Customer Reviews for

Caravans

Average Rating 4
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful details of a beautiful people.

I loved the book and it prepared me for my life living in western Pakistan. Every detail was true and it was wonderfull living among these colorful people. The political and tribal details were also very useful in corectly dealing with these people, in a manner useful ...
I loved the book and it prepared me for my life living in western Pakistan. Every detail was true and it was wonderfull living among these colorful people. The political and tribal details were also very useful in corectly dealing with these people, in a manner useful to them and to my purposes.

posted by Anonymous on October 8, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Caravans by James A. Michener is an exhilarating and mysterious

Caravans by James A. Michener is an exhilarating and mysterious book. It dives right into the heart of the aftermath of World War II. It tells of the violence and of the struggle in everyday life. The culture of the Afghan people is woven into a story of Ellen, a young ...
Caravans by James A. Michener is an exhilarating and mysterious book. It dives right into the heart of the aftermath of World War II. It tells of the violence and of the struggle in everyday life. The culture of the Afghan people is woven into a story of Ellen, a young American girl living in Afghanistan. At first I thought this book was going to be all about the mystery behind Ellen’s disappearance. You soon learn that it is so much more than that. Michener has a way of describing the culture and making references while fitting it into a story. I enjoyed reading this book because you learn about the culture and habits of someone on the other side of the world while reading a story that pulls you into the book.
This book does a great job of explaining the effects of World War II. Michener’s purpose was to tell of the accounts of the ordinary citizen of Afghanistan. I believe that Michener does a wonderful job in achieving this purpose. He has a way of getting the reader’s attention with a mystery and then slips a piece of historical information right behind it. I would certainly recommend Caravans as a great historical mystery.

posted by 10225182 on May 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Caravans by James A. Michener is an exhilarating and mysterious

    Caravans by James A. Michener is an exhilarating and mysterious book. It dives right into the heart of the aftermath of World War II. It tells of the violence and of the struggle in everyday life. The culture of the Afghan people is woven into a story of Ellen, a young American girl living in Afghanistan. At first I thought this book was going to be all about the mystery behind Ellen’s disappearance. You soon learn that it is so much more than that. Michener has a way of describing the culture and making references while fitting it into a story. I enjoyed reading this book because you learn about the culture and habits of someone on the other side of the world while reading a story that pulls you into the book.
    This book does a great job of explaining the effects of World War II. Michener’s purpose was to tell of the accounts of the ordinary citizen of Afghanistan. I believe that Michener does a wonderful job in achieving this purpose. He has a way of getting the reader’s attention with a mystery and then slips a piece of historical information right behind it. I would certainly recommend Caravans as a great historical mystery.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2003

    Beautiful details of a beautiful people.

    I loved the book and it prepared me for my life living in western Pakistan. Every detail was true and it was wonderfull living among these colorful people. The political and tribal details were also very useful in corectly dealing with these people, in a manner useful to them and to my purposes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    Very good reading and enlightening

    This is an excellent book for historical novel buffs. I have read many by James Michner. My favorites by him have been: Hawaii,Recessional, Chesapeak, Texas and Space. This brings you to awareness of life in Afghanistan.*****KABKAB

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Must Read

    In view if our present involvement in Central Asia, this novel gives a historical overview of our inability to 'conquer' these rugged, independent people. I found myself thirsty in the desert, cold at night, feeling tired and dirty after treking the high mountian passes. Michener is outstanding in his ability to pull the reader INTO the story as it unfolds.Today, the caravan passes are still in dispute. What a shame! Moreover, time has passed parts of Central Asia,and Afghanistan in particular leaving the areas as they 'always were'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    this is really good

    this is really good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    highly recommend

    I found this book very interesting and enjoyed it greatly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Intriquing & Captivating

    I've enjoyed James Michener books & this one didn't disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    RIVITING. Outstanding in every way. Mystery, romance, history.

    RIVITING. Outstanding in every way. Mystery, romance, history. I came across this book just before doing a tour in Afghanistan. It gave me the true insight into this country. Amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    A great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Read at all costs.

    I find myself reading his books over and over his epics seem to bring something new at each reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    An "ok" read

    This was a good story, but not up to some other Michener books I've read. Suggest you read "Chesapeake" instead!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2010

    Another example of Michener's ability to combine interesting history with fictional story line.

    While considerably shorter in length than epic Michener novels of the past, the attention to historical and geographic detail wrapped around Michener's development of fictional characters and events is as good as any of his previous works. The story takes place in 1946, shortly after the end of WWII. Michener provides enlightenment into life, history and traditions in that country that have heightened my sensitivity about current life and traditions in that country in a way that only he can do. I recommend this book highly to readers who enjoy and appreciate Michener's mastery of the English language and his ability to bring life to history by wrapping it around a fictional story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2005

    Again and Again

    i first read this novel in the early seventies and fell in love with it. when i moved in the eighties i came across it, read it and fell in love with it again. i just finished reading it for the third time and realized i haven't fallen in love with it again -- i never stopped loving it. i gave it to my 20 year old son and his reaction - 'wow'. indeed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2002

    the more things change, the more they stay the same

    I just read this book for the first time, saw it mentioned in a newspaper article. I enjoyed it more than I would have in 1963 because of the newspaper headlines today. I felt as if I knew the places mentioned in the book from hearing the names on the news reports. Anyone interested in the Afghan lifestyle will enjoy this book .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2002

    A must-read

    In view of what is going on in Afghanistan right now, this timeless book is a must-read for anyone who tries to understand the complexity of the problems facing that country. And us, by the way....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2001

    Timely Reading on Afghanistan

    I read CARAVANS about 20 years ago and thought it was timely and fascinating at that time. After the recent terroist attacks I re-read it. The story is set in 1946. At the end there are 'Readers Notes' telling of the changes in Afghanistan at the time this was published in 1963. Now we are back to 1946 and maybe much earlier. Gives an amazing insight into Afghanistan, the thinking and the geography.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2001

    A 'must read' by Michener

    I have read most all of James Michener's books. Caravans is one of his shortest but a fantastic read. So much that I have re-read it 5 times. I first read this book 25 years ago. You feel as if you are on the caravan with Ellen Jasper and in someways, you don't want to return. As usual, Michener causes you to feel the heat of the desert and smell the aroma of the camels. This would be a great weekend read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2000

    Get Swept Away

    Easy reading for a Michener book. You'll think you're actually in Afghanistan. Characters are well developed and the story line is fast-paced. It was hard to put this book down. Definetely recommend to a friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3