Customer Reviews for

Captured by the Highlander

Average Rating 4
( 255 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(105)

4 Star

(91)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

first page pulled me in

I don't know about most ladies out there but I do like the whole captor/falling in love and being ravished fantasy. When I read the first two pages, I was already sold. I couldn't stop reading! There are definitely some good twists in the book. Usually you can tell how ...
I don't know about most ladies out there but I do like the whole captor/falling in love and being ravished fantasy. When I read the first two pages, I was already sold. I couldn't stop reading! There are definitely some good twists in the book. Usually you can tell how a story is going to go, but this was a page turner. I read this book until 6 in the morning just because I wanted to know what was going to happen. I kept squealing and punching my boyfriend saying OMG blah blah happened and this and this happened!! ( all while he stares at me like im crazy ) but he got involved when i told him the story and he periodically asked what happened so far and would give predictions. Over all it was a great book. I rushed out this morning to buy the 2nt part and will be starting on it tonight. I hope it'll be as good as the first!

posted by 7527581 on July 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Too unrealistic

I understand this a fictional, adventurous romance novel, but no couple can have sex multiple times a night every night. The sex scenes were generic and too graphic. I also thought she gave into her kidnapper way too easily and too soon. It just much more fun to rea...
I understand this a fictional, adventurous romance novel, but no couple can have sex multiple times a night every night. The sex scenes were generic and too graphic. I also thought she gave into her kidnapper way too easily and too soon. It just much more fun to read a book that is at least somewhat beliveable.

posted by 2697820 on September 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 256 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    first page pulled me in

    I don't know about most ladies out there but I do like the whole captor/falling in love and being ravished fantasy. When I read the first two pages, I was already sold. I couldn't stop reading! There are definitely some good twists in the book. Usually you can tell how a story is going to go, but this was a page turner. I read this book until 6 in the morning just because I wanted to know what was going to happen. I kept squealing and punching my boyfriend saying OMG blah blah happened and this and this happened!! ( all while he stares at me like im crazy ) but he got involved when i told him the story and he periodically asked what happened so far and would give predictions. Over all it was a great book. I rushed out this morning to buy the 2nt part and will be starting on it tonight. I hope it'll be as good as the first!

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    loved it

    i loved this book. Such a great page turner that leaves you wanting more.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Superb Highlander Kidnap Plot

    In March 2011, USA Today bestselling author, Julianne MacLean makes her triumphant return to historical romance with a superb new Highlander Trilogy for her new publisher, St. Martin's Press debuting with CAPTURED BY THE HIGHLANDER. In 1716, Fort William in the Scottish Highlands, Lady Amelia Templeton is asleep in bed when she is awakened by a fierce warrior wielding his Lochaber axe at her. The English fiery haired, green-eyed beauty knows that she is in grave danger when she is confronted with the notorious, Duncan MacLean "The Butcher of the Highlands", a Jacobite traitor, who battles with his fellow Highlanders to see James II's son crowned King of England instead of German Prince, George of Hanover. Duncan is shocked when he discovers a gorgeous woman in bed instead of his bitter enemy, Lieutenant-Colonel, Richard Bennett, who he intended to kill that night. He's sure the woman must be Richard's whore but Amelia convinces him she is not only Richard's betrothed but also the daughter of a late revered English Army Colonel, the fifth Duke of Winslowe! Duncan threatens to cut off Amelia's head if she doesn't tell him where Richard is and when she says he's away on a mission Duncan decides to kidnap her. When Amelia refuses to go, Duncan strips her of her nightgown, forces her into her clothes and carries her over his shoulder down the fort wall! As they journey together and the handsome blue-eyed Duncan is joined by some of his men including, Angus "The Lion" MacDonald, Amelia discovers Richard might not be the courageous and honorable man she originally thought. However, Amelia still tries to escape Duncan by knocking him out with a rock and running to an English camp for help. Despite this, Duncan comes to her rescue when he discovers the drunken English soldiers trying to rape her. To see who ends up Amelia's true hero and love of her life read the captivating CAPTURED BY THE HIGHLANDER. Julianne MacLean has penned one of the best kidnap plots I've read in a long time with a dynamite couple and enough sexual tension in this fiery Highland tale to satisfy any romance reader!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A terrific Georgian romance

    In 1716 Duncan "The Butcher of the Highlands" MacLean seeks to kill British Lieutenant Colonel Richard Bennett for the vicious murder of his loved one. With his sawed-off Lachaber axe swinging, the Jacobite traitor charges into a bedroom at Fort William where he expects his enemy sleeps. Instead, he encounters Bennett's betrothed Lady Amelia Templeton. She explains she is also the daughter of the late highly regarded revered English Colonel, the Duke of Winslowe.

    MacLean alters his plan by abducting Amelia and taking her into the Highlands. On their trek accompanied by his men, she sees how kind her captor is to everyone and begins to wonder about her fiancé. However, she escapes when she hits Duncan in the head with a rock. He comes to rescue her from intoxicated British soldiers who plan to rape her. However, his rescue leaves him caught by the British.

    Captured by the Highlander is a terrific Georgian romance starring a strong lead couple in which the Butcher learns rather quickly that when it comes to capturing a feisty female, he is the prisoner of her heart. The story line is driven by the triangle as the intelligent heroine revises her opinions of the two men in her life; the Butcher proves kind and caring killing only out of safety for his people while the Lieutenant kills as a big game hunter. Although some tension is abated by Bennett's prejudice that the Scottish are wild beasts to hunt down, readers will appreciate the changing relationship between Duncan and Amelia, as the heart of the matter is the Highlander is captured by the late English officer's daughter.

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    The author definitely knows how to keep her readers hooked! I co

    The author definitely knows how to keep her readers hooked! I couldn't put it down for the whole night. The love story is exciting and the plot behind it is surprising... especially a certain part. Of course there are some unrealistic occurrences, but hey, that is what fiction is for. Overall, a great read and I would recommend it to any woman looking for a romance.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Worth the time to read

    I found this at Walmart and figured I'd try it. It was WELL worth it. I enjoyed the book and had it finished in a day.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    Worth reading!

    Lots of twist in this one!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    i love this book

    i stayed up till 3am reading this book. it has a great story line

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2012

    WISH I COULD GIVE IT MORE STARS!! I loved this book, very exci

    WISH I COULD GIVE IT MORE STARS!! I loved this book, very exciting, alot of twists, great character's, whether it is the main characters or the secondary ones. I couldn't put this book down. My heart ached for Duncan and his best friend. This is a must read book, one of the best Highlander books I have read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Decent highlander romance

    Over all, I enjoyed this book. The characters were well developed, as was the plot. However, I felt the book was longer than it needed to be-a bit drawn out.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended!

    Great book if you love romance novels!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Too unrealistic

    I understand this a fictional, adventurous romance novel, but no couple can have sex multiple times a night every night. The sex scenes were generic and too graphic. I also thought she gave into her kidnapper way too easily and too soon. It just much more fun to read a book that is at least somewhat beliveable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Blahhh

    Not the best the genre has to offer. I wasn't interested in the characters or the weak plot. The book seems to lose all momentum after the main characters consummate their relationship. There are better romance books out there so don't waste time with this one.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I love this book! Great Read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    MacLean leaves you breathless with "Captured by the Highlan

    MacLean leaves you breathless with "Captured by the Highlander." Duncan MacLean has a ruthless reputation as the "Butcher of the Highlands," but when he kidnaps Lady Amelia Templeton, she tests him on so many levels and dares to ruin the Butcher's reputation.

    Set in Scotland in 1716, the story opens with Duncan's suspenseful kidnap of Amelia. He's looking for her betrothed, Colonial Richard Bennett, who is known for his brutality towards the Scots. Initially, Duncan, as the Butcher, just wants revenge, but he can't deny he's attracted to Amelia. She's headstrong, believes in her convictions, and dares to defy him.

    Amelia breaks away from Duncan and seeks refuge from a squad of English soldiers. Unfortunately, they're drunk and act poorly. Duncan saves Amelia, and the incident challenges her to understand his motivations.

    Duncan takes Amelia to Montcriffe where she discovers his true identity. Dare she give in to the passion Duncan evokes knowing the danger he faces if his secret is revealed?

    MacLean's writing is easy to read and plunges the reader in a suspense filled opening. The action is perfectly paced, allowing the reader to catch their breath before racing forward again.

    MacLean paints wonderful pictures with words allowing the reader to vividly see Duncan and Amelia's word in their mind.

    The most rewarding part is the characterization. Despite Duncan's ruthless reputation, his motivations are clear to the reader. As a reader, I easily lost my heart to him. Amelia is feisty, challenging, and when evidence presents itself, willing to give Duncan a chance.

    The story is sophisticated for romance readers with love scenes that capture the passion and sensually of the couple. MacLean will leave you breathless, wanting more tales of the Scottish highlands. "Captured by the Highlander" is a wonderful romantic escape on a rainy Saturday afternoon. I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    recommended

    its a book that keeps you wanting more

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Ok, but agree with other reviewer hero needed to be a bit more aggressive!

    While it's been years since I have read a historical romance (much prefer paranormal these days) this one was decent. Not a Johanna LIndsay or Kathleen Woodiwiss but fairly good story line. The hero was a little hard to understand and his character seemed somewhat conflicted but had a satisfying ending,and a decent amount of passion making it a quick and easy read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Fun read

    The villian should have been more agressive

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2014

    loved it!!

    I loved this book, it was witty, romantic, funny, and also very pull worthy. What I mean it pulls you into the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Zack

    Really good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 256 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13