Customer Reviews for

Capture (Butch Karp Series #21)

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another enjoyable read from Mr. Tanenbaum . . .

    I love the Karp/Ciampi clan stories and of the numerous "hangers-on" that seem to surround them, Dirty Warren is my favorite . . . in this area, in this book, the author did not disappoint. I was never so happy to see the ending and the apparent dissolvement of the Sons of Man. The only thing that would've made me happier would be to see the end of David Grale and the Mole people. I would like ask Mr. Tanenbaum when he is going to continue the story he alluded to in a much earlier book, regarding Trahn and his connection to the death in Vietnam of Jojola's brother? I would like to see the "edge of your seat" courtroom thriller that I know this author is capable of, not the flimsy doomsday scenario with cartoonish side characters which does not interest me.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    NEW YORK MIGHT BE A GONER THIS TIME.

    Much like another of his books, but still entertaining.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    fans will relish the latest Robert K. Tanenbaum's tense thriller.

    Broadway musical producer F. Lloyd Maplethorpe is counting on his reputation to keep him going as his last few shows have been flops. He hopes his latest venture will prove successful as he is arranging Putin: the Musical for the live theatre. One night he calls the concierge to come up to his apartment; Harry arrives only to see the body of a dead woman who had a part in the show. Lloyd tells Harry "I think I killed her". At his trial, Maplethorpe changes his tune stating she committed suicide; as happens frequently at celebrity trials, the jury is split. New York District Attorney Roger "Butch" Karp intends to prosecute the retrial. His private security specialist wife, Marlene Ciampi finds a frightened witness who she protects.--------------

    Meanwhile the Sons of Man, a group with members in all levels of authority, are using the Muslims to create an incident that will surpass 9/11 in horror and death. They plan to make it seem Iran did the dastardly deed so that they can seize total power in a coup. The daughter of Ciampi and Karp, an agent for a top secret government group, Lucy is captured by the group's leader as she had begun to get to close to uncovering their devious scheme. Karp and Ciampi have to change direction as New York City is under internal Armageddon. -----------

    Part legal thriller and part ant-terrorist conspiracy thriller, CAPTIVE is an exhilarating fast-paced, but over the top of the Empire State Building tale. Both subplots are fully developed so fans of the series will find each fun to follow. Butch is his usual confident self as he seeks justice in a courtroom while Maplethorpe lines up some powerful defenders. He is also a worried father as his daughter is snatched by his enemy and his wife in support roles has begun to help uncover a conspiracy that if achieved would sink the boroughs under the sea along with the government. Though way out and wild, fans will relish the latest Robert K. Tanenbaum's tense thriller.----------------

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    Good book for fans of the Butch Karp series

    I have read all of the Butch Karp novels and have greatly enjoyed the series. I only have one problem with these books. In every book the author spends the first 100 or so pages introducing all the characters. This is very annoying and boring. This is the 20th book in the series. No one starts a series of books on the 20th book. Either you are a fan of the series and have read all of them or you start with the first book. With that complaint out the way I can say that this book does a really good job of moving the saga if this unique family along. I just wish that Tanenbaum could manage to publish more than one book a year.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2014

    Jackson

    Hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2014

    Liz

    She looks up. Hi. Who are you?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Zack

    Amazing work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    CAPTURED a total drama fanfic ch. 6

    (@ Diana: no, because Sierra and Cameron remind me of two of my friends, coincidentally with the same names) <p> Brick's Pov <br> "We should head to the camera room," Jo suggested, "that way, we can see if the others are anywhere else in the camp." <br> Mike nodded thoughtfully, "that's a good idea, but what's to stop the kidnapper from getting there before us?" <br> "I didn't think of that Gap-tooth," she said truthfully. <br> I stepped in, "Jo, Mike, Heather, if I may, I propose moving out slowly but steadily, taking out cameras as we go. We can start with the other cabin and fan out from there." <br> Heather nodded slowly, "I would complain, but I don't really see any flaws with that plan." <br> Mike voiced his agreement, that left only Jo. <br> "Well Maggots, I don't like our situation, but it's the best plan we've got, suit up!" <p> Mike's Pov <br> "Is this really nesesary?" I motioned at the hat, Geoff's, hanging over my back. <br> Heather scoffed, "of course it is. What if we need that treasure-hunting guy-" <br> "Manitoba." <br> She rolled her eyes, "you know what I mean, besides, I'm not happy about this either." <br> I knew what she meant. Unsure what to expect, we had equipped ourselves in all ways possible. Each of us had a small backpack, filled with food, water, a change of clothes, and, in my case, a rope for Manitoba to use. We had then dressed ourselves so that the smallest amount of skin possible was showing. We figured that it would not only prevent mosquitoes, but it might help against tranquilizer darts (we had found a few on the beach) <br> Jo hadn't been a problem, her clothes already covered her arms and legs. I had used one of Cameron's extra hoodies, it was a little small, but it worked. Brick had found one of Duncan's long-sleeved shirts and we decided that his socks were long enough to count as leg protection. The big problem, was Heather. <br> We had found her a pair of Lindsay's boots, Gwen's black tights, one of Izzy's skirts, and one of Brigette's blue hoodies. It had taken her ten minutes to agress to wear it, and even after that she complained, "I look ridiculous! Oh, I think Izzy's crazy is going to leak into me." <br> Jo rolled her eyes, "like I said before, we officially just lost." <p> Sorry for the short, boring chapter. It was mostly just filler. I wanted to say that I am taking requests for Pov's of characters, however I would like to refrain from doing Izzy (her section would make no sense) Sierra (her whole section would be in text format, and I can't do that) Lindsay (I love Lindsay, but she's an airhead and it would all be about lipgloss) or Justin (self-explanatory) I will do anyone else, though it may be a few chapters after you request for them to appear. ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Diana

    I can't stop laughing when I think about Heather in this scene. You're hilarious!
    ((And that's kinda scawy. :D))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    The story gets lost in all the quirkiness of this book.I am giving up on it at the third compact disc of 13 discs.

    I am listening to this on the compact disc version and I agree with the reviewer that introducing all the characters from previous books in the series is tedious and boring. I kept waiting for the story to begin. Some semblance of a story appears on the third disc. I kept checking back to B&N to see if the book I have was mis-labeled, but no, this was the correct book. The voices for the various characgters in the beginning were very annoying.(Publisher's Weekly - "cartoonish crop of new and old villains" says it. I'm not interested in over-the-top cartoonish characters in a book. I will try one of Tanenbaum's books from another series and see if it is less goofy and tells a coherent story. I am disappointed in this book and advise that if you want a straight forward story, this isn't it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another good read from Tanenbaum

    This is a nice continuation of the case of characters. The plot was OK but it was a bit of a slower read than previous books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    Another great book in ths series.

    I always enjoy this series. The continuity is superb, but the adventures and twists keep the material fresh and exciting. I highly recommend the entire series. But this and all Tannenbaum's Butch Karp books can stand alone as a great read.
    The only down side? I would love to see Marlene kick some more a*@ !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Hard to put down!

    I really enjoyed this book! The plot is multi-layered and well connected.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Capture

    Hold on to your seats this is the thrill ride. New York is in for a shock this one rock us to our core.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2