoole

    Kathryn Lasky is a great writer, along with Rowling, Tolkien, and Erin Hunter. She is very unique for using owls. I would have never thought about writing a fantasy about owls.
    I love her series.
    If you like Owls of Ga'hoole, you'd like Wolves of the Beyond. I enjoyed both series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 733 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 37