Customer Reviews for

Captured by Desire

Average Rating 4
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    an entertaining fast-paced sixteenth century historical romance

    In 1548 Master Goldsmith Miss Florie Gilder understands society dictates for women; as she is the talent who makes the beautiful pieces people buy, but her foster father gets the credit as the artisan because women are not allowed to create or sell these masterpieces. She becomes upset when the only item she owns that is not for sale, a piece her late mother gave her that her biological father created, is mistakenly sold to Lady Mavis Gilbert, wife of the Selkirk sheriff Gilbert.

    Florie steals her family heirloom, but Lady Mavis shouts thief and if apprehended she will be charged with theft. As she flees from the sheriff's men, Rane MacAllister, who hunts deer to feed the sheriff and the poor, shoots an arrow at her mistaken her gallop for that of an animal. He realizes his error when he gets closer. He takes the injured woman to a rundown church to heal while concealing her from the sheriff. As they fall in love, he knows his mission to the impoverished needs to come first, but he endangers it by hiding a "criminal" as he could lose his position as the sheriff's hunter or even be hung.

    From the opening line of "Thief", Captured By desire is an entertaining fast-paced sixteenth century historical romance. The lead couple seems star-crossed as he is the sheriff's hunter while she is the thief the sheriff chases. Historical readers will enjoy this exciting twisting tale as love arrives when you least expect it.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Snowclaw

    Do you think i should make this an evil clan where we steal kits and battle

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    Great Title as you are Captured as soon as you start the read

    Raw emotion. You feel as though you are right in the middle of the entire story. Kudos and this is a great nook book. I could not put it down last night!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good historical fiction

    This was a decent book. I liked the story, Florie trying to find out who she is, while falling in love with Rane who has some "finding" of his own to do.

    I liked Florie, she was determined, if nothing else. Then there was Rane, I liked him a lot. He was so strong, and yet so sensitive. They made for a great couple, lots of sparks flying there.

    The writing was pretty good. The story had a good pace, the characters were well developed. There was just something that I didn't fully connect with in this one. It's not that I didn't like it, I just didn't love it. But it kept me reading till the end.

    I think my issue is that I'm getting burnt out on historical romance. I need to get myself into a few books from different genres. Variety is the spice of life, right?

    I did like the story, and it did hold my interest. So I'd have to say it was worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2010

    AN AMAZING HISTORICAL ROMANCE WITH A DRAMATIC CONCLUSION!!

    CAPTURED BY DESIRE by Kira Morgan is an amazing historical romance set in 1548 Scotland. It is well written with depth and details. The characters and plot are well developed, easy to follow, and will definitely fall in love with. It has betrayal, romance, sensuality, wit, danger, spies,trust, acceptance, finding your heritage, and following your heart.It is fast paced, a page turner, set on the edge of your seat, with twists and turns. It will capture your heart from page one to the end. The hero, Rane, is handsome, sexy, a huntsman for the sheriff,Lord Gilbert, loved by all the women of his village, tender hearted, and keeps his promises.He is also part Scottish and part Viking, which is supposed to make him irresistible to all woman. Legend is their is a curse which makes women love him. The heroine, Florie, is tall, strong willed, a goldsmith, determined to not fall in love or lose her heart to anyone. She is determined to find her biological father from an treasured heirloom giving to her by her mother on her deathbed. This heirloom causes her trouble from the wife of the Lord Gilbert(Lady Mavis), she recognizes the heirloom and is determined to destroy it and its owner. What follows is a dramatic conclusion with adventure, love, hate, betrayal, and what could have been a disaster for both Florie and Rane and their love. I would highly recommend this book especially if you enjoy all the romance and splender of a wonderful amazing historical romance. This book was received for review and details can be found at Forever an imprint of Hachette Book Group and My Addiction and More.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    This historical romance is a sure-fire winner for every romance fanatic. The title says it all! I couldn't help but picture myself as Florie and I drooled over Rane throughout the whole book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great story with interesting characters

    When you are a talented but uncomplicated woman living in a difficult and tragic time how do you cope? For Miss Florie Gilder it is a matter of accepting the tradition of the time and let the males run the show plus take the credit while you do all the work. She is a master goldsmith who creates works of art with her delicate hands and sells the wares she creates under the guise of letting everyone think her foster father is the genius yes in reality it is Florie that has the gift and always did.

    It was during one of the fares where Florie was selling her work when everything turned quickly into a horrific twist of fate she could never have predicted. There is one piece Florie could never sell and it is a pomander that her mother left her before she died. Her mother explained that it was a gift from Florie's biological father and with that piece she could find him which meant it held the key to her future. A misunderstanding has the piece being purchased by the Lady Mavis Fraser, wife to Lord Gilbert Fraser the Sherriff of Silkirk who also understands the significance of the piece of gold and wants it to destroy. But Florie grabs it back from Mavis and runs creating a situation where Florie is accused of stealing from the lady and branded a thief even though she returned the money.

    While on the run and near to escaping Florie is struck by a hunter's arrow and begs him to take her to the nearest church where she will receive 40 days of sanctuary from the charges and gain the needed time to prove her innocence. Rane McAlister consumed with guilt over injuring this wee slip of a lass does just that and cares for her himself knowing that the pain and agony she is suffering is from his arrow even though he meant his target to be a deer not the stunning female in his arms. But the irony in all of this lies with the fact the Rane is the huntsman to the Sheriff who seeks to have Florie tried for thievery against his own wife, Mavis.

    As the day's move forward each one brings Rane and Florie closer to realizing the truth of the story behind the accusations against her, the depth of their past lives and misdeeds along with the undeniable fact that they are falling slowly but surely in love with one another. This is so wrong and could never work but the warmth they find in one another's arms in unmistakable and the strength they had apart is nothing compared to the power they have together. Rane is quite the ladies man and Florie an unsophisticated woman but neither of these facts seem to dampen the draw each has for the other even though they are both strong willed and very uneven tempered.

    The times were hard and the life difficult in the 1500's but this story shows that not everything had to be harsh. These were terrible times yes but there was also love and tenderness with kind men who could love a strong willed woman. It takes a good writer to take the reader to a place and time and have them feel as if they are there with the characters and Ms. Morgan does just that with ease and entertainment.

    Mary Gramlich is The Reading Reviewer located at www.marygramlich.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1