Customer Reviews for

The Cardinal of the Kremlin

Average Rating 4.5
( 141 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2002

    Best Clancy

    I'm no Tom clancy fan, but C of the K left me wanting more. I find it is his best book ever (Red October was fine, but...). All that follwed only went downhill. I've stopped reading TC at Honor. But this is the one that should be a movie. Hey, i'm willing to direct, if that's it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    One of the best spy novels ever written.

    One of the best spy novels ever written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Life is tough for heroes

    The cardinal in the Kremlin is a real person in this story who transends limited focus on who gets his personal approval.

    The story is about the cardinal and all who are affected by his survival and his deeds. The coverage is not limited to people in the Kremlin, but also Afganistan, USA and the oceans.

    There are many areas of interest including the submarine Dallas (from the Hunt for Red October) to New Mexico. Tom Clancy successfully ties all these locations with mesmerizing stories and believable people. I have read Hunt and Cardinal books more than 5 times each and enjoy each reading as I find new connections to what I already remember from each story. Tom Clancy has the "golden" touch here in writing these stories. Jack Ryan although present is not a major factor in Cardinal. The link to Cardinal is thin at best. The Dallas has a stronger place here than Jack.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2003

    CIA Wonders

    Another great book by Tom Clancy as we get to see the Foleys and Ryan in action in 'Mother Russia' as they use a high level military mind to poach some needed information from the upper reaches of the government.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2014

    Highly recommended

    A very intense and detailed account of what a "mole's" life must be like. The attention to even the smallest details is remarkable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Great Read

    Another great book. The only problem is the length, should be longer and as an e-book, cheaper. I've read all of Jack Coughlins books and they just get better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Awesome

    A great book. Clancy knocks it out of the park.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was a slow start, as far as Clancy books go. It was great i

    This was a slow start, as far as Clancy books go. It was great in its usual fare, with good action, and great attention paid to spies and dirty politics. Not his best, but still a great Jack Ryan read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Jen

    So wat is it?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Ava

    Yum

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Deathstar

    Is be delighted for you to join.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    One of Clancy's best!

    Just a great spy novel from the days of the cold war

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    One of the Best Books I ever read

    This is an aamazing book. The last two chapters were particulary exciting. I would highly recommend this book to any fan of thrillers. Tom Clancy is awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Jack Ryan is BACK!

    Very good book. Interesting to see how Jack devolops and gets deeper and deeper into govermental service.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2009

    A Great Thriller: Cardinal of the Kremlin

    A satellite over the Mediterranean disappears in a puff of smoke. Only one CIA field agent has knowledge of this event. His name is Mikhail Filitov, codename CARDINAL. But after an unfortunate chain of chain of events starting in a subway in the Soviet Union CARDINAL is captured by the KGB. Jack Ryan is a CIA analyst tasked with getting him back. If he doesn¿t then the Soviets will surely win the race for ¿Star Wars¿. There isn¿t really a theme, it¿s just a straight out thriller. But it¿s still a great addition to Tom Clancy¿s Jack Ryan collection. It will keep you on the edge of your seat as soon as you start reading it. Definitely a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2006

    Waste of time

    This book is a fine example of what I like to call boys' equivalent of Harlequin novels: books packed with action and lots of technical details, but not requiring much thinking. The reader is not challenged to think why (something is about to happen), only how. Clancy's research of the technical issues of the military, its structure, the weapons, etc., seems impressive, but I admit I don't know much about those things, so it's easy to impress me with that. His knowledge of the Russian culture and language do him a lot of credit, although there too he made some faux pas (example, samogan instead of samogon, or Ukrania instead of Ukraina). However, in a spy novel, technical information is only worth the paper it's printed on if the story is good, and the story here quite honestly is weak. The good and the evil here are too clearly cut, obvious to the point of naive. The CIA is too patriotic, honest, and clean while the KGB is only as good as the guy who spies for the Americans - everyone else in KGB are plain outright evil. It's interesting that Clancy doesn't make Narmonov (a character meant to portray Gorbachev) the principal villain. Rather, it's the head of the KGB Gerasimov. Narmonov gets a mild approval from Clancy, as a statesman trying to change the USSR into a more democratic country. However, in the end, Clancy adds a dialogue between Narmonov and Ryan, where they express their respective coutry's views on the arms race. In short, Ryan says that having weapons is only justified if they protect, not attack. Narmonov says that having assault weapons is justified by the need to deter the enemy. Effectively, Clancy blames the USSR for the Cold War and the arms race, when the US had just as much to do with it. Placing Narmonov in this dialogue is especially inappropriate since Gorbachev got the Nobel Peace Prize for making the first step in the dialogue with the west and being proactive about stopping the Cold War. But perhaps I'm getting too factual, this IS a piece of fiction after all. The literary merits of this book are few and far between. Clancy's narrative is mediocre at best. The flashes of nice intrigue and action are mired by pages upon pages of technical matter that may interest only some readers. He follows all of the conventions of the genre, but then anyone could write a spy novel doing just that. His characters lack depth. Ryan is only an officer doing his job and saying all the right things, Gerasimov is pure unadulterated evil, who just wants to snatch power from Narmonov, and Filitov, who became a hero few had ever came close to becoming, and spies for the CIA. Now, here, I thought Clancy had a great chance to explore what was wrong with the Soviet system through the eyes of this character - explain why after over sixty years of believing in the Communist dream, becoming an unparalleled hero in his country this man decided to betray it. Instead, Clancy left me hanging in the air. If the answer is supposed to be 'obvious' that Soviet is bad, and American is good, that's too simplistic. I have to admit I haven't read any of his other books, well, not entirely. I started The Bear and the Dragon, but couldn't plough through more than a hundred pages. At any rate, I just wanted to make it clear that I'm revewing this book, not the author in general.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2005

    A gripping story

    The cardinal of the kremlin is a great story with interacting an plot and amazing characters. This is one of those books you can't put down easily

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2005

    One of the Great Works, but Mr. Clancy should consider retiring...

    Well folks, let's face it: Tom Clancy WAS one of the best wriiters of the late 20th Century. This book is a prime example of literature that exceeds in addictive detail and captivating stories intermingled to make a larger broader plot line. But of late, Mr. Clancy's works have... well, stunk. He seems to have lost his touch with the genre he re-created. I think, amoung others who agree, he should put up the pen and paper and just live in the successes he did have. Not go on and end up a no body, who doesn't have a single person remember you (ie. Melville)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2004

    Clancy maintains the suspense again!

    From the hunt for the CIA's Soviet double the 'Cardinal' to the high-tech international intrigue of lasers in space, Clancy keeps us running on adreniline. It's an ultimate secret espionage struggle for what the Cardinal knows and how to get it out as Jack Ryan must again outwit the KGB--and bring their double, the Cardinal out into the open.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2004

    Great!!!

    This is one of Clancy's best. It's great how he can make one thing (like the capture of the CARDINAL) lead to another (the defection of the KGB Chairman). It's a marvelously written piece of fiction, even if you do have to read through 100 pages of technical jargon about lasers and diamond-cut mirrors. Otherwise, the action was awesome and I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8